Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 14 April 2017
A mostly gripping account of life in a North Korean labour camp. It really opens your eyes to what an evil regime controls the poor unfortunates who happen to be born there. It was hard to believe how those imprisoned could survive the deprivations they suffered and many do not.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2017
Keeps your attention
I've read a few books re Korea. This one seems the most honest. I hope the author is enjoying life now
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2017
Definitely worth a read, his account of the prison is truly sobering. It allows the reader a unique insight into a regime totally out of control where human rights are concerned.
I've read others more harrowing when detailing their actual escape, he had the money and resources to leave, many are not as lucky.
Written in delightful syn taxes and very rhythmic with his wording making it a very engrossing read. I found myself eagerly wanting to read on with each chapter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
Excellent condition, good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
Very enjoyable, bring home what happens in North Korea. Couldn't put this book down until l finished this exciting book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Terrible way to be made to live your life. I felt the story lacked some depth at times and was left wondering about the rest of the authors family
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
It was a good insight into the awful conditions and treatment of those who suffered and still do to this day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2016
Excellent book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
A good easy read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2011
I have been fascinated about the country for some years now, and have read most books on the subject - most recently "Nothing In The World To Envy", but this certainly gives the most detailed account of one person's experience of the hermit kingdom.

It didm't get off to the best of starts, as Kang Chol-Hwan explains in the introduction about how he's found God in a big way, and I let out a barely audible groan. It always baffles me how folk who have endured the most unspeakable and unfair cruelty, or even a personal catastophe, end up religious, but whatever. About the only other minus point is the language which is a little antiquated and quaint at times, the result of reaching American English via French I assume.

Otherwise it's compulsive read, simultaneously harrowing and touching. There is a problem rattling through a book of a whole life like this in that years are condensed into a couple of pages, and when the years are as horrific as these, the impact of such endurance can get abreviated. The writer ultimately survived on his wits, of which he has plenty. One would have to be made of stone not to be affected by all such accounts of life under the Dear Leader, and this one has certainly pushed me over the edge. The trip to Pyongyang I have been toying with for some time is off for good. I could not bring myself to put one Euro into the pocket of this vile regime.
22 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)