Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars
119
3.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 October 2014
Blair Witch camera work style. This only worked for 'Blair Witch Project' and only once. The copycats (like this one) are just annoying.
Amateurish trying to be cool. If at least there was a connection between the stories, it would be less bad. But there isn't. It's just silly! Don't waste your time!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
No Spoilers. Basically several short horror films strung together by a flimsy narrative device. Here’s how I felt during the film: ‘these characters are awful, god this is boring, what’s the point of this, OMG THAT WAS TERRIFYING!’ basically each short film starts off rubbish but every one has a really great payoff. There is one near the end which is great from start to finish but on a whole its boring then terrifying then boring then terrifying rinse and repeat. I don’t know if I can really recommend the movie but there were bits that were very good. WARNING this is full on video nasty gory, pervy, creepy, disturbing and extreme.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2016
I'm usually a fan of found footage horror movies and was intrigued by this 2012 offering which appears to be a collection of short horror films. The link between each so tenuous that I don't know how they can even be considered part of the same film. The premise is that a group of maladjusted misfits break into the home of an elderly man in search of a specific VHS video tape which they must steal. This is the storyline which opens the film and to me, made absolutely no sense in as much as it fails to set up an adequate context for the series of short films which follow.

The editing of the introduction is so choppy and the camera work so shoddy (with pointless extended scenes depicting random acts of vandalism and a lot of needless irritating swearing and shouting) that you really struggle to see what is going on - let alone want to stay with it. It is not until the first "found footage" video tape is played that the film becomes slightly more interesting if not thoroughly more annoying as a group of hyperactive overly excited squealing swearing frat boys film their night out. I had absolutely no sympathy for any of their characters and found it laughable when they are killed off in an explicitly gory fashion - and quite relieved actually, that something had managed to shut them up.

One short film is played after another including a mind numbingly dull road trip taken by two newly weds and the slightly more interesting Skype calls featuring a decent performance by little known actress Helen Rogers, the only character I had any sympathy for throughout the entire film. Amidst a pointless onslaught of gore for gore sake there are various perpetrators of said horror including a strange girl who turns out to be some sort of vampire, alien impregnation, a supposed dead body coming back from the dead, a vengeful ghost and a weird shadowy figure in the woods. This vast cocktail of assailants does nothing for the continuity of the film, and as such the short films (which remind me of student media projects and are just as poorly executed and acted) merely amount to one long onslaught on the senses and a sense of absolute relief when it's actually over.

The few fleeting glimmers of genuinely good suspense are undermined by a grating lack of realism in the final outcome of each short. Combine this with the pointless framework for the collection, lack of an actual ending and cheap special effects and you have a film that might as well have been made by young teenage boys for young teenage boys. Since the certificate is 18 I do wonder who the target audience is for this. You don't need to be a movie buff to appreciate that this is bad.

I would probably go as far as to say V/H/S is one of the worst films I have ever seen and I've seen 'the Swimmer' with Burt Lancaster.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
A group film their crimes on tape. They are hired to do a "job" for an unknown accomplice.

They have to break in to a house and steal a V/H/S tape with something on it, but they aren't told what it is.

While in the house they find way more than just one tape, so they grab as many as they can and they start watching them.

But what they see on these tapes is more than they can handle, and it's also hard to believe. But will it cost them more than they bargained for, and most importantly, will they rewind the tapes?...

Its been a while since there has been a horror anthology, so in that respect, if you forget that this is basically a found footage movie (which has been done to death) you may appreciate it a lot more.

The two stories that start and finish the quest are easily the best, amateur night being the overall winner, even though you can see what's coming a mile off.

The other three stories are fair to middling, but the Skype story is just too bizarre and gets boring very quickly. The fuzzy serial killer story has an eighties vibe to it, but is too short, and the second honeymoon segment is really good, but just leaves you feeling depressed, rather than exhilarated.

The wraparound story is dull, we basically just have a group of guys running around lifting up women's tops and filming it, not very sinister.

