Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
1,089
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 January 2013
I saw this at the cinema today and all i can say is wow ! i love westerns, ilove tarantino films so this sounded like a recipe for a superb film and it was ! Great cast everybody in django were brilliant,great script,violent ,funny,tense and the shoot outs were bloody brilliant! literally!very peckinpah!Also it does show the horrors of slavery,some people will say it's gruesome just so tarantino can exploit it but that's not the case, yes it is gruesome but the people all pay the price for their crimes one way or another.Their are a few cameos aswell including the original django! absolute genius!!If you like westerns and tarantino,treat yourselves you wont be dissapointed!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2016
My Fiance wanted this for his birthday - he really enjoyed this film!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2015
Another terrific film from Tarantino.........A must for all his fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
You have to love that Tarantino style, it would be impolite not to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
Brilliant delivery time, packaging excellent. Super DVD. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
Would highly recommend - holds your attention from start to finish
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
Classic tarantino with a blood thirsty country and western theme.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
After a long time spent admiring 70's B movies and Hong Kong cinema it's nice to see Tarantino return to some outstanding film making.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
Having regained his footing with INGLORIOUS BASTERDS (2009), Quentin Tarantino remains on top form with DJANGO UNCHAINED (2012), which is arguably his most riskiest project for two reasons. One, it's a Western. Ever since the spectacular failure of HEAVEN'S GATE (1980), people began to see the genre as box-office poison and very few Westerns have been made over the past thirty-three years, although there have been some that were successful both critically and commercially like DANCES WITH WOLVES (1990), UNFORGIVEN (1992) and TRUE GRIT (2010), and even though THE ASSASSINATION OF JESSE JAMES BY THE COWARD ROBERT FORD (2007) didn't made an impact at the box-office, it's reputation has improved since it's overlook release.

Second, it takes place during one of the darker moments in American history, the Antebellum era, when there was slavery and how they were treated by others, which explains the controversy this film has got. I'm pretty sure Tarantino didn't want the slavery to have happened, but it did, and film is one of the ways to understand about what occurred in history and the hope that it will never happen again in the future.

While Jamie Foxx does a good job playing Django Freeman, it's the supporting cast who shines. Christoph Waltz won a second Best Supporting Actor for his role as Dr. King Schultz, and he deserved it. In a nice contrast, he plays a good guy as oppose to the villain he played in INGLORIOUS BASTERDS. Leonardo DiCaprio plays a villain for the first time, as 'Monsieur' Calvin J. Candie, and is superb. Anybody who still remembers DiCaprio from TITANIC (1997) should watch this and be impress with his performance as a baddie! Samuel L. Jackson is also very good as Calvin's assistant, Stephen.

As excepted with a Tarantino film, there are some scenes with lengthy talks, but they are not as tedious nor drawn-out like the ones from KILL BILL: VOL. II (2004) and GRINDHOUSE: DEATH PROOF (2007). This film is also violent, but is should be also excepted (it is, after all, rated 18). Among the memorable scenes, the one I liked was the scene where this group of killers complain about how poorly made the the hoods are. I didn't excepted it and found it to be very funny!

To be truthful, the only I thing I didn't like about the film was Tarantino's unfunny cameo appearance towards the end of the movie. It should have been deleted. The next time Tarantino decides to make an appearance in his own movie, it should just be a silent, walk-on bit (a bit like what Sir Alfred Hitchcock did). But it's only a minor gripe in an otherwise brilliant Western and among my favourite films of 2012. A must buy.

Reviewer: Ben David W
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
Found it really enjoyable, good witty dialogue. Nice to see DiCaprio playing something fabulously OTT for once, and Christoph Waltz deserves his Oscar(s). Loved all the little blink and you'll miss them character parts as well. Was I the only one who thought the little maid at the Cleopatra Club was a nod to all Butterfly McQueen's ditzy maid/servant roles? Only slight irk is that I wish they could tighten up the editing. Did he leave in Zoe Bell (girl in the red bandanna) just because he felt bad or something? Clearly there must have been some dropped storyline considering they made a point of closeups twice but then never did anything with it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here