Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
11
4.4 out of 5 stars
The 1962 British Hit Parade Part One Jan - May
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 September 2017
This album was a gift for my Dad. I hear he is "highly delighted with it!"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
***Beware - disappointed CD-Rs***

Yes this arrived as a CDR as well, need to back up as FLAC (CD Copy) but no CD Text either... just a nightmare.

Acrobat Music used to be the leader, now it's Future Noise Music who have made them as CDs and not CDRs

I have purchased all these series and I'm disppointed these are burnt CDs, yes CDRs. They will not stand the test of time. CDrs melt and become unreadable after a few years.
The booklet and the music is great but we want CD if thats what we pay for!!!
Yes it would have been 5 stars but CDr, come on. One Star. Buyer Beware.
22 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMETOP 10 REVIEWERon 12 January 2013
Acrobat are a UK based record label who specialise in collectors pieces and re-issues across every genre.

These British hit parade box sets are an essential purchase for a lot of serious collectors. All the music artists on these four cds are absolutely the original artists and I have purchased quite a few of these comprehensive box sets and can confirm so.

I noticed the track listings are not provided and have therefore sought it out as I'm buying this myself soon. I think it helps when purchasing a cd to know what's on it!

Disc 1

1 Walk On By- Leroy Van Dyke
2 Your Ma Said You Cried In Your Sleep Last Night - Doug Sheldon
3 Can't You Hear The Beat Of A Broken Heart- Iain Gregory
4 Revival - Chris Barber's Jazz band
5 The Young Ones - Cliff Richard
6 What A Crazy World We're Living In - Joe Brown & The Bruvvers
7 Twist Twist - Chakachas
8 Forget Me Not - Eden Kane
9 Crying In The Rain - Everly Brothers
10 Lonesome - Adam Faith
11 The Comancheros - Lonnie Donegan
12 Jeannie - Danny Williams
13 Peppermint Twist - Danny Peppermint and the Jumping Jacks
14 Small Sad Sam - Phil McLean
15 Wimoweh - Karl Denver
16 A Little Bitty Tear - Burl Ives
17 Norman - Carole Deene
18 D-Darling -Anthony Newley
19 He's Old Enough To Know Better -The Brook Brothers
20 Rock A Hula Baby -Elvis Presley
21 Can't Help Falling In Love -Elvis Presley
22 Little Bitty Tear -Miki And Griff
23 Pianis simo -Ken Dodd
24 Don't Stop Twist -Frankie Vaughan
25 Walk Away -Shane Fenton & The Fentones

Disc 2

1 Lonesome Number One -Don Gibson
2 Softly As I Leave You -Matt Monro
3 Peppermint Twist -Joey Dee and The Starlighters
4 It's A Raggy Waltz -The Dave Brubeck Quartet
5 I'm Counting On You -Petula Clark
6 Break It To Me Gently -Brenda Lee
7 Tell Me What He Said -Helen Shapiro
8 March Of The Siamese Children -Kenny Ball & His Jazzmen
9 Hole In The Ground -Bernard Cribbins
10 The Wanderer -Dion
11 Tonight -Shirley Bassey
12 I'll See You In My Dreams -Pat Boone
13 Lessons In Love -The Allisons
14 From Here To There To You -Hank Locklin
15 Never Goodbye -Karl Denver
16 Lesson One -Russ Conway
17 Walk With Me My Angel -Don Charles
18 Somebody To Love -Brad Newman
19 Babette -Tommy Bruce
20 Ring-a-ding Girl -Ronnie Carroll
21 Wonderful Land -The Shadows
22 Theme From Z Cars (Johnny Todd) -Johnny Keating
23 Theme From Dr. Kildare -Johnnie Spence And His Orchestra
24 Fanlight Fanny -Clinton Ford
25 Dream Baby -Roy Orbison

Disc 3

1 Twistin' The Night Away - Sam Cooke
2 Please Don't Ask About Barbara- Bobby Vee
3 Town Without Pity - Gene Pitney
4 I Wonder Who's Kissing Her Now- Emile Ford & the Checkmates
5 I Ain't Got Nobody - Buddy Greco
6 Hey Little Girl - Del Shannon
7 Love Me Warm And Tender - Paul Anka
8 Letter Full Of Tears - Billy Fury
9 Lone Rider - John Leyton
10 Frankie And Johnny - Mr. Acker Bilk & His Paramount Jazz Band
11 Listen To Me - Buddy Holly
12 Duke Of Earl - Gene Chandler
13 Hey Baby - Bruce Channel
14 When My Little Girl Is Smiling - Craig Douglas
15 What Kind Of Fool Am I? - Sammy Davis Jr.
16 Gonna Build A Mountain - Sammy Davis Jr.
17 Drums Are My Beat - Sandy Nelson
18 Theme From Z-Cars - The Norrie Paramor Orchestra
19 Brazilian Love Song (Andorhina Preta) - Nat King Cole
20 Heaven's Plan - Mark Wynter
21 When My Little Girl Is Smiling - Jimmy Justice
22 Young World - Ricky Nelson
23 The Maigret Theme - Joe Loss And His Orchestra
24 Her Royal Majesty - James Darren

