Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
83
King Animal
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£10.29


on 16 November 2012
Soundgarden are back, and long overdue!

Their sound has slightly evolved but the core of Soundgarden is still there, the time signatures, nutty riffs and wailing guitars (needs more of this from Kim).

On the first few listens you might feel alienated but the more you listen the more it grows on you (classic Soundgarden) and for only a tenner you shouldn't be disappointed.

Chris has gotten on a bit so his voice isn't what it used to be (to be expected, but don't let this put you off)

I'd also mention that Matt out did himself on the drums in this album, I would argue it's some of his best work.

Overall great purchase, I hope they can release another album because there are very few bands that can come back together after nearly 2 decades, pushing 50, and still out perform and songwrite most bands today.

10/10
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2014
Having grown up in the 1990s I am pleased to see many of the great rock bands like Soundgarden and Alice in chains are still keeping the rock n roll spirit alive for both bands have released very good albums recently. Indeed grunge seems to be having a bit of a renaissance with modern bands like Dead Sara incorporating grunge elements while Nirvana remain as popular as ever despite kurts death.

This album opens with real rocking intent in 'Been away to long' and maintains momentum with the slightly political 'Non-state actor' that contains an awsome guitar riff. The album as a whole is really strong and I like most of the tracks but if I had to pick my favourite tracks it would be the melancholic 'Bones of birds', the acoustic led sombre ballad 'Black saturday' and the gospel tinged bluesey album closer 'Rowing'. This is a great track to finish the album on and pretty much sums up life in a beautiful metaphor. But it is a wonderful image, that all we can do to survive, is to keep rowing against the wind and the rain and face up to any storms that come our way. To survive we literally have to keep our heads above water and breathe. Nobody knows where they are going so lets keep rowing forwards and enjoy life.

Anyone with an interest in rock music are more than likely aware of Soundgarden but if you are yet to listen to this animal of an album I would urge you to check it out and lets just hope they don't stay away for too long this time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2012
I was very excited to see Soundgarden on Jools Holland's show and had no idea there was a new album! Superunknown is one of my all time favourite albums and I can't rate Chris Cornell highly enough as a songwriter and singer. So I watched the show and was impressed with Been Away Too Long, a good rocker. I was a little confused by Taree, I thought to myself this probably sounds better on the album and makes more sense there, which it does. Great to see them play live.

Like a few comments here I was a little disappointed with the album - at first anyway, from a purely "Soundgarden" aspect. Not really a "dirty" enough sound, it's certainly not a continuation from Down On The Upside, although there are flavours of old like the very beginning of "A Thousand Days Before". But then that was a long time ago and they were never realistically going to pick up like they've never been away.

Having listened to it a few times I must say I really like it. The opening track is just great and the best way to kick off. I won't give a run down of all the tracks as this is just personal preference. I will say "Halfway There" is pure Cornell solo album (not that one we won't mention though!) but I'd rather it on the album than not as it is wonderful. Some really good songs, a few ok ones, no awful ones thankfully.

Overall I think a 3.5 or 4 is just about right. Short of their past best and a little inconsistent but in the current climate of dross and considering the break, rather good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2012
I have been a fan of Soundgarden since Superunknown, and listen to their albums often. I have loved this new album of theirs and have listened to it solidly everyday. The production and mixing is unbelievable, all due to Joe Barresi. The songs lack the focus of Superunknown and Badmotorfinger however, otherwise this album would get five stars. Overall you are getting a Soundgarden CD, written by the whole band, and not a Chris Cornell solo album with his mates as a backing band.

Soundgarden have not felt the need to make a point, or prove themselves. They have no reinvented the wheel. They have just picked up right where they left off 15 years ago. Strangely the gems seem to be left for the end of CD, but even the more obscure tracks come into their own, given time. I never liked all the tracks on Superunknow or Down On the Upside at first, but today all are good and part of the listening experience.

2012 has a different listening culture and different expectation to 1994. BUT I am sure you will enjoy this one if you are a fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2013
This is a good album that shows that Seattle rockers Soundgarden haven't lost their edge. There's plenty here to
please old fans as well as hints of Chris Cornell's solo work in places. Kicking off with "Been Away Too Long", a rock
opener that lets you see they wanted and needed to make this record. There are a few songs which are similar to
Superunknown, but this album doesn't quite reach their former glory. The songs don't quite scale the heights of the
classic "Black Hole Sun", "Just Like Suicide" or "Fell on Black Days", but are nevertheless pretty good. There are some
mellower moments with "Bones of Birds", "Taree" and "Halfway There" to add lyrical and musical contrasts to the more metal/grunge compositions which was always their trademark. Final track "Rowing" a bluesy soul searching track which
has the characteristic brilliant guitar soloing of Kim Thyal . A really rather worthwhile album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2013
The Knights of the Soundtable ride again! King Animal is Soundgarden's first studio album since their 2010 reunion, and their first album of new material since 1996's Down on the Upside. And this album was definitely worth the wait. Soundgarden, driven by the wailing (and no less powerful) vocals of Chris Cornell, the mighty guitar riffs of Kim Thayil, the bouncy basslines of Ben Shepherd, and the eclectic and versatile drumming of Matt Cameron, have crafted a magnificent work of rock 'n roll. The overall vibe is similar to that of the band's previous albums Superunknown (IMO their magnum opus) and Down on the Upside. The songs are grungy without sounding nostalgic; instead they sound like a fresh reawakening. The band maneuvers through odd time signatures with ease, performing with vitality despite their older age. There are fast songs and slow songs, heavy rockers and soft acoustic tracks, psychedelic dirges and energetic bursts of alt-metal. Hats off to Soundgarden for making not only an excellent comeback album, but one of the best albums of 2012
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2012
I wondered how this album would stand up so many years down the track from the bands last release and deliberately waited to review so I could give a fair appraisal after "living" with it for a time. In truth It's an astonishing piece of work with all the hallmarks of this most interesting and innovative band. Eclectic mix of song structures and delivery, interesting and odd time signatures on the one hand, crushingly heavy riffs all backed up by intelligent lyrics and peppered by the hooky Soundgarden melodies that always made them stand out from the crowd on the other. This album will stand the test of time along with the other albums. In summary a " no brainer " if you are already a fan - just buy it. If you are new to the group do yourself a favour and immerse yourself in this release - then discover the previous ones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2013
This is a fantastic album from Soundgarden, from the opening track, "Been away too long" which feature a great guitar riff, and Cornells awesome powerhouse vocals, you know this album will be good, Other awesome tracks are: "Blood On The Valley Floor" and "Taree" aswell as "None State Actor". This is a fantastic comeback album from the "Grunge Gods"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 January 2013
This is the long awaited album from one of the biggest grunge bands. It starts off well but for me soon loses it's momentum. I've given it four stars to give it the benefit of the doubt really, because maybe I just haven't played it enough to get into it yet. But so far I would say it's better than Down On The Upside but not as good as any of their other albums. A tad disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2012
I have given four stars for king animal but I'm sure it will become a five with time. Soundgarden albums tend to creep up on you! A wonderful collection of songs/music with the obvious classic opener - huge riff, fantastic vocals, a very exciting track with outstanding drumming. The production on the album is perfect, brighter than previous albums - lots of room for all the instruments and vocals, genius! As a longstanding Soundgarden fan I feel that this album will come as a relief to others, in that it is a true Soundgarden album. Superunknown will always be their pinnacle but king animal is a very worthwhile venture, shining with class and soul. Stand up and be proud guys!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse