Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
141
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2017
a really good read following on the others. plenty of action.if you like historical history of the romans this is the book series for you.hard to put down ,lots of late nights.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
A great read still working my way through this but enjoying every minute
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
This author never fails to provide. Just BRILLIANT.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
Another captivating look at 'the Legions' in action during Julius Caesar's campaigns in Gaul.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
not light reading but facinating history and and good use of charcters its more tretis on the roman army than anything but none the less facinating
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
This is the fourth instalment in the story of Fronto, one of Caeser's legionary commanders in his campaigns in Northern Europe. The first three books were thoroughly enjoyable, a definite cut above the mass of roman era fiction that is out there at the moment.
Fronto has grown as a character, as have many of the people around him, both in the army, and at home in Rome. The only slightly jarring note is the writing of Fronto's soon-to-be wife, who comes across as a little too shrew-like for my liking. Considering she is the daughter of a military commander, she seems to have little understanding of how such a man would act.
In this episode, the events in Rome, though dealt with in less detail, are as important as those on the campaign trail, as they have a real effect on Fronto's actions by the end of the book.
The author does have a good feel for the era, and seems to understand life in the roman army. He brings the reader into that world really well, and explains it without lecturing.
His handling of the nuances of Caeser's character are very interesting: who can tell whether they are true - this is fiction, after all, but they are believable, which is what matters over the course of four books. By the end of this book, Fronto has changed his mind about Caeser: will he change it again in the next instalment?
Overall, this is a hugely enjoyable book, in a very entertaining series. I am looking forward to episode five!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
I read all 4 of these books in the space of a few weeks, one after the other, finishing this one only a few days ago - and I am already missing Fronto and his adventures with his wine-drinking mates!! All 4 books are set in the 1st century BC around Julius Caesar's campaigns in Gaul (for those with a weak disposition, please note that some of the battle narrative is rather detailed, gruesome and violent!), it is so well written you can't help but feel like you are there with the characters, love the fact that the Gauls seem to have northern accents and between battles the main characters like to pop to the pub (a lot!!)

I am not an expert on roman history, battles or politics, but it made me want to find out about the real events, people and places that these stories take their inspiration from - and from what I can tell they're pretty close to the reality of Ceasars invasion of Gaul over the same 4 year period, although the only Fronto I could find that excelled in battle and became a Legate was a Marcus Claudius Fronto from the second century AD (killed in battle 170 AD)

Regardless of fact and fiction the stories are a wonderfully entertaining and absorbing read, so I hope that if you pick these books up you enjoy them as much as I did - and please, please Mr Turney, I do hope there are more tales of Fronto on the way . . . . . . . . . . . . .
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
Without doubt the best in the series so far. Mr Turney expertly deals with the action of Caesar's legions' push across the Rhine and then into England, whilst simulaneously personalising, through Frodo's sister and betrothed, the increasingly politicised violence erupting in Rome. Lets hope Frontos knee get better soon. Bring on the Rubicon
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
Have just finished Marius' Mules IV and found it to be as excellent as the previous three, with one criticism. The ending seemed rather rushed and totally out of step with the pace and intensity of the rest of the story. In fact it almost felt like it had been written by someone else. However, I find Mr Turney an outstanding writer of this genre and with a great knowledge of Roman military life and the Caesar campaigns.

The book's abrupt ending leaves the reader with the impression that this will be the last of the Mules series, yet the story leaves enough unfinished threads for at least two further books. I for one will be very disappointed if this does end the series as I have only recently discovered Mr Turney and I would certainly rate his work on a par with Simon Scarrow, Conn Iggulden and Bernard Cornwell. Once you start reading you just don't want to put the book (or Kindle) down. So come on Mr Turney - will there be a Mules V?
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
Great series of books and book 4 is no let down
If you like Simon Scarrows' tales of Cato and Macro then this is a book for you.
It is very well written with a good story line - Roman Legions, lots of action with down to earth characters and just enough history.
I would definitely recommend this book to any historical fiction fan.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse