Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
22
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 November 2015
I first owned this film on VHS, and it was a favourite of mine then so when it appeared on DVD I got that as well without hesitation, although that was quite some time afterwards I must add; you often have to wait a long time for some films to appear on DVD and Blu-Ray ...and then some never ever do. Anyhow, Leviathan is one of my favourite 'popcorn movies' along with other titles like The Abyss, Deep Rising, and The Sphere etc. Some still haven't made it to Blu-Ray yet, sadly. I pretty much like anything underwater and alien really and this ticks all the boxes! I never really get bored with watching these types of films and so can revisit them quite regularly.

Now all TVs are HD and above I try and find films I particularly like watching on Blu-Ray to enjoy the best viewing and listening experience, but as many of you will know not all these types of movies have been transferred to DVD, let alone Blu-Ray. So when they do become available on Blu-Ray I usually jump at the chance of getting them. Unfortunately the Blu-Ray I recieved of this particular film wasn't as described on Amazon so I was unable to play it when it arrived from the US seller supermart_usa. The disc was region A, although the description clearly lists it as All Regions, so of course it wouldn't play on any of my players. Darn and blast it! Anyway, this is a warning for anyone thinking of buying this from supermart_usa and wanting an All Region disc. Save yourself the headache (and it will be, trust me) and look elsewhere. That's what I'm going to do.

Anyhow, Leviathan is an entertaining popcorn movie. Just judge it on what it is and not what it isn't or should be.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2016
Shout Factory Blu-Ray.An underwater genetically engineered creature kills off the crew of a deep sea mining base.A good cast of genre actors certainly help to boost the tales more overworn themes.Great quality HD image on this Blu-Ray,extras consist of a 40 minute production piece focusing on the effects department with some candid behind the scenes stories.A 12 minute interview with Hecter Helizondo(Cobb) and a 15 minute interview with Ernie Hudson(Jones) plus trailer.This is not a region free disc though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2010
If you really want a good , pre CGI effects movie, this must surely rate in the top ten. Rather more a chiller than a horror, Levithian plays on your worst fears, the fact its set underwater just adds to the claustaphobic setting. This movie is genuinly tense and unsettling, without being overly nasty. Great cast, and superb tension, this movie is overlooked all too often. It is also fairly tricky to get(I just got a copy), so if you can get one, I would highly recommend this. Some of the greatest chiller, sci-fi movies of all time are Alien/s, The Thing to name but a few. Levithian must surely rate somewhere in the top ten. So if you want taken on a 98 minute underwater terror ride, then switch the lights of, get a hot drink, put your feet up and enjoy this underrated gem of a movie.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
quick note.....1 star is not for this wonderful little cult gem....rather the supposed blu ray from Germany!!!so calling cult movie fans,remember the direct port of Slipstream from vhs to DVD..[Entertainment in video no less such a massive distributor should have known and done better]....well here is the first ive come across of direct port of DVD to blu ray...lots of crushing and stick your noggin close to your nice HD TV you'll see enough halos to get you into heaven...actully Hell of course, as i was looking foward to a great evening in...once again this has nothing to do with Amazon or the rapid first class seller...just thought fans should know....AVOID.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
i remember seeing this on vhs in the early 90s.i wasnt expecting to much but hey what a surprise this film is awesome.it features a all star cast of weller/pays/hudson/crenna who all give great performances.the screenplay is top notch and director george cosmatos keeps the scares and tension coming thick and fast.its aliens underwater but with a difference.the idea of the crew being infected by what they thought was vodka found on a sunking russian sub only to find its a virus turning them in to a alien creature which uses the brain of the person infected to its advantage.as each person is infected not only is it getting bigger it getting smarter.there are some great creature effects and i cant praise this film enough.a must see horror.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
Robocop and Col. Trautman, take a few famous faces and one who isn't (due to tragic events) to the underwater and make a rip off of Alien, The Thing and The Abyss.

For some reason, I've always wanted to see this film, ever since it was released back in 1990. So I jumped at the chance to see it in all it's glory.

I wasn't expecting much. The fact that it pretty much sunk without a trace didn't bode well, but I like these sort of claustrophobic alien type movies, and will watch the majority of these movie (Supernova, Virus, etc).

The film happens, and you can pretty much guess who is going to die and who is going to survive. Daniel Stern should have just wore a target, and Richard Crenna just had a smug look on his face as if to say 'i'm the best thing about this'.

And he is, it's by the numbers stuff, we have a silly slug like creature roaming the halls, before the final beast revelation, and Weller punches out Meg Foster.

Worth seeing the once.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
Do not under any circumstances buy the GERMAN version as I did (it's region free unlike the US version) - however none of the extra features are on the older german version but critically it IS NOT BLU-RAY AT ALL MERELY UPSCALED DVD (WHICH OF COURSE MEANS HORRIBLE PICTURE QUALITY) WHICH I ONLY FOUND OUT AFTER DOING SOME CHECKING ONLINE. DON'T MAKE MY MISTAKE AND WASTE 20 QUID - AVOID!!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2014
Yes, the movie is great. However to be recommended a Region 1 Bluray to Sweden is quite dumb move by Amazon.co.uk. What were they thinking ?!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 October 2012
Leviathan is directed by George P. Cosmatos and then screenplay is written by David Webb Peoples & Jeb Stuart from Peoples' own story. It stars Peter Weller, Richard Crenna, Amanda Pays, Daniel Stern, Ernie Hudson, Michael Carmine, Lisa Eilbacher, Hector Elizondo & Meg Foster.

Let me start off by saying that the rating I have given is purely for personal reasons, I love daft creature features and rate them accordingly. Artistically the film scores about the average mark of 5/10, the acting, story and effects really don't demand much better unless you have got a soft spot for the genre. Tagged as Alien underwater, the film was always going to struggle to live up to that particular tag for sure, but yes, in structure that is what we get. A group of deep-sea miners come across a wrecked soviet ship and after plundering what they can they end up with more than they bargained for. Enter the plot of deep-sea miners under attack from a very bad and creepy monster. Will they survive? How did it happen? And on it goes to a joyously (unintentionally) funny finale. The film crams as many creature feature clichés in as it can get away with, and sure enough the boo jump scare moments are not in short supply.

The cast are all in on the joke (I'm pretty sure they are), so all in all you get a flipping great genre entry that isn't demanding much of the viewer, that is if you are so inclined to check the brain at the door first. So enjoy a B lister that has no pretensions other than to homage and entertain those of a certain persuasion. Quite a cast of pro actors assembled as well. 7/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
excellent transfer and sound great extras ... quick delivery
highly recommended if you like old school creature feature
movies .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse