Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

  • Tramp
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
21
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 7 February 2012
Sharon Van Etten's third album is a star studded affair. It contains Zach Condon (Beirut) and Aaron Dressner (The National) amongst others. In fact Dressner produces this. Her vocal style is reminiscent of Tanya Donnely at times but its a mainly acoustic and intimate album that shows real promise.

Van Etten's drawling style is given rousing accompaniments here with tracks that build through guitars and a mixture of strings, brass and piano. This feels like it contains a lot of heart. Listen to Ask where she ends by singing 'It hurts too much to laugh about it' to finish the slow build and you know that the effort isn't just in the tunes here. This is a rock album but don't expect large riffs all the time. Its a quieter affair most of the time actually and whilst the rocky Serpents really works it sounds very familiar but new at the same time. There is an attraction to the whole piece that pulls you back in and as a whole it will stay on the play list for some time.

Thoughtfully put together this will make Van Etten a more familiar name than just to her famous friends.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
Bought this after she appeared on Jules Holland. 4 or 5 decent tracks and I have listened to it a few times in case it is a 'creeper', but the rest is rather tedious. Wouldn't rush to buy another one of hers.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
i came across this in the end of year lists and bought it after comparing reviews , , , , , and im so glad i did,so very happy,worth all the misses,to hit something like this.
read the reviews,click,buy,enjoy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2012
Sharon van Etten has been compared to many other recent female singer-songers - Cat Power, Laura Marling, etc. - but I won't have a word of it.

SVE has something, several things, that many of her 'rivals' might lack: a confidence and attitude in her voice and her songwriting (musically, melodically and lyrically), and she has a voice that is different while still being true and un-affected.

For those reasons I'd sooner compare her to the assuredness (if not the style and sound) of Rickie Lee Jones and Joni Mitchell than any of the other current solo women acts I have heard.

Tramp's moody intensity should appeal to fans of Arcade Fire, The National, Jeff Buckley and the like.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2012
Bought the CD on the back of Serpents and although it's not representative of the album I'm so glad I did. Love the stark lyrics on tracks like Kevin's with it's refrain of "Dig your own grave" that sticks in your head long after you've played the track. Melancholia has rarely sounded so good. I can't stop playing the album which reaches a fitting climax with the final 4 songs. Saw SVE live in Cardiff in December including acoustic versions of Give Out and Leonard, that feature on the recently released deluxe edition of Tramp with the band reverting to electric guitars for a visceral Serpents and an utterly compelling rendition of I'm Wrong, replicating the cathedral of sound on the recorded version, ending in reverb.
My favourite track on the album has changed a number of times but is now the emotive All I Can, with it's cut glass vocals.
Music for adults, not felines and an album to treasure.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
New Jersey born, Alt/Rock singer/songwriter Sharon Van Etten, with "Tramp", presents her third full length release.
It's an album that veers from the gutsy to the gentle and understated, with Sharon's smouldering vocals pouring out a raft of emotions, full of passion and regret over past broken relationships.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
In a word, sublime. It grows with every listen, each track beautifully simple and complex at the same time, with melodies that all sound like ageless classics.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2012
First heard her on Jules Holland. Really liked her so bought the album. There are some great tracks, and it gets better with every play. My wifes been playing it in the car and has fallen in love with it too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
What can you say. This is brilliant. It has become my most played CD. It gets better with each listening. An unassuming artist who just happens to have enviable guest musicians. Class.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
Came across Give Out quite by chance and though it was one of the best songs I heard last year.
The album is excellent and would highly recommend
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£9.13

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)