Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
342
3.8 out of 5 stars
Platform: PC|Edition: Home and Student Edition|Change
Price:£92.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 May 2013
Potential buyers should note that following a lot of negative press about non-transferable Office licenses, Microsoft changed this policy in March 2013.
You may transfer the software to another computer that belongs to you, but not more than one time every 90 days (except due to hardware failure, in which case you may transfer sooner).

"Based on customer feedback we have changed the Office 2013 retail license agreement to allow customers to transfer the software from one computer to another," Microsoft's Jevon Fark said in a blog post on Wednesday. "This means customers can transfer Office 2013 to a different computer if their device fails or they get a new one."
55 comments| 176 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Microsoft have two major income streams. The largest is from licensing Windows and the second is from Office.

Income from Windows was much reduced on the release of Windows 7 and has dropped further since Windows 8 was released. The corporate buyers are refusing to commit to either upgrade and that is where the big bucks should derive. Office provided a steady, but not dramatically large, income stream for many years but the impact of freebies such as Open Office and Libre Office and the costs of licensing hundreds and possibly thousands of users makes the no-cost alternatives very attractive. To add to the problem, employees using Libre or Open Office may well be tempted to use the same software at home and the truth is that many have. Many of these freebies are functionally identical to the mainstream products in all but a few little-used areas and, interface aside, few will notice or regret the move from the paid-for product.

Microsoft needed to come up with an alternative plan and the current license model where the license is not transferable from one user to another or from one machine to its successor owned by the same user may seem attractive to MS, especially if the annual, renewable license is chosen which produces a guaranteed income for a number of years. Adobe use a similar model and some suggest that it is negatively affecting their sales. It is less than attractive to most potential purchasers.

Unless there is an absolute necessity to remain loyal to MS Office, perhaps if the extra modules included with the Professional version or above (Visio, for example) are an essential, or especially if you want to to have a unified user interface with Windows 8 - the product which alone is internally considered an economic failure within Microsoft - then you will lose little by adopting one of the freebies.

The current deal makes little sense to the end-user and those who have Office 2007 or 2010 may wish to continue using them. The differences are slight and primarily GUI-related.

As the software is not provided on media, it needs to be downloaded and for many it is a less than simple solution as their connections don't have the needed speed or consistency. With some ISP's tendency to unannounced arbitrary disconnections, you may need to attempt several downloads before succeeding with one. Paying close to £100 for this annoying privilege, is not a good deal.

No longer recommended!

POSTSCRIPT @ 07-2013

Although purchasing a licensed copy from a legitimate source, it has twice negated the registration after a single use. I have decided to call it a day with this nonsense and have switched to using LibreOffice 4. It is a freebie, is problem free and compatible with all the MS Office alternatives that I am likely ever to use or need.

Although MS have apparently responded to some of the end-user and press reactions to this software, I feel wholly unable to offer a recommendation and strongly suggest using one or other of the excellent freebies that exist. Save your money!
2020 comments| 279 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
Price & restrictions
MS have effectively increased the price of Office by over 300%. Beware especially of the "lease" deal which will effectively kill your copy if you don't keep up the payments ($100 per year). Secondly, despite the box, you don't ever get a disc. This is just a stonking great download which will take about an hour on a 2mb connection. Product is locked to the PC it is installed on. It is impossible to use the copy elsewhere. This will be the most expensive office software in the 21st century to date.

The interface
If you disliked office 2007/10 then you will dislike this even more. No more colours, just grey on grey with a grey background. Looks as interesting and exciting as a bowl of cold porridge. Tab titles are NOW IN ALL CAPITALS why????? Pointless & annoying.

If you have a tablet you can now make the icons bigger. Other than that, there is no advantage over office 2010 that I can find.

Documents
When you save something you are primarily directed towards "THE CLOUD" where MS want you to store all your docs - two issues with this, firstly it means that MS and anyone else they like can access your potentially private & confidential docs; secondly MS assumes that you have a fast internet connection all of the time.