Disc 4

1 Jambalaya (On The Bayou)- Fats Domino
2 Speak To Me Pretty - Brenda Lee
3 The Party's Over - Lonnie Donegan
4 Everybody's Twisting - Frank Sinatra
5 Slow Twistin' - Chubby Checker
6 It's All over Now - Shane Fenton & The Fentones
7 When My Little Girl Is Smiling- The Drifters
8 Wonderful World Of The Young - Danny Williams
9 Honest I Do - Danny Storm
10 Nut Rocker - B. Bumble and the Stingers
11 Love Letters - Ketty Lester
12 King Of Clowns - Neil Sedaka
13 The Mexican - The Fentones
14 Teach Me To Twist - Chubby Checker and Bobby Rydell
15 Ave Maria - Shirley Bassey
16 Big Man In A Big House - Leroy Van Dyke
17 Don't Break The Heart That Loves You - Connie Francis
18 Johnny Angel - Shelley Fabares
19 She's Got You - Patsy Cline
20 Cutty Sark - The John Barry Seven And Orchestra
21 I'm Gonna Clip Your Wings - Frankie Vaughan
22 Tavern In The Town - Terry Lightfoot and his New Orleans Jazzmen
23 I Know Where I'm Going - The Countrymen
24 As You Like It - Adam Faith

Of course the other two box sets to complete the full year are available May-Sept and Sept-Dec also available are the coinciding B-sides on cd. All original artists and the tracks are in chronological order of chart entry ending with As you Like it by Adam Faith a lesser known but catchy Adam Faith song.

A comprehensive collection which includes some forgotten gems.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 9 January 2013
The British Hit Parade series has been around in various forms for the last ten years or so going back to the first NME chart from 1952. This four CD collection is part of a series which altogether cover every entry in the UK Hit Parade in 1962 - both A sides and B sides - the complete collection running to a total of 24 CDs across 6 x 4 CD sets. I will not attempt to review each of the individual 4 CD sets - they are much of a muchness for presentation and sound quality - but I will try to give some background information for those new to the series. Full track listings for each set of discs can be found at acrobatmusic. net.

In the UK the copyright in recorded music currently lasts for 50 years and after that time collections such as this can be released without the consent of the original record company. That does not mean that just anyone can access the original master tapes - they can't - but if someone has the original vinyl records they can copy those to CD and release them as collections like this. Acrobat states that the records used for this 1962 Hit Parade are from the 45 singles collection of Roger Dobson - I suspect that is actually a typo for well-known musicologist Roger Dopson! However, the 50 year rule is under review - this quote from Acrobat's website: "As you know, depending on the outcome of the machinations regarding legislation relating to the extension of the copyright term, this might well be the last year we are able to produce these collections in this form, which would obviously be very sad."

Newcomers to the Hit Parade series may wonder why there seems to be TWO versions for each year! The original releases in the series were produced by a group of music collectors and businessmen who, after a few years, fell out with each other. After some legal wrangling and Court case both groups now produce independent versions of the British Hit Parade series. This version from Acrobat is more like the original releases in presentation and now also includes B sides; the slightly more commercial release comes from Fantastic Voyage but only includes A sides in two long-box style sets for each year. Which is the best or more authentic version is down to personal preference!

This version of 1962 from Acrobat has very good sound quality - although the source is 45 rpm singles the sound has obviously undergone some serious computer processing and the vast majority of the tracks are faultless - just a few exhibit some distortions. The booklets in each set have full details of each track included, but are not quite as good as the ones from Fantastic Voyage.

It would be a great shame if 1962 became the last year in the series - I shall be following any changes to the 50 year rule with great interest! I look forward to a collection for 1963 in January 2014 - but I fear I may have to wait considerably longer! I will rate each part of Acrobat's version of 1962 with five stars - but please be aware that these tracks are not from the original master tapes - although they are all the original recordings from the time. If you are looking for the best version of a particular song then stick to a release from the original record label!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
All the records that charted in 1962, comes in 3 box sets with 4 CDs in each set. Plus a very comprehensive booklet in each set. As an avid collector of late 50's and early 60's I love this collection and bought all 3 volumes. Done a full review of all 3 in Part Two May - Sept.

All the B sides are also available in a seperate collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
If you're a fan of the pre-Beatles music you can't miss this edition, absolutely complete and the original versions included
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
A very good collection of oldies, which is good to reminisce with. Good value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
Sound quality OK. I expect some tracks taken from vinyl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2014
THESE BOX SETS ARE ALWAYS VERY GOOD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)