So all in all, its a welcome return to the horror anthology, but as always, there are some very weak links, that outweigh the other st
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
Very rarely do I turn a film off but this was one of those occasions. I am not a lover of the camcorder type films which obviously didn't help watching/enduring this film. I only just got into the 2nd video segment as the 1st was so annoying, so if you enjoy the 1st segment then maybe you will enjoy the whole film. Not for me even though I love the horror genre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
V/H/S is a film you will either love or hate. What I would say to anyone reading is - watch the film and decide for yourself. As a horror movie with elements of fantasy, I found it to be disturbing, subversive, atmospheric - and bleak. It (purposely) looks like rough videotape, complete with picture noise and at times, muffled, jarring sound, old images surface and appear at random, like floating ghosts, as if the tape has been used many times before, it lends the film an authentic and genuinely creepy feel. Several scenes are difficult to watch and are deeply unpleasant. At last, a horror film that is actually horrific. There is blood, dirt, terror, nudity and gore. Some of the stories are vividly lurid and all of them invoke a sense of dread. There are images that stay with you. Voyeuristic. Hellish. Satanic. A Slit Throat. A Broken Wrist. A Black Wet Liver. Some of it makes no sense. Like real life then. I loved it. I thought that the "I like you" girl and segment (Amateur Night) were excellent, I do not need, nor want to know her origin or motive, it is enough for her to be brilliantly creepy, and vile; there is no logic, no reason and therein lies the horror, the story retains a black shroud of terror and mystery and strange beauty - because there is no explanation. This leaves your mind free to wander, to theorize and to imagine. Tuesday The 17th has a dark surprise that is fresh and smart, like The Blair Witch Project in broad daylight with bloody violence, added menace and glimpses of a macabre killer that gives a new perspective to the phrase 'video nasty.' Second Honeymoon is wonderfully taut, it is tense and you may just wonder where it is all heading until it has crept upon you and its shocking conclusion has spread through your mind like blood in water. The blood is in the water. Dark and spreading. Dark as clouds smothering the moon at midnight.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
This has to be one of the best, if not the best horror films released in the 20th century so far.
The directors all have brought justice to the found footage genre, bringing something truly unique to the table with V/H/S.
It consists of different stories, which fit with different horror genres. Admittedly, some of the stories are much stronger than the others, and manage to be genuinely scary, a term which doesn't really apply to many other horror films these days.
Personally, the first tape 'Amateur night' and the last tape '10/31/98' are the strongest, with Amateur Night having one of the most un-nerving looking villains which will put you on edge, and with 10/31/98 having quite a classic paranormal/haunted house vibe to it, with it's fair share of jump scares and effects, there's something in this film for all horror fans to enjoy.
The ways in which the video's have been filmed have been thought about, rather than it being some guy wandering round with a camera, each segment explains the reasoning for filming and have various styles, one of which 'A strange thing that happened to Emily' follows a 'Skype conversation' style of filming, to make the stories seem somewhat believable. 'Tuesday the 17th' follows a cliché killer story with a clever twist which is probably one of the bloodiest tapes. '2nd Honeymoon' also has a twist, yet manages to be very creepy in the sense we don't know who is filming.
Overall, if you're a fan of found footage, or horror in general, give this movie a try. It may not be everyone's cup of tea, but if you're looking for something new and original, then maybe you'll enjoy some of the segments.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
This may look like your ordinary weekly cheap horror release as there are so many of them but V/H/S is actually a very good, clever movie and one of the years best, its directed by several known people from the genre including Ti West (the innkeepers, house of the devil)who is very good at what he does, the movie is a found footage film which will probably put people off but please give it a chance!!, the entire movie is made up of footage from peoples cameras who all fall foul to some kind of bizarre event that leads to their death, its allot more original than your average movie of this kind and does incorporate some brilliant effects and some quite hardcore violence at times, it gives off a very scary vibe too at times with each segment being very unique, this is a film not to be missed by horror fans, the movie also runs at just under 2hrs too which is pretty good for this type of movie. Make sure you check it out.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
I'm not normally a fan of horror movies, less so anthologies, less so found footage.

V/H/S is all three but holds up pretty well. The individual stories are well thought out with only the wraparound story finishing early and not really having a solid finish.

The selling point is the VHS element style of the movie. Poor quality, bad camera work, recorded over scenes. Don't worry the jerky style of the first story settles down (a little)or it might have caused a blown mind.

Each story has a differnt theme, style and director but they all gell together quite well. There is some gore in some, ome chils and a couple of great "Jump" shots.

Favourite stories were the wood demon and the "Skype"

It is/was part of three blu-rays for £17 so worth the punt. Recommended for a few chills.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2016
well
first of all you break into some ones home (like you do) then you sit yourself down on the couch and start watching there video tapes ?( I was waiting for them to find an old wedding video or one of those embarrassing videos staring uncle Bob you know the ones the family know about but don't usually talk about ) but on this occasion strange things started happening , like the girl who broke in with this guy is left alone for a few minutes in the living room and when he returns she is suddenly found convulsing on the floor ( maybe the owner came back unexpectedly and caught her eating the Jammy Dodgers ) we may never know any way it is a strange film with plenty of blood for all you Vampires out there personally I could Murder a pack of Jammy Dodgers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£14.98
£2.40

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)