Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
47
4.3 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation 3|Change
Price:£29.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 June 2017
A bliss the removal of back to back mode is a blessing
A great two player couch co-op game that seem to be sadly missing in next gen.

We are not all sad lonely people with only online fictious friends, some like the beer swigging next to you banter of the old skool couch coop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
GREAT GAME!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
If you liked the demo, you will like this. The story is basic, kill the cartel, but it does run smoothly. The customization options are excellent. Although this game does not support competetive, it still does well as a co-op shooter.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
So many reasons why you should buy this game. If you have a mate who has a PS3 and likes shooters then you will never have more fun that this game.
Graphics are good the action is relentless and all in all its one of the best fun I have ever had on PS3. A much needed break from COD.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 May 2013
Platform: PlayStation 3|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is the 3rd "Army of 2" game. Ao2 is very basic a 3rd person co-op shooter - excellent for taking your frustrations out on, just pop it into your PS3 and go postal on the army of the "Devil's Cartel".

The main characters from the previous 2 games (Salem and Rios) have been replaced by 2 particularly flat characters called Alpha and Bravo - the makers really didn't put any effort into those names because they are as dull as the characters they represent.

The ridiculous misogynistic celebrations have been replaced by even more cringe worthy comments. It's like they've been dumbed down (not that Salem and Rios were the sharpest tools in the box) and hit with the politically correct baton which is a shame as a lot of the fun came with the fist bump, air guitar, "yeah bro!" comments at the end of a battle.

The story is basic: our 2 replacements, Alpha and Bravo, have been sent to Mexico to rescue a hostage and it deteriorates into the two against the private army of the kidnapping cartel.

The levels have become repetitive and feel flat and the same, even the addition of highly colourful ones are samey. In fact the only distraction is caused by the frequent pop-up score and progression charts - and this is annoying. It seems that the good people from EA games and Visceral have decided that rather than have them at specific places, such as the end of chapters, they are going to be on what appeared to be a timed basic, popping up at some of the most inopportune moments. In the middle of a full out, spawning enemies, battle was the worst one.

The take-cover mechanism is completely messed up as you can sometimes take cover and other times you will find yourself running straight into enemy lines. The rolling cover move has been removed.

The "Morality" and "Agro" meter have gone and have been replaced by the "Overkill Mode" alone. "Overkill" requires you (and your partner) fill the gauge - once full you simply trigger the bonus when you are ready. For a limited period of time every round that you fire will be given amazing strength - you can literally destroy everything.

The game can be played solo, as a split screen or as an online co-op, but there is no multiplayer, no side missions, etc.

If you are playing solo then the AI partner isn't as suicidal as most and will help you out if you get into trouble.

The AI enemies are completely brainless. They will literally let you walk right up to them without taking any action against you.

There are a number of bugs, not just the cover system but things like open doors that are open and your partner has gone through suddenly become invisible walls that you are unable to follow.

If a player joins or drops out mid level then you have to restart the entire chapter from the beginning.

The bugs are annoying, the pop up progress screens are an irritation but it is still a playable game and a great way of taking out your frustrations on AIs rather than real people.

"Permission to engage?"
"Permission? Just engage!"
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
best army of two to date! with the frostbite 2 engine being implemented in this game it was only a matter of time. the graphics are nice and vibrant,gunplay and cover system is nice a fluid (it was pretty bad in the 40th day)and the melee kills are just brutal! single player is great, even better if you got a mate to play with.

if your tired of the first person shooters such as call of duty and battlefield, i strongly recommend you pick this title up. you wont be disappointed. and fans of the series like myself will appreciate what this game has to offer.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
The Army of Two franchise is by no means a massive step in the ' video games as art ' camp but it has happily allowed mindless fun and shoot outs for people to enjoy between games with a little more substance. As a fan of the previous two titles in the no holds barred, dumb fun, "yo' bro" series I was left with an overwhelming bitter taste in my mouth after completeing the story mode.

The campaign is at best a hurried and juvenille attempt at creating a scenario that trys to best the dangers beset within the first two games and a cheap way to cement the two new characters Alpha and Bravo. The story is very basic and the lifespan of characters is hilarious. The main villian is an insult and the plot twist is pantomime at best.

Alpha and bravo are two of the worst protangonists in recent video game history with horrendous dialogue, almost minimal backstory and no character or appeal what so ever. The characters mutter macho nonsense and try to sound like they have conviction within the story but come off as caricatures.

The controls are questionable but getting acquainted didn't over stretch my frustration. The new over kill system is a fun alternative to the aggro system of the previous titles with its boombastic and highly destructive results this is one direction I felt gave the game a much needed strength and it becomes a delight to blast away with over kill mode activated especially in co-op with a buddy.

The setting becomes higly repetitive and the bright colours and under used mexican backdrop soon wears thin and reveals that the developer didn't care much for the interesting locale but rather the sad and violent history it bears.
The signature weapon customisation system is scalled back massively. I didn't count the weapons but my memory tells me there were more avaliable in the first game. The customisation is weak with minimal upgrades and no real way to make a weapon your own. The colour/skin options for weapons is expanded but this is a missed oppurtunity to of added such an upgrade to the impressive and fun upgrade system of Army of Two: The 40th day.

Overall it is a fair game but not the best of the series and can leave veterans of the series with a high dose of resentment that this franchise of dumb, no questions just bullets is nothing more than a poorly written and executed attempt to cash in on the fanbase. There is fun to be had all be it very limited.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 May 2013
Platform: PlayStation 3|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
An enjoyable middle of the scale game. It's not top notch, but you can still have some fun playing it.

It's basically a 3rd person shoot 'em up. The shooting itself is very like the Uncharted games, and not overly challenging. You go in, shoot everything in sight, take a little cover and there you go, level complete.

The graphics are adequate, but they won't blow your mind as being anything special.

I didn't find it all that hard to be honest but overall, I did enjoy wasting a few hours playing on it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
Army of Two: Devils Cartels is definitely a game you should purchase, if you've played the first two games, due to the level of connection this game has with the previous two. However if you are new to this game, then I'd suggest waiting until it's less than £15 before considering to purchase it. It's game system is really good and very simple to get used to - but this games fails to deliver a good coherent storyline and some of the action scenes seem to be a little over the top and too dramatic. There are very few bugs in the game, which is def good news, but the game developers could have taken a little more time to add a little better AI to the enemies, since they don't seem to clever. I played this on normal difficulty and it didn't take me more than 10 hours to complete. All in all I'd rate this game 7.5/10 - but only because I've also played the first two games.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
Compared to the first 2 parts I found the game play more dynamic and entertaining.
There is a clear red line and I was always motivated to proceed.

Graphic was better, but I was a little disappointed about Salem and Rios.
They looked far more better in the last parts. OK, they are not the main characters., so no big deal.
In addition it seems that the bad guys are coming out of a big family with a lot of twins.

Clear better are the destruction effects and the weapons, armor, masks.
The main characters have their moments, but they do not have the spirit of Salem and Rios.

The end with the boss is the only part really bad.
If there will be another part I will not buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)