Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
30
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.79


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 May 2017
Great reading and what I wanted
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
An excellent read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Bought for a friend - I am sure she loves it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
I first read this book when I was at Primary School and having just finished reading it for a second time many years later it is still a wonderful read. I got so much more out of reading it the second time. Rev. Dr. Donald Caskie was a true man of faith, relying on God at all times. As a member of the CofS in which Rev Dr. Caskie was a minister I am surprised by the number of people in the church who say they have never heard of him. I find it a sad reflection that people in the Kirk today, my age, and older and younger say they have never heard of such a faithful man who courageously lived by his faith in the face of evil. I am going to make sure that the folks in my church know of this faithful man, a great example of a true Christian prepared to put his own life on the line for others.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2001
Donald Caskie was the minister of the Scots church in Paris when the Germans invaded. Despite an initial attempt to return home, Caskie spent the war years working in the Seamans' mission in Marseilles from where it is estimated that he organised the return to the UK of some 2000 men via the Pyrennees, Spain and Gibraltar.
Caskie tells his story calmly and unemotionally. A typical Highlander, you imagine him sitting by his fireside - dram in hand - as this extraordinary tale unfolds.
Occasionally you would be forgiven for thinking you were reading the plot for 'Allo, 'Allo! Caskie's continual game of hide and seek with the Vichy police, the lengths that locals go to to make sure he has enough food and coal, and the dealings with Arab clothes traders all raise a smile.
But this isn't a comedy. Men die, traitors are uncovered and Caskie himself faces death as a British agent.
Caskie is of course devout. He has an uncanny sixth sense. He is also a native Gaelic speaker and keeps a detailed log of information in Gaelic. "Who but the Lord and the minister of the Scots Church would have the Gaelic in France during WWII" he says. This vital information is passed on to London via well known agents.
Don't be put off by the name or the dreadful tartan hat on the cover!! This book should be part of your collection.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
Although I am by no means a religious Person, I loved this book. Donald Caskie is the Kind of man you expect a priest to be. What he lived through and what he did, is amazing. I often wander how I would react in such a hard time as under the Nazi occupation in WWII. Withought hate, but with wit and unbelievable quiet Courage, this Scot helped and consoled and saw good in the most evil times.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
I am totally fascinated with The Resistance of WW2 and have read dozens of books on the subject. The Tartan Pimpernell is by far the most moving and engrossing of all. I wept and laughed and only wish I had met The Reverand personally.......what an inspiration to all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2008
This is one of my favourite books. Donald Caskie's memoir of his time in wartime France is an amazing tale which reflects the hardships of the occupation and the tremendous courage of the author. I have read it twice myself and I'm about to buy a copy for my brother-in-law to read over Christmas.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2013
This is a description of how people rise to the occasion of need when everything seems hopeless. It is a book that should never be forgotten, and younger generations should e encouraged to read. I first read this book shortly after it was first published and this time it still moved me to feel admiration for that generation.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2012
"In 1940, Dr. Donald Caskie was Minister of the Scottish Kirk in Paris. When the Germans invaded France, he stayed to organise the escape of British civilians but soon found himself the vital link in an escape route for British servicemen. In cupboards and holes scooped under floors, he hid, clothed and fed hundreds of exhausted men. Inevitably he was betrayed. Yet while on the run he continued to help escaping prisoners until the Gestapo net closed around him. He was saved from execution at the last moment - owing to the appeals of a German padre. During these experiences Dr. Caskie developed an uncanny gift for intuition, often enabling him to thwart the secret police. It was to him further proof of God's presence."

"As exciting and eventful as the novel from which its title derives. It is an inspiring story, a testament of the power of goodness in the conflict with evil." - SCOTSMAN

"Dr Caskie recounts his adventures racily and well, without rancour and with constant humour." - GLASGOW HERALD

"Told with admirable sincerity." - THE TIMES LITERARY SUPPLEMENT

Memoir of a Scottish Priest who helped escaping British soldiers in the Second World War.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)