Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
14
4.6 out of 5 stars
Beethoven: Piano Trios - "Archduke" & "Ghost" (Virtuoso series)
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 6 June 2009
I have several recordings of Beethoven's Archduke and Ghost trios. This recording by the Beaux Arts Trio cannot be contested as the best recording of those that I have heard. They play effusively, yet are reserved when the music demands it. Their touch is light, yet potent. Pressler's piano is superb, and Cohen and Greenhouse's strings complement the piano so considerately that you feel you are aurally witnessing the most intimate of conversations, which then grow, burst out and enrapture you.

If you are a novice to classical music then this CD makes beautiful listening and a good introduction to Beethoven's chamber music.
11 Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 May 2017
Curiously enough, although most music lovers would place Beethoven at (or at least near) the top of a list of greatest composers, not so many might associate his name with chamber music. Yet his output in this genre by by no means neglible, and not inferior to his symphonies and string quartets.

If you are unfamiliar with Beethoven's significant contribution here, this CD would make a great introduction, offering two of his finest piano trios, the "Archduke" and "Ghost". Both are brimful of beautiful music that must have delighted their orginal listeners. The works receive expert and enthusiastic interpretation from the highly-regarded Beaux Arts Trio, and recording quality is fine. Highly recommended, especially at the current price of just over a fiver.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
Bought for an elderly gentleman. He enjoys it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
***** for the musical performance.
One star removed for Decca's sloppy production.

My musical knowledge is inadequate for the purposes of conveying to readers why the Beaux Arts Trio versions
are superior, but my auditory equipment can detect it.

However the CD I received has a fault, the tracks it contains are as per the sleeve and Amazon's contents list. The track descriptions stored on the CD are wrong. The first thing I do with any new CD is to copy it twice, one for the Hi-Fi and one for the car CD player. When played the equipment advises me that it is playing a different trio/movement to that actually being reproduced, a minor irritation, but still an irritation.

Another reviewer referred to the violinist as Isidore Cohen, on the sleeve I have the violinist is Daniel Guilet.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
I was particularly looking for the Ghost and I spent ages listening to snippets from all available recordings before deciding that this was the most mellifluous - I have not been disappointed. The three pieces harmonise well.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
This is a wonderful performance by the Beaux Arts of one of the master's really great and moving trios. A light and loving interpretation. I heard it played on the radio and was so glad it was available. It arrived quickly. Maglet.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
Bought this as a birthday gift for a friend - he was very impressed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2016
Superb, vital performances (as one would expext from this wonderful trio). Look no further.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2015
an old favourite played well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
Well worth buying, beautiful music wonderfully performed. This cd is well worth buying and an excellent addition to our collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)