Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
11
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 September 2011
This book had so much potential, the author keeps the plot ticking along, plenty of action, Some interesting ideas which are begun to be explored, and written in a style which is very readable and keeps the page turning. All the basics of a good book you would think. The problem comes with the jingoistic nature the author takes as regards to the US Marines. Don't get me wrong, the marines in the story are supposed to be the central line, but the author gets truly repetitive banging on again and again about how good the us marines are. Some talking about the basis of the star marines would have been cool, and how their history was based in the marines in the US, but every other page is, quite frankly inappropriate in a book which is set well out into the galaxy and earth is more or less irelivant 1000 years in the future.

It got the 3 stars because i think the author has talent if only he could get his head out of how wonderful the US marines are. It was never going to be a book on the level of Ian M Banks, but it would have been very entertaining as a light, high action novel. Cant say i will be buying any of his other books till i forget how irritated i got with this one wasting its potential.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2016
This man seems to be obsessed by the US marines. Ok, it's military science fiction, and He has done a good job of extrapolating current scientific knowledge 1000 years into the future, BUT, the US marines won't be saving our asses. It's like saying the Italian army is based on the Roman legions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2011
Put together with the other two books in this trilogy, it weaves a brilliant scheme of future space warfare. Some of the action is a slightly unbelievable tale, but then this is Sci-Fi after all. The technical detail is very good, I love the trilogy and would recommend it to others.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
The amount of science in this book is rather daunting, and did tend to slow the story down. The characters in this book have good backgrounds to make them real, especially the one I think of as the central character - Garroway.
I am about to start book 2 in this series, so would help that the pace is a little faster. But, I did enjoy book 1.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
This book introduces the characters and the threat to the planet. An enjoyable read and I am looking forward to books 2 and 3 which I have downloaded.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
Not read any of Ian Douglases books before. I found it well written ( couldn't put it down) I'm looking forward to the next book in the series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
Alien abduction turns huge galaxy wide war, a good mix of the human side and epic size space action, looking forward to the next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
If you like a good story and/or if you like Sci-fi, you have got to give this author and these stories a try. Excellent read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2014
Do you want to read about how the glorious US marines bravely invade Muslim worlds to being peace, freedom and the American way to ignorant savages?

If so this book is for you.

Throw in some insulting names – muzzies is one of the more polite, explaining how Islam allows slavery as long as it is white, American slaves, pages explaining about how Islam holds back human civilisation and the Americans are the only people willing to fight in defence of humanity. I can only assume this book was written by someone who believed the correct response to 9/11 was nuking the Middle East.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse