Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 18 October 2017
This doom-laden cheap and nasty production comes from Andrew Jones, who produced and co-wrote it. Jones is a prolific film-maker who has made a name for himself producing micro-budget horrors through North Bank Entertainment; his most successful projects involve demonic doll ‘Robert’, who has starred in three films so far, with more to come. His productions polarise opinions – on the whole, I’ve enjoyed them, with only ‘Silent Night, Bloody Night: The Homecoming’ and ‘The Amityville Asylum’ (both 2013) disappointing. ‘Resurrection’ is one of his first productions, and as such, has mixed results – and it IS nasty.

In common with low-budget projects, the sound levels are erratic. Loud moments are followed with very softly spoken dialogue that is occasionally incoherent. Lee Bane, who stars in many Jones productions, is sadly guiltier of this than anyone, although his indecipherable ruminations are hardly the fault of the actor. He plays Kevin, a member of a fairly dysfunctional family, even without the influence of the current apocalypse.

He’s married to pregnant Jenny (Rose Granger), but seemingly having an affair with her young sister. There’s Mum and Dad too, and a teenage son. The influx of living dead only add to the complications.

One thing that annoyed me about this is that the characters seemingly know that once you are bitten, you become a zombie. This ruling is either forgotten or disregarded adding to the jeopardy, but making the characters inconsistent and seemingly stupid.

Interestingly, however, the ‘normals’ outside pose an even bigger threat. Dad Terry travels alone at night to get help (always inadvisable) and meets a group of these thugs, who have taken the law into their own hands. Rather than run them down, he stops, something that doesn’t him any favours.

This is a mixed bag, really. There are scenes of gore that turn the stomach, and Director James Plumb makes the most of his lack of budget to produce a raw, grainy, unglamorous horror show.

In a a vague homage to the Romero original