Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 December 2012
This review is for the 2012 mono reissue and where it fits into the "Who landscape".

At last we have the original mono mixes!
This sounds exactly the same as my original Brunswick vinyl, minus scratches, so job done there.
Packaging, as others have indicated, is minimal, but the music is what matters most.

This goes some way to redressing the damage done by the 2002 stereo remaster.
(which is still here on my shelves, due to the odd singles, B sides and super packaging)
The yawning gaps & clumsy edits on show here should never have got past "quality control" IMHO.

Couldn't stop myself, sorry, back to the mono CD.

Five star music, four star packaging, three star overall value,
-3 stars because, if you have bought Who LPs & CDs previously, as I have over the years,
you do begin to wonder quite when a definitive edition of anything will ever be delivered!
(three versions of A Quick One, four Tommy's -the list goes on)

I guess, sometime in the future we'll get the combined My Generation stereo/ mono versions bundled into another special pack.
More expense looms!

I won't even try to review this album musically, it was a classic, it always will be.

Perhaps the crucial point for any prospective buyer is, despite the Who's many great albums,
this remains the band at their freshest, bringing their measured mayhem crashing into the 60s scene.
The mono edition is a true reflection of those early days, avoid the stereo edition!

And back to 2012, the usual fast delivery from Amazon.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2012
First of all, I've known this album since the Brunswick mono LP repease and loved the Who since the time I saw them explode into 'Anyway. Anyhow, Anywhere' on on of the pre-TOTP B & W mid-60s pop shows.

This is a great remaster, in mono of course. It is vibrant, powerful and true - much better than some of the previous trashy remasterings of early Who material, notably the quite poor job done on the 2-disc 'Deluxe' re-release of 'My Generation' a few years back.

This is the real McCoy (for a CD format) - all the crashing Moon pungency, the arm-swirling Townshend Link-Wray power chords, the surly Daltrey vocal and The Ox's deep bass spaces are there in their primal glory.

Now, the dunces in the marketing depatment should be admonished for missing a great opportunity to make a definitive CD issue even better by getting a few things right about the disc presentation or making the package more comprehensive.

For a start, the 'Brunswick' label on the disc itself is fine in principle - but why mark it as a '45' and make the CD LP look like the centre of the 7" 45 rpm single? Odd!

How come you spelled 'Daltrey' as 'Dultrey' on the rear cover? It wasn't spelt wrong on the original LP (I checked).

Why didn't you add proper little touches like the 'Brunswick' logo on the front and rear? Surely a barcodea and modern (2012) credits ruin the attempt at authenticity?

The booklet is a single-fold with one decent period pic of the band (in front of Big Ben) - but why not more pics? They were an iconic Mod band and lots of great pics exist. The page of sleeve notes are good, informative comments on the group's career to that date (1965).

Anyway, if you love real rock, buy this and play it loud and often.

It is a brilliant, timeless, exciting blast of power pop/blues that infused the era and inspired me to follow the Who for the next 40-odd years and enjoy them as much, if not more, than any other band encountered in my life.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
I took my time to buy this, as the thought of two old age pensioners over dubbing extra tracks to the original 3 track tape that Shel Talmy recorded sounded awful. But it's surprisingly good I think Pete doubled tracked guitars & vocals keeping them low enough in the mix just to be able to create a stereo mix which is not too bad. Of course the mono disc is the real deal & this remaster set sounds fantastic. The extra tracks are ok too in mono & stereo, the stereo mixes are from the 2002 Shel Talmy double cd ... but much better mastered, so you can ditch that awful cd! I hated it personally speaking. Only one thing is really missing apart from a few bootleg & radio sessions And that is the original single of Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere. Both versions here are the alternate french EP in mono & stereo. Pete's demos are ....well Pete's demos, & are always worth a listen occasionally. The book is fantastic & some tasty posters too. I got this new & shrink rapped for under £50.00 an Amazon seller what a Bargain ....The best I ever had! If you are a Who nut like me & have the other Supper Deluxe editions then you probably already have this... if not get it. All others can get the single disc mono cd for about a fiver all homes should have one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2017
Fantastic music great boxset came next day every cd is great and pictures and stories in book are great addition for any who fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2017
The Who's debut is one of the best debuts ever--if not THE best.

Finally Universal together with Pete Townshend have put together this five CD super(b) deluxe box in the best sound quality (mono and stereo)possible plus a wealth of previously unreleased material.

Enjoy!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2017
It's got such a great energy this first album by The Who. Moon is on fire. It's raw and powerful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2017
Great package for who fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2017
This is the Best Sounding Version of this Classic Set!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
Is rough and ready and what the band was really all about. I literally wore out my original copy of this LP when I was 16.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2017
When this was announced a few months ago, I was quite surprised because there had been a few reissues over the last few years of this seminal record. First, what must be said is that the sound is spectacular and better than on previous releases, even though one may not notice it first. Here we notice how incredible the Who sounded back then and what a revolutionary band they were. Also, Townshend's more experimental sides appear despite their adhering very strongly to the then in vogue mod style. This is also the Who's first record, which would be their landmark record until they went on to release further big records such as Tommy, Live at Leeds and Who's next. Other reviewers can probably better explain the historical importance of the songs. We get the whole My Generation record in both Mono and Stereo along with bonuses as wells the most interesting new thing which is the 5th disc called primal scoop and which contains Townshend's original demos. It is incredible to hear how fully formed these are/were and how well he was able to record these given the obviously more modest technical standards of the day. Only this fifth disc is worth buying this rather expensive set.

However the booklet is not as well done as the one in the Quadrophenia box and there is not really that many exciting extras besides that fifth disc. Having a small extra like a single or something would have been nice, but maybe next time.

Overall the set is quite indispensable and enjoyable, given the fifth CD and the improved sound.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)