Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 March 2013
I did like this book, but straight from the double margins I knew it was going to be quite short. By the end of the book I did feel I got to know Jessica Ennis. She come across as a humble, dedicated, hardworking, and most of all relatable and likeable. This book is written for the general public in mind you do not have to be interested in sports to read and enjoy this book. This book is a great insight not only to Jessica but coping from acceptance to fame. Becoming an icon but staying grounded.

There are two main reason I could not give this book 5 stars is I though the book was a little too PC for me. An example would be Bradley Wiggins book In Pursuit of Glory in here you feel the raw emotion Bradley does in the heat of the moment. Swearing aside, (though Jessica does admit she is as susceptible to the occasional F-bomb as the rest of us), you feel his passion for his sport coming off the page. Jessica I have no doubt is just as passionate about her sport, people, and doping issues, but because her conscientious nature you do not get the same feel in her writing. She does also take the high road on issues of her bullying she talks about how bad and awkward it made her feel, but she does not name and shame them. She is just a better person them me, this would have been me taking revenge saying look at me now.

The other reason is I also would have liked to know some of the specific exercises that Jessica does. She goes into more detail of this when talking about running the 800 metres, e.g. running shorter distances at great speed with shorter recovery times. She does not really say how she trained for the other events she gives a broad over view but no specifics. She does say how she tweaked her techniques but being interested in sports I would like to know a bit more of the exercises.

The book is about the 2012 London Olympics, her hard fought journey to it and eventually winning. She mentions all the people how helped her along the way, some of her competitors who fall by the way side as life moves on for many of them but because of her dedication, sacrifice and focus she manages to carry on to achieve her dream. Appendix at the back contain and explanation of the points systems and all Jessica's career stats to the 2012 London Olympics. A good read, and by the end off it Jessica's honestly will make the reader feel more like a friend then a fan.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2015
A honest read. From the times at school up to Super Saturday life has been a constant fight to succeed. A very sensitive person who has the respect of her peers. She longs to be the best but not the most arrogant. Her thoughts about her fellow competitors is well thought out. Mentions the possibility of drugs in the heptathlon world. Her love for her family is admiring and tries admirably to keep her feet on the ground. Her motivational talks with her coach is a great insight into their relationships. Just don't call her tadpole
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
Really enjoyed this book. It's easy to read, very informative and remains professional at all times. Nice to read a bit more about the person behind the public persona.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2017
All Good thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2017
Fabulous. Jess Ennis is a hero of mine. Had no idea she was so insecure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
Great condition, price and a fab read :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
There's no doubt that Ennis is a superb athlete and a fantastic role model but this book is just plain dull. Having read the book cover to cover in no more than about 3 hours (not because I read particularly fast, but because the content is so thin) I don't think I know much more about her, and her life, than I did before I read the book. The details about how she initially got invoved in athletics and her early days in the sport are particularly poorly covered. As is her relationship with her coach Tony Minichello, who sounds a very interesting character and who merits far more coverage than he receives. The book feels like it was rushed, and that Jessica was reluctant to say anything too controversial for fear of upsetting anyone.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
I am a big fan of Jessica Ennis and I am so hopeful she will continue to rack up the titles and UK records (and maybe world records) but I think this account just does'nt do her justice. On the one hand there are some inspirational snippets from her life to Olympic Champion but on the other hand the brevity of the book and how some topics are skimmed over left me disappointed.

As others have highlighted, the padding out of the book with double margins, blank pages and several pages devoted to her tables of record , the reader is left with a scant commentary. I read the book in four days of bed-time reading.

It felt like the book was rushed out which may be unfair but compared with other Christmas releases this lacks depth. To deal with Jessica's experience of providing drug samples in a few pages and the Olympic experience in such brevity is short changing the experience.

That said, still worth a read to get to know her better but if only Broadbent had imposed himself more on the content you may have a more in-depth account of some really interesting topics.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2016
I am a fan of athletics and decided to start reading the biographies, to help inspire and understand more of that "winners mindset"

Unfortunately a few pages in you are presented with the biggest biography cliché

“I’m just an ordinary person from a statement that infers mediocrity in town/city“

I don’t know why famous people do this, I guess we put them on a pedestal so much they have to qualify that they are an average person to relate to their fans.

From the story present in the biography, Jessica is not ordinary, as she posses many qualities that make a winner.

Like a lot of athletics biographies, there is a bit of overuse on the statistics displaying the times and positions at various races.

I guess this is interesting if you want to break down improvement over the years and this does show the importance of hardwork in order to achieve. But otherwise the stats just feel like a bit of filler to bulk up the book.

With the first person perspective you get into the mindset of Jessica feeling her insecurities about her body image and height, the sacrifices she has made and inadequacy to the other heptathletes.

This helps present an underdog narrative throughout the book leading to the London 2012 Olympics where further pressure was added to Jessica as she was made the face of the games.

The book essentially builds up this story, with the hero winning in front of her home crowd. Obviously the reader knows that **spoiler** Jessica Ennis won the gold medal in the Heptathlon as it was all over the press.

However this was an insightful guide that shows how she started at humble roots training at the Don Valley stadium in Sheffield, her love/hate relationship with her coach, her sets backs and the races.

Who should read?

This is a relatively easy read that is interesting for runners looking for motivation to train and young girls looking for a fit, driven attractive role model.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
I really enjoyed reading Jess' book. It was a nice easy read that gave a good insight into the route and dedication Jess has to her chosen sport. A great sports woman with a life long passion for athletics, she is also quite humble and comes across as a normal woman who sometimes struggles with her confidence but keeps coming back for more.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)