Outlook appears to have some issues in terms of sharing calendars which have caused major problems for some people.

Conclusions
Time to ditch this overpriced, control freak, dull bloatware and move onto something infinitely preferable. This is the worst version of MS Office ever, and I have been a user since 1992.

After office 2007 was released I ported all of our standard document formats into Libre Office .odt format. That now looks like a really good decision and I heartily recommend ditching MS Office and migrating to Libre Office or Open Office asap. Save your money and save your sanity.
33 comments| 241 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
Since writing this review Microsoft have had a change of heart-well, a change of policy anyway. I understand that the license is now transferable on new purchases. Well done us!-

I have always liked Microsoft Home Office and have used it for many years, but they have gone too far with Office 2013. Upping the price is one thing but making the license `One time purchase for the life of your PC; non-transferrable' is outrageous.

It means if you change your PC, reinstall Windows, or install a replacement hard drive you have to buy a new copy of Office 2013. Do the words shot and foot mean anything?

It may be part of your cunning plan to drive us into your cloud based 365 subscription version, but me? When the time comes I am off to Open Office: it is free and almost as good.
1414 comments| 170 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
over they years I have dutifully upgraded my Office software at home (and Windows, including the dreadful Vista) with my own money. It makes my life easier working with my clients and the price was ok. When my laptop hard disk died or I moved to a new machine it was a pretty painless event getting Office back on

but Office 2010 will be the last one I buy. Office 2013 at £100 for a single usage, non transferable licence in this day and age is utterly unreasonable and I cant see who will pay that much - certainly all the individuals and small businesses I know are going to freeware, if they havent already

there are so many effective free alternatives I would be crazy to give money to these people, e.g. listed here [...] oops, Amazon stripped the link, if you search for Gizmo 46 freeware it will take you to all manner of great (free) stuff inc Office suites
0Comment| 172 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
This does pretty much exactly the same thing as previous versions of Microsoft office but with a few new cloud storage features and other small refinements. It is fully functional though but it will only work on a fairly recent computer (the requirements are windows 7 or 8). The biggest downside is the licence is for one computer only which makes it cost more than the previous version which was for three computers. As long as it is the industry standard expect similar behaviour from Microsoft in the future where it may become a in the cloud product only. Otherwise a fairly good product but only worth buying if you really need it.
22 comments| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
Shockingly over priced and insane user limitations. Don't. Just don't. Sadly, I have no choice to give it one star otherwise I can't post a review.
44 comments| 91 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
I have been using Microsoft Office for ONLY the Word component, and it has worked well for me, but as a home user, I always felt even the Student and Home edition was priced too high.

I will follow the advice of the reviewers here, and stop using my Office 2010 when a free alternative is better, or when Office 2010 starts giving problems.

If Microsoft had priced this at less than £40, for up to 3 PCs, I would not have hesitated to continue with Microsoft Office. They have lost a hitherto happy and faithful customer on account of their greed.
0Comment| 93 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
It looks like Microsoft are trying to force users onto the cloud by setting prices for the install version of Office so high. This is madness! You can download open source software which does the same job for free and also has plugins to let you save documents in the cloud through services like Dropbox or Google Drive.
11 comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
I purchased this software, but once I became aware of the consequences of the licensing agreement I asked for a refund. In fact Microsoft don't sell you the software, the grant you a license of use; you can install and run the software on a computer as long as you comply with the Microsoft T&C. You can only install the software on one pc. If your PC dies or stops working you will have to buy a new licence. What happens if your hard drive crashes, or you have to replace other components in your computer? You are dependent on Microsoft goodwill to be able to re-install your software. I am not going to take that risk.

Update July 2013
At the time of writing the review (February 2013) Microsoft would not let you re-install the software. Microsoft has since then reluctantly changed its policy after pressure from end users and the T&C now states that; "You may transfer the software to another computer that belongs to you, but not more than one time every 90 days (except due to hardware failure, in which case you may transfer sooner)." Which is clearly an improvement.
44 comments| 82 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 40 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)