Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 May 2013
What a a fantastic book graphic in its decryption of a terrible country
Why would you treat your fellow country men so poorly
The madness that makes demagogues of its leadership
That sadly carrys on today
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
I think this is a book everybody should read, I didn't realise just how bad life us in North Korea, so brace if the renegades to get free and talk about their experiences. Nobody should live like they do in the north
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2016
I couldn't stop reading it.
It's very upsetting history and was moved throughout.

I am happy he is out of north Korea. But It would have been Nice to know what happened to the family after it all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
It is shocking to believe that such labour camps still exist and no one is doing anything about it. Very thought provoking. The narrative is fast paced, full of emotive language and highly engaging. Worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
I think it should be more publicised and taken into schools for this generation to know. I found it a complete eye opener and was quite disturbed that this is allowed to go on by countries such as the USA.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
I have now read 5 books about North Korea. This one was very sobering, as were all the others, it was harrowing too. It was well written & sheds light on the terrible regime in North Korea.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2016
Life on the other side. Fat boy and his coterie hog all - hence famine. Dangerous man to have in charge. Story sad but inspiring - the good will eventually overcome - hopefully soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
How any country could treat its people like this I will never understand. What a brave person Kang is. Let's hope one day things will become much better and safer in North Korea
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
A disturbing read but this type of book needs to be read by everyone. The terrible reality is that the suffering of North Korean population carries on in the 21 st century.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2006
This book has two authors, the person who survived the camps in DPRK and his co-author whose bibliograpghy includes a black book of communism. The shame is that the co-author's grandstanding against the evils of the North Korean regime get in the way of Kang's story. It's difficult to quibble about the story of someone who has gone through so much, but this is a book review, not a therapy session. The prose are so clunky and the story-telling so poor that the undoubted horrors of the camps come across as little more than one of those 'holidays from hell' accounts. There is scope for so much more and its a great shame it isn't here. As an account of life in the camps, it is an important record. As a story or a book it didn't work for me.
22 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)