Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 27 December 2012
This review is for the 2012 mono reissue and where it fits into the "Who landscape".

At last we have the original mono mixes!
This sounds exactly the same as my original Brunswick vinyl, minus scratches, so job done there.
Packaging, as others have indicated, is minimal, but the music is what matters most.

This goes some way to redressing the damage done by the 2002 stereo remaster.
(which is still here on my shelves, due to the odd singles, B sides and super packaging)
The yawning gaps & clumsy edits on show here should never have got past "quality control" IMHO.

Couldn't stop myself, sorry, back to the mono CD.

Five star music, four star packaging, three star overall value,
-3 stars because, if you have bought Who LPs & CDs previously, as I have over the years,
you do begin to wonder quite when a definitive edition of anything will ever be delivered!
(three versions of A Quick One, four Tommy's -the list goes on)

I guess, sometime in the future we'll get the combined My Generation stereo/ mono versions bundled into another special pack.
More expense looms!

I won't even try to review this album musically, it was a classic, it always will be.

Perhaps the crucial point for any prospective buyer is, despite the Who's many great albums,
this remains the band at their freshest, bringing their measured mayhem crashing into the 60s scene.
The mono edition is a true reflection of those early days, avoid the stereo edition!

And back to 2012, the usual fast delivery from Amazon.
11 Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 November 2012
First of all, I've known this album since the Brunswick mono LP repease and loved the Who since the time I saw them explode into 'Anyway. Anyhow, Anywhere' on on of the pre-TOTP B & W mid-60s pop shows.

This is a great remaster, in mono of course. It is vibrant, powerful and true - much better than some of the previous trashy remasterings of early Who material, notably the quite poor job done on the 2-disc 'Deluxe' re-release of 'My Generation' a few years back.

This is the real McCoy (for a CD format) - all the crashing Moon pungency, the arm-swirling Townshend Link-Wray power chords, the surly Daltrey vocal and The Ox's deep bass spaces are there in their primal glory.

Now, the dunces in the marketing depatment should be admonished for missing a great opportunity to make a definitive CD issue even better by getting a few things right about the disc presentation or making the package more comprehensive.

For a start, the 'Brunswick' label on the disc itself is fine in principle - but why mark it as a '45' and make the CD LP look like the centre of the 7" 45 rpm single? Odd!

How come you spelled 'Daltrey' as 'Dultrey' on the rear cover? It wasn't spelt wrong on the original LP (I checked).

Why didn't you add proper little touches like the 'Brunswick' logo on the front and rear? Surely a barcodea and modern (2012) credits ruin the attempt at authenticity?

The booklet is a single-fold with one decent period pic of the band (in front of Big Ben) - but why not more pics? They were an iconic Mod band and lots of great pics exist. The page of sleeve notes are good, informative comments on the group's career to that date (1965).

Anyway, if you love real rock, buy this and play it loud and often.

It is a brilliant, timeless, exciting blast of power pop/blues that infused the era and inspired me to follow the Who for the next 40-odd years and enjoy them as much, if not more, than any other band encountered in my life.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2012
Please note; This review is for the Classic Records vinyl edition of the album.

As far as modern releases of this album go - across all formats - this is certainly the best yet.

First the good. Despite there only being so much one could do with this album given the original primitive mix, pressing it directly from the original mono masters has made some difference. Not a vast difference, but a difference nonetheless.

This LP sounds a little more open and alive than any other modern version I've heard, with slightly more clarity. There's also a bit more bass. It's an all round positive improvement.

And now, the bad (although I must admit "bad" within this context is too much of an extreme choice of word!).

Because of the freshly unveiled layer of clarity, albeit not that huge, it becomes more obvious with this release than on any other that the songs were recorded at different sessions. On all previous releases the album (being overly compressed, peak limited or slightly murky, depending upon which version you owned) has an overall quality which left it sounding pretty much like the band went into the studio and banged the entire thing out in one go. To be completely fair, the difference here isn't majorly obvious. It probably wouldn't even catch the attention of the average listener, but if you are a serious audiophile you'll probably pick up on it....but maybe it could be considered a good thing rather than bad? It all depends on taste I suppose.

Anyway. If you want the best possible modern vinyl listening experience of this album there is no question this Classic Records release is one you need. If you're not too bothered about the slight improvement in clarity you'll probably be happy with the much cheaper Virgin LP from the 1980s, which itself is slightly better than the original MCA CD.

The biggest annoyance is that this album has never been transferred to CD with the same care and attention seen with this Classic Records issue. That would truly have made for a "deluxe" listening experience!

Now, previously I would have recommended this Classic Records LP over the original 1965 Brunswick vinyl, but the pair now seem to be drifting ever closer when it comes to pricing. So if you have the money to spare you may be better off spending an extra £20 or £30 on the original. If not, buy this. You'll certainly be more than happy with it and probably never feel the need to upgrade again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 December 2012
The CD that Universal released in the '80s was pretty much a quick cash-in, which is what the major labels were doing at the time in order to get as much product out there on the market as possible. It was an LP master, sounded OK but not great. In 2002, we got the Deluxe Edition, which was a huge disappointment because of the missing overdubs. At last, we have this edition which was remastered directly from the original mono masters, and sounds exactly as the original album was intended to. While not a perfect album - the lads were really still finding their sound, adding covers amongst Pete Townshend's originals - it is certainly a great mission statement. The original liner notes, of course, tell us of the band's four disparate personalities (Moon's wildman drumming, Townshend's windmill arm and guitar smashing, Daltrey's swagger and Entwistle's calm, eye-of-the-storm presence on bass), and all of that can be heard in the music.

BTW, this is a straight remaster of the original album - no bonus tracks, non-LP singles or outtakes - so if you were hoping for any of that, you'd best pass on this and go for the Deluxe Edition. But if all you want is the Who's 1965 debut, straight no chaser, this will hit the spot for you.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2017
One of the greatest albums of all time, and one of the few that I have actually worn out and therefore needs replacing. One of the first albums I bought as a teenager, and that, our kids, was a very long time ago! Of course there has been a CD between times but somehow the warmth of the vinyl, even on such cold tracks as The Good's Gone is quite astonishing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 April 2014
I am a fan of the early Who and have various CD and vinyl versions of this classic album.

To my ears this is a poor mono transfer as it sounds tinny and muffled. There is no detail on the CD and I don't think Shel Talmy has gone back to the masters for a proper mono mix. Even my 1980 Virgin vinyl reissue sounds better.

I know the 2002 Deluxe CD has a few overdubs missing but the sound on it is so clear and powerful. Shel did a great job there and the mono versions he used are unbeatable.

I am fan of mono and would like to see a proper mono transfer of this classic album. Been done for the Beatles so why not The Who?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 May 2017
The Who's debut is one of the best debuts ever--if not THE best.

Finally Universal together with Pete Townshend have put together this five CD super(b) deluxe box in the best sound quality (mono and stereo)possible plus a wealth of previously unreleased material.

Enjoy!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2018
This is a really cool debut LP from the who I love the first track, I also liked 'the kids are alright' and I liked their version of Bo Diddley's I'm your man. the closing track 'the ox' is great as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2014
I love the first two albums of The Who (My Generation and A Quick One). I think The Who should have made more albums like these. I like these albums much more than their later more famous albums. Although innovative and creative, the later albums don't give me much. Highlights on this album are "The Kids Are Alright" and "My Generation", but there are many other good songs like "La-La-La Lies" and "A legal Matter". I recommend this album (and also a Quick One) especially to those who are a fan of the 60's!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2017
Fantastic music great boxset came next day every cd is great and pictures and stories in book are great addition for any who fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)