Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
27
3.5 out of 5 stars
The Men Next Door [DVD] [2012]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 11 April 2017
Quite amusing. It would have helped, though, if the father (next door) had been more attractive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2016
Too American for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 2 February 2013
Doug (Eric Dean - `Arizona Sky') is a forty year old gay man who is dating a fifty year old man Jacob (Michael Nicklin) and they are getting along just fine, but not ready to commit. Then on the night of Doug's actual fortieth birthday he invites all his friends around, and they all fail to show for various reasons. His brother does send a stripogram though, only it's a lady. Then hunky next door neighbour calls round with some mis delivered mail and things sort of happen, as they only can in the movies.

Any way his bestest gal pal Evelyn (Heidi Rhodes) turns up and catches them, but she is actually really supportive and Doug decides to see both men as Colton is thirty he has one lover ten years older and one ten years younger - possibly a dream come true. Colton is played by Benjamin Lutz who you may remember from `The Love Patient' and as ever is really rather good. But there is always going to be a problem with trying to see both men and his schedule gets busier and busier and it is inevitable that both men will eventually meet, even though they know it is an open relationship, but the real big deal is that they are father and son - oh very dear indeed.

Anyway this is billed as a fast paced gay comedy, well it is not my idea of fast to be honest and I did not find myself reaching for the Kleenex to wipe away tears of mirth - or for any other reason as there is not that much in the way of bed room diversion either let alone a gratuitous shower scene; never mind. However, that said I found this to be a rather an awkward funny and as such much more of a drama. There are some well observed lighter moments, but selling it on the gags is a bit mis leading. The acting is all above par and Eric Dean is a great leading man, we even get Mark Cirillo (Going Down in La La Land) doing a good supporting role, and at a ninety minute run it is a satisfying film in many ways.

This does deal with the obsession of youth rather well which is often missing from main stream films let alone those of this genre. So if you like a warm love drama and like a gay film that is not an excuse for lots of rumpy pumpy then you will find something here of interest.
22 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
One of the better written gay films. Story line follows a different line with funny consequences.
Enjoyable to watch with a glass of wine!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
Nice butts on the actors, the film was not as fun as i hoped it would be. The story that one gay date the son and the father could be fun. But the film had no surprises it was djust boring
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
Slow moving plot. Gay guy meets older man. Older man's son moves in next door. The neighbours hook up. Then the triangle is exposed.
Watch on a wet day over a glass of wine
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
The plot is described well enough by other reviews so I'll skip the detail. It is quite obvious from the beginning that the film was done on a shoestring. There are no outdoor scenes and the indoor scenes look like they were all filmed in one house using different rooms (except for the cabin in the hills), even the 'gym' is as big as a spare room. There is a noticeable absence of music to provide any atmosphere - I presume once again to cut down on costs.

The acting is quite patchy too and rather strained. The best friend Evelyn seems to carry any laughter that may be in it. It is not a comedy by any stretch of the imagination. Easy going perhaps but not funny.

It is quite slow moving as well and I found myself drifting off. I suspect that this sort of film addresses issues in middle class NY gay circles with limited appeal to the rest of the film viewing world. It is an easy film to fill an evening but don't put yourself out to watch it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
Slow to start I didn't care for this much and left it till the next day. But once it got going and the plot unwound it was very good. Light hearted predicament comedy with an older gay element for a change. Chaps fall for guy next door only to discover that the guy he's already been seeing is the neighbour's father! An unusual triangle with a predictable but enjoyable ending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
A charming and sexy Rom Com for gay men. Not serious cinema but wonderfully diverting with appealing, and several very hot actors some of which, Eric Dean as Doug especially, putting in fine performances. Don't be put off by lesser reviews, which seem to me pure snobbishness - and I'm fairly snobby myself. One to enjoy over a bottle of wine! ;-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
dear amazon!this film very fanny,happy story.one man vant the same with two mans.difficult to choise,the do which person the best,good comady,i like this film.good story,nice headline,clean colours...yhanks!kis andrea
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

You Should Meet My Son!
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here