Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
20
4.5 out of 5 stars
Colour: White|Change
Price:£119.97+ £5.95 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2013
I bought this item to use with my Nikon 1. Having read various photography community reviews I was a bit reluctant as people seem to think it was underpowered and less effective than the SB-N5 which it replaced. Having now used it for a short while I am very please with it. For the type of photography I am using it for (some portraits and general indoor use) it works very and provides excellent results. it would have been nice to have the unit to be able to swivel sideways etc but for me this is not a major issue. Once again Nikon have priced this unit very highly, hence the four stars, but I felt the price from this seller was very fair. The unit is well built, is compact and will easily fit into the smaller camera bag I have for the camera. Delivery was very quick and the whole buying experience very pleasant. Overall a good purchase which helps improve my photography.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
This is a nice little flash gun, but as others have said there are a few minus points.

Price. Its not cheap considering its just a small flashgun. It should be under £100, but as the hot shoe mount is unique, its either this or nothing.

Features. As others have said why cant the flash swivel vertically? A rather obvious point I'd say. Perhaps they are saving this feature for the next version in hopes that we will all buy the replacement. Dream on!
Also, there is no infra red pattern for very low light, so usefulness is further limited.

It is a well made piece of kit, but so it should be at this price. I think Nikon are being rather cynical in their pricing and technical aspects of the 1 series system. There is no reason why the hot shoe shouldnt be a completely standard one, that wouldnt need a £5 cover that falls off regularly.

It is a good system. The V1 takes cracking photos which easily print at 16" x 12" size. Some of the newer lenses are stunning and really good quality. For most uses I can't fault it.

I really hope that Nikon will develop the system more and more and start to get away from some of the gimmicky features.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
read a few reviews as there is this or the SB-N5 flash and wanted to get the right one, having deliberated for some time opted for this one for 2 reasons, first comes in white to match or V1, second had the functionality the other lacks, on a negative point it's annoying it needs separate batteries as I have 3 camera batteries and having taken 600 pics (without a flash) in one night from a 70% charge, still have 50% charge left so using the camera battery would have been preferred. surprised it doesn't have the ability to be either.

The unit is easy to fit and use, once loaded with batteries and switched on the red light comes on to tell you it's ready to flash, it must have a capacitor inside that holds energy as switching it off and then back on the red light is on straight away, great for speed of use, not so good I imagine for battery life

There is a switch on the flash for on and off so that will improve battery life, it does add a little weight to the camera but the pics it can take with the flash on are worth the weight.

It comes with a diffuser plate (clear frosted plastic that clips on just below the flash itself when not in use) there is a very distinct difference in changing the options i.e. direction of flash or diffused, a must have for any Nikon 1 owner!!!

Comes with a handy soft carry bag if you don't have a camera case with segregations.

If this was a <£100 unit it would be better.

Note having only owned the Camera for less than 6 weeks, we are fairly inexperienced in using and menu options, and when the setting s are wrong the pictures it takes are poor, but when right it works fantastic, getting the settings to use the flash takes a few trial and errors as menu options come and go depending on other options selected, I find this slightly odd for a flash as well I would have thought you would be able to enable the flash on any setting other than well no-flash.

Anyhow the more we use this camera the better Images I am expecting to get, for now I am glad I have my standard Canon 5mp camera that has an easy auto mode that takes great pictures all the time, this one is for the budding photographer to be (my wife) we wanted a camera you can add lenses to for those special occasions and truly awe inspiring photo’s
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
Very small; bigger than the SBN5 but it is still tiny so not a problem and it is more powerful which is helpful. Takes its own batteries AA and does not swivel for portrait format. Very easy to use. Too expensive but that is Nikon I suppose -of course it is only for Nikon 1 system so has its limitations but of course it is not easy to use anything else with Nikon 1 - Nikon made sure of that so they could sell plenty of over-priced flash units! In the end you either need this or you don't but it is a good little flash gun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
Versatile flash unit which tilts up for flash bouncing but does not swivel. Good coverage with light easily reaching across a 17' room.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2016
An excellent addition to any compatible Nikon 1 series camera.
I find that used with my V1 it is powerful and flexible enough to provide well-exposed fill-in flash at surprising distances in sunlight even without manual intervention.
It is so small and useful that I keep mine in my camera bag, in case it could improve a photo.
With the wide adaptor supplied it gives full coverage with Nikon's excellent super-wide V1 series zoom lens, even at maximum wide angle (6.7mm).
It is a significant upgrade on its predecessor, the SB-N5.
My only reservation is that it Is compatible ONLY with Nikon 1 series cameras with the specialised hot shoe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
Pro:
Compact but is powered by 2 x AAA batteries so no drain on the camera.

Con:
Tilts but does not swing, though I think this is a minor issue.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2016
Works brilliantly with my Nikon 1 V1. The power is just right for indoor group photography. When it is attached to the camera, extra items appear in the cameras' menu to give extra control over the flash, e.g. for synchro sun. Exposures are perfect. I will leave the diffuser permanently attached to the flash. It uses batteries. I am using rechargeable batteries (not included), and am perfectly happy doing this.
I love the hot shoe system - it means that the camera and flash can interact with each other.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
A surprisingly powerful little flash at is easy to slip into your pocket, no sophisticated features, just on/off and bounce, but it provides additional lighting to give those indoor pictures a sparkle. Don't expect it to floodlight a cathederal. Now at a more realistix price than when first launched. Note only suitable for the Nikon 1 range of cameras especially those without built in flash.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
Typical of Nikon to make this the only choice available to the V1 owner, because of the unique hot shoe. One just has to bite the bullet and pay somewhat over-the-top for this gun.

Having said that its very expensive, it works brilliantly however, and seems to be light on batteries.
So......recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)