Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 May 2017
The quality of the transfers is quite excellent and all three films well made and very evocative of their era. 'Sammy's Super T-shirt' is particularly well acted and shows the move from perfect middle class accents to the more 'real' accents. The young lead actor, Reggie Winch, is particularly good with excellent facial expressions and total immersion in the role of Sammy. Nice to see Jack May at the end as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
great dvd quick delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
I run a kids' Saturday morning film club where we screen new and old films. We'd been waiting for the chance to screen Sammy's Super T-shirt and we weren't let down. Kids and adults sat enthralled through the entire film. Very nostalgic for the adults watching and the fab response from the kids (ages 2 - 11) proved that in the age of CGI, this film has stood the test of time!

Thank you CFF!

Thanks also to the BFI for recognising the public appeal of these films.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The sense of nostalgia and how much the world has changed, as well as how things looked and people spoke, makes these films a very enjoyable experience. Spanning three decades, they are likely to take many viewers nearing fifty and over back to their own childhoods - for me, Sammy's Super T-Shirt caught the mood of the times perfectly, as I was about the same age as the protagonists, wore the same flares, and lived in a very similar world - minus the magic T-Shirt, of course, which turns the main character into a sort of unstoppable bionic boy. All three films focus on racing, and are more oriented towards boys, although many of the Children's Film Foundation productions showed no gender bias, according to the excellent booklet. They are quite well contrasted as a set, though, with one race on foot, one in go-karts and one in flying machines - the last, although the most imaginative on paper, perhaps, gives the least interesting result, mainly because the camera is used in such a lively way in the other two, and there is more humour in them. The set kicks off with Soapbox Derby which is an astonishingly good feature (all three last about 1 hour), with a vivid score complementing the action to perfection and some atmospheric shots of London. The docklands area is brilliantly caught, with the Battersea Power Station on the horizon, and the black-and-white photography is poetic while somehow remaining attuned to its purpose of involving us in the non-stop action. It also features an excellent early performance from Michael Crawford, whose later incarnation in Some Mothers Do 'Ave 'Em can be occasionally detected under the much more straight surface. Some of the boys speak with very plummy accents and use turns of phrase that are quite comical now. It is altogether a very bold-spirited programme, taking you back to how things were as well as your own childhood memories, and I'm sure the films would still appeal to boys today.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
If you have a belief that its special effects that are the sole/only/greatest most important factor in a good film then think again. There are no special effects in these stories but they all held my boys spell-bound. Its the story and the telling of that does it every time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
Very good for nostalgia and Micheal Crawford is featured in one show, if you put a beret on his head he could have even said "Ooh Betty" then, a very low voice for a actor of his age, and Sky Bike great stuff!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
Classic Children's Film Foundation Films. Entirely predictable, well filmed and great fun, with the good guy always. winning and the bad guy
coming to a sticky end, with some suspense in the middle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2016
I watched this time and time again when my son was a little boy. Now I have bought it for my grandchildren and look forward to watching it with them. Great stuff!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2017
My son (now 30) used to watch 'The Sky Bike' everyday on a video taped from the TV - it drove me crazy. He really enjoyed his nostalgic re-visit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
I brought this with London Tales also from childrens film collection great films cant fault them fantastic family viewing! Loved the adventures
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse