Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
192
4.6 out of 5 stars
This Is Christmas
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.19


on 11 December 2012
Jenkins offers us a mix of classical Christmas songs in her messi soprano tone. I love the album its very festive and full of tracks that will put you on track for a truly magical Christmas. Listen to the previews then click buy you won't regret it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
Brilliant Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
A fan of Katherine Jenkins I had to order this year's Christmas album from her, and I was not disappointed. This is Katherine at her best. Highly recommended for any fan of hers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
There are some less well known, to me, items on this recording and perhaps I should have made further inquiries before my purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
Another good album to listen to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2015
Beautifully sung
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERon 26 November 2012
Katherine Jenkins recorded some Christmas songs for Decca, who have released a compilation featuring them together with a selection of sacred songs and called it My Christmas. However, this is the first bona-fide Christmas album by Katherine Jenkins.

The set opens with O come o come Emmanuel, a very slow song that is followed by the very upbeat Ding dong merrily on high. Two more contrasting Christmas songs would be hard to find, but Katherine is in top form on both songs and maintains the standard throughout the album.

Katherine sings the words (only partly in English) to In dulce jubilo, although the best-known version of this song is probably Mike Oldfield's instrumental version.

If you are looking for songs that aren`t heard too often, listen to Sleep quietly my Jesus (written by Ruth Heller, whose name I don't recognize), I wish you Christmas (written by John Rutter, whose name I certainly recognize) and Come what may (here performed as a duet with Placido Domingo, with two unfamiliar co-writers). Wexford carol and Angels from the realms of glory are traditional carols that don't turn up too often on mainstream Christmas albums.

This album provides an excellent mix of styles and sounds, while also mixing very familiar songs with some less obvious songs.
0Comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
Would recommend this album if you appreciate a lady with a wonderful voice. A mixture of traditional and modern seasonal music accompanied by exquisite vocals. Will never age and can be listened to year after year. Buy it and you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
A great Christmas cd marred only by the fact that once or twice in " Hark the Herald Angels Sing " rather unfortunately it sounds like Katherine sings " Hark the Herod Angels Sing" which puts rather a different slant on the carol !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
This is a little bit too opera like for christmas songs, it's a little hard on the ears for me
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Celebration
£8.99
My Christmas
£3.99
Home Sweet Home
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)