Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 9 April 2013
Apps are a difficult area and this bbok goes a little way to hellp but not much or enough. The main problem arrises outside the area of this book and with Apps themselves. It starts with the huge numbers of Apps which exist, most of which are trivial childish rubbish. Trying to make any sense of them or create order among them is a labour of Hercules as you invariably have to struggle thru a mountain of garbage. After that you are confronted with an unsorted mass of some not being available in the UK or not working in the UK. Turning then to this book . The sortation employed is not very helpful and when you have done it what is left is pretty trivial and hardly worth the effort.
We still await some order out of the existing chaos. How Long Oh Lord.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2013
Yes it clearly has American users in mind ... though written by a Brit living in the States. There is a chapter on how UK readers can download anything of interest.

The descriptions of the Apps are informative and helpful, occasionally suggesting a commercial product if it is better than a freebie.

I'm not clear how to receive the monthly updates for free, though; and it's worth adding this booklet to your own wishlist, as it was free itself for a day or two last year.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2015
This latest editions has almost exactly the same apps as the previous edition so in my mind it was a waste of money. Especially when you consider there are thousands of apps out there why not include an full update on new apps. Plus there is no real instruction on how to actually use these apps, or on the quality of any app.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2012
Still going through the book which I have found interesting and very useful. Well worth the price.Recommended particularly for beginners.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2013
The app that should be on everyone's mobile computer, probably not needed often but useful when you want to know what is new in the field of apps. The authors regularly update this app and you get the updates.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2014
This ebook did not give me anything that is not already on Kindle! Very disappointing and has now been binned. Would like to find out a little more about my Kindle but will have to go the old fashioned way and read a book!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 April 2013
Basic introduction to the Kindle Fire HD. Much of the content you would discover on your own after a week of owning one, but if you want a quick intro, this would be useful.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2013
Useful and obvously essential for KIndle users in the U.S.A., but many of the Apps detailed are not available in the U.K. sop of very limited use to me. Announced update does not seem to have been effected either despite my being on auto updates.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2013
An excellent addition to my Kindle Fire. Takes a lot of the mystery out of the Apps world with some great recommendations for what to install. Led me on to installing a few good and useful apps.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2014
AS THE KINDLE COMES WITH LITTLE OR NOTHING IN THE WAY OF A USER GUIDE/INSTRUCTIONS, I BOUGHT THIS AND ANOTHER GUIDE TO HELP AND IT DID :) CHEAP TOO!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse