Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
89
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.02+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 August 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
Set in the dreary small American town of Cold Rock, that was once a thriving community, now poverty stricken. We follow the everyday life of resident & nurse Julia Denning's (Biel) interactions with the locals. All the while running in the background is the eerie story of a string of mysterious child disappearances over the years from the Town, with missing posters & news clips of distraught parents. All of which has built up a local legend of The Tall Man. A person or myth who is believed to be responsible for the abduction of well over a dozen children from they're families. As fate would have it, the next child taken is that of Julia's, and as she delves deeper into the legend of the Tall Man to find her son, all is not as it appears.

Overall we really enjoyed the film for it achieving something a little different form the norm, don't expect a run of the mill horror movie as the premise would have you believe. The story starts slowly & draws you into it by introducing & connecting you to the characters & setting, and just as you think you have it all figured out & sense predictability of what's to happen next, in a short space of time it twists the story on it's head with a great piece of misdirection, as many theories race through your mind as to what is going on. And once the realization hit's in, your left questioning the right or wrong morality of the thought provoking subject matter.

The cinematography was well executed, and the range of acting presented by Jessica Biel was excellent, and proved that she is not just a pretty face when it comes to her acting talent. Supporting actress & narrator Jodelle Ferland (Case 39) added a haunting narration, and her role as the confused teenager who gets caught up in the morality of it all, wasn't many steps off the pace from Jessica Biel. The remaining support cast was full of well known faces, Stephen McHattie (Jessie Stone) , Samantha Ferris (Supernatural) & William B. Davis (The X-files, smoking man) all added authority to they're characters & weight to the story.

In conclusion, The Tall Man uses horror elements as a pretense to it's underlying, original, mystery thriller that tug's at the heart strings of morality. Be prepared for something different, don't say you weren't warned. Contains strong language, mature themes & violence. Recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2016
Not what was expected and not really a horror film in the traditional sense. Parts were creepy giving a few jumps. Story unfolds with one major twist that is supposed to sustain the story but ultimately a little unsatisfying with a preachy sanctimonious message weaving in and out of what is ultimately a daft and incomplete tale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
Great movie. A million miles away from the Hollywood conveyer belt. Unpredictable plot twists and very unusual. Great photography and cast. Check this one out. I loved it.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2016
This film along with Martyrs and St. Ange establish Laugier as one of the important filmmakers of our time. I hope that big money doesn't lead him astray.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
a weird film this,,there is a shante town in the usa where children are being abducted and taken into the forest never to be seen again ,a nurse fairly known by the town has a so and daughter,she hears someone in her house at night and goes down to invetsigate to find her son is gone,chasing the van toto deep forest she is attacked by the dog in the van and left on the road in the dark to bbe found by an fbi gent,then it turns out she is the one taking all the kids and accused of killing all of them and all the townsfolk turn on her,she is put on death row and while she is in a tall man takes another child to be sold,and then the young girl in the film that could not talk leaves and is given a new mother and a better life and asshe stays she notices the nurses young son in the same new town as the girl is now living in ,they recognise each other but say nothing ,a good film but strange
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
This crime/drama/mystery starts out with glass being picked out of Julie's face (Jessica Biel) then we flashback 36 hours to briefly build character. Cold Rock, Washington is a dead mining town where children frequently go missing. The town folk blame the "Tall Man." Julie is a nurse who runs the community clinic. She has taken over for her husband who was a doctor.

During this time we are introduced to Tracy (Samantha Ferris), her biker boyfriend Steven (Teach Grant), and her two teen daughters Carol (Katherine Ramdeen) who recently had a child by Steven, and Jenny (Jodelle Ferland) a self imposed mute who has seen the Tall Man. When Julie's son David is abducted, mom springs into action without thought for her personal safety.

Then the movie turns weird. We discover that the town's police car rear doors can open from the inside and poverty is a cycle that results from a broken system. The twist caught me off guard which is why I liked the film. In fact it flashes back and let's you see the clues, in case you missed them. The film raises social questions, but doesn't supply definitive answers. Good acting. Well written. I liked how the story developed. It spent just a touch too much making social comments, rather than just have the film speak for itself.

PARENTAL GUIDE: F-Bomb, no nudity, no sex.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2015
No subtitles! I'm deaf!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2012
A really interesting movie very well made,quality acting with some great twists and turns. If you like a good thriller you should enjoy this.Fabulous scenic photography and a moody mysterious score rack up the atmostphere. However horror affecionados may be dissappointed as this is not a horror film but starts out just like one then develops into something different.
Highly recommended to fans of something slightly different and thriller junkies,one of my favourite films this year a real 'sleeper'.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 September 2012
This very good film shocked me as few others did since "Seven", surprised me as few others did since the "Usual suspects" and in a couple of scenes also scared me (although ultimately it was not half as scary as I expected).

The story happens in Cold Rock, a little half-abandoned town in the state of Washington, where for the last couple of years somebody or SOMETHING abducted seventeen little children, babies or toddlers. There never was a viable suspect and no bodies were ever found. Terrified local residents nicknamed the person or THING behind those appearances "The Tall Man". A local nurse, Julia Dening (Jessica Biel), will finally become extremely concerned by the question "Who, or WHAT, is The Tall Man". A mute young girl, Jenny (Jodelle Ferland), who is the only one to really have seen "The Tall Man" with her own eyes, holds maybe some clues to solve the riddle...

This is a very clever, very surprising thriller which manages to preserve the suspense for a very long time. I managed to understand what is going on a little bit earlier than it was openly revealed, but still, it was only 10 minutes before the end...

Actors are doing great. Jessica Biel is here excellent and as always extremely beautiful. Joelle Ferland proves once again her great talent - she will be a great star one day! William B. Davis, the "Smoking Man" from X-Files, plays the role of the local old and slightly hapless sheriff - or is he really so hapless? Stephen McHattie, a Canadian veteran actor, does a great job as a tenacious detective, Lieutenant Dodd (he is mostly known from second roles, but his threatening face is rather unforgettable...). Last but not least, there is Colleen Wheeler, who plays Ms. Johnson, a local crazy woman - Ms Johnson is a secondary but important character and Colleen Wheeler played her perfectly.

I would advise to NOT read more detailed reviews or even watch the trailers, so you can go see this film like I did, without knowing anything else other than what we can guess from the poster at the cinema entry. The surprises are important and the director did all he could to give us lots of false clues to prevent the secret of being found too early.

Now, if what you need is a classical horror, here you risk to be a little bit disappointed, because this film is... well, something different. As father of little children myself I must say that I was quite troubled by the whole story and GREATLY shocked and upset by the solution. But I am not giving any more clues. Enjoy the film and decide yourself what you think of it.
44 Comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)