Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2016
I really enjoyed reading the book, definitely a page turner and it grabbed my attention all the way through. The plot is great with plenty of action. I qas torn with the love scenes and wondered whether one of the women woukd be let down. Neither of them deserve to be. It was a gripping and enjoyable read and one which I would recommend, but the grammar is nit perfect. I'm looking forward to the next instalment of the of the book and cant wait to see what happens to the characters next. Just bought the next two in the trilogy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
An absolutely amazing book just couldn't put it down. This is the first book by Mike Smith that I have read and It definitely won't be the last ....... straight on to the next book in the trilogy
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
This would be a great book but it is let down badly by the appalling spelling and grammar. There are mistakes on every single page. Such a shame that this book has been allowed to go to print with shocking errors. It really does spoil the story. I have never read a book with so many mistakes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
I am only 1/3 of the way through this book but I have really enjoyed the storyline so far,it's well written,reasonably priced and I would recommend to friends
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
I cant wait for the next book. thoroughly great read with lots of action and a real-life hero, to boot!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
Nice to see a bit of old fashioned scifi. I felt a little let down by the miraculous escape of both protagonists at the end however.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
Not a genre I usually purchase. Can say I have found a new favourite author. Great story, good pace already purchased book 2. Even better it is a completed series no waiting around for further instalments. Thanks Mike Smith.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
The story starts off well but it soon develops into what I would call a romantic novel based in the future, rather than a sci fi book. I have got half way through and have stopped reading because it's now all about the romance which is not what I wanted.
Otherwise, the writing style is good. If you want romance in space then this book is for you. Note, there's nothing sexually graphic, at least not up until I stopped reading it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
Jon, the foremost member of the emperor's personal guard is handsome and handy with a sword. You'll have met him before in other freebie space operas; ridiculously young, beloved by women and fellow officers, especially loathed and feared by the enemy, endowed with tactical ability, smouldering eyes and washboard abdominals.

He is, of course, assigned to protect the emperor's only daughter; You'll have met her too. She's a stunning red head with a figure hugging wardrobe, just feisty enough to turn a man on, but compliant enough not to be one of those irritating ballbreakers with a character. Of course they fall in love. Of course it all goes pear shaped when a coup occurs.

You already know the rest of the plot - it's a space opera so it involves the imperial navy, space stations, megalomaniac bad guys, off the shelf characters and heroic, David and Goliath space battles before nail biting FTL escapes. Because there is always room for another hot babe, there's also an oriental pilot chick to test Jon's honour while the princess isn't around.

The writing is uneven and as is common with these self published freebies, in need of editing. There is some drift in the plot and characterisation; Jon oscillates between uptight puritan, adrenalin junkie and embarrassed teenager. Lapses in grammar jar and the dialogue is as cookie cut out as the characters. The author is also under the impression that explosively propelled firearms won't work in space because there is "no oxygen" for the reaction. I hope he never has to learn the truth about chemical propellants the hard way.

However it's an easy read if you enjoy a bit of pulp, and kills an hour or two for free. But it's the first of a trilogy so expect a cliffhanger ending.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2014
I have not started reading yet but looking forward to it.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse