Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
265
4.7 out of 5 stars
Fermat's Last Theorem
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.99


on 10 June 2017
This was a really good read. It flows well and provides a good background surrounding mathematics and its geniuses throughout history. I learnt a lot but none of it was too detailed or sophisticated. If I'm honest I was expecting a bit more skullduggery from the staid world of professors (you know, stealing his work and pretending you did it, that kinda thing) but alas, it was not to be. That's probably why it has not been a Hollywood movie in contrast to something like A Beautiful Mind. Still, an interesting story which was well worth the time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2016
This book is my favourite telling of mathematical history because of its colourful and detailed storytelling. The author captures the readers attention with interesting stories and pictures. There is a great breadth to the contents, as it doesn't just stick to the immediate story surrounding Fermat.

A great feature of the book is the appendix. They cover a great range of interesting mathematics like induction which will be appealing to anyone with an interest in maths.

This is certainly a leisurely read and will be understandable by anyone, even without a maths education.
review imagereview image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2017
This review applies solely to the Kindle edition: excellent book but badly let down by its Kindle implementation where the formulae which are just different text in the paper editon are presented as unreadable graphics. The can viewed at higher resolution but that process is awkward and slow on the paperwhite Kindle. Had to go back to reading my paper copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2017
This makes a very difficult and elaborate piece of higher mathematics understandable. But more importantly, Interesting to the lay reader. I don’t know what professional mathematicians will think, but it is a good read all the way through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
An interesting read, as always by Simon Singh. I would have liked a little more of an insight about how they went about solving Fermat's Last Theorem, as the first third of the book seems to go off on unnecessary tangents about other maths problems, which I feel doesn't really fit. Still a good read though, don't let this put you off.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Could not put it down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
This is an excellent book as many others testify. However, in the Kindle version, the many formulae in the text are so tiny as to be illegible. They seem to be images, not fonts, so they cannot be enlarged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
This is wonderful writing, easy, light and connecting the cast topic of mathematics beautifully. I must say this has the essence of suspense like thriller plot yet being scientific. Great job Simon Singh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2017
A good story, a hapless mathematician finds himself thrust into the limelight. Well worth a read if you like maths.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2017
Great, relaxing reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)