Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
56
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 February 2016
Brill
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
If you only buy albums that are worth their money, you will not regret it. Great album, fully recommend it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
Familiar DEF sounds, but with a variation in some of the track,,,,good to listen to with eleven tracks to choose from.
recommended for ardent DEF fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
Deftones are truly at the top of their game and this record is yet more proof of that. Enough said.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
Nothing else to say other than,it's a beautiful piece of art. But don't take my word for it :-) .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2012
Koi no Yokan is Deftones newest album as of 2012 and I have to say they are still on top form. Chino, Sings, and cries his way through most of the album I don't mean literally cry I mean sort of sounds desperate very emotion singing which you expect.
The guitars sound very growly and agressive I think possible 7 or more stringed guitar were used. the songs I think are not QUITE as good as diamond eyes but are still pretty good they are a bit longer and seem to lack definitive riffs in some cases.
that said it is still pretty good and has some excellent Vocals, which for me is Deftones most stand out part is the vocals
check out Poltergeist for an example of 8 stringed guitars and how it makes a very unique sound, and also for some really pretty vocals
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
I have followed the Deftones for many years and every new album i have had the pleasure of listening to has been a delight and revelation to my ears. Koi No Yokan is definitely no exception. It instantly gripped me and took me for a roller coaster ride which took me 3 days to come down from. The only downside is that it will probably be another couple of years before their next album. Deftones have evolved and stand alone above the rest. Now is their time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2012
Amazing album, sharp sounds, the tones never faile to amaze me getting better and better, and plus you can now win a signed 7 string esp from them for the official us release of Koi no yokan [...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
Headline says it all but i would add that is it probably better than Diamond Eyes and reminds me of Deftones Deftones. Pretty cool stuff!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2012
The consistent kings of alt-metal return after only a two year absence with their usual sound, redefined, textured and ultimately perfected. Diamond Eyes proved that the bands creativity and consistency were indeed not behind them through tracks such as 'Sextape', and with their 7th here they push their mixture of melody and heaviness in all the right directions. More of a spiritual successor to the less than cohesive mess of Saturday Night Wrist, Koi No Yokan for the first time since White Pony captures the emotional abstractness that Chino so often croons over. Opening track Swerve City to a greater extent realigns the band with a signature sound of the late 90's but with modern, moody and spacey textures to give it a contemporary edge and it works a charm. Following on there is Romantic Dreams, arguably the best of the punch yet not the most experimental. The shifting tones and THAT mind blowing chorus will have even the hardened Deftones fan quiver with delight, and as the consistency and the flow continue through with promotional single Leathers and tight riff heavy Poltergeist there is no disguising that this is a band reborn, and every bit as relevant as they were. Detractors of the album will be quick to point that there isn't really a single direction with this album that they have not explored before, but having said that, they've never explored these angles so well. The dream-pop loud ambiance of Rosemary, and a surely new fan favourite Goon Squad reignite those memorable intros and outros we all miss from White Pony. All in all the biggest problem here is in the albums comparison to that aforementioned masterpiece of post-grunge and nu-metal which the band was lumped with, and currently it would be stupid of me to choose a favourite. After all if understanding the Japanese title correctly, love at first sight is yet to begin, but it will. An essential purchase for anyone who has ever dabbled in the bands sound since their commercial ventures in the early 2000's.

Current Standings (personally)
1. White Pony
2. Koi No Yokan
3. Around The Fur
4. Diamond Eyes
5. Adrenaline
6. Deftones
7. Saturday Night Wrist
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£6.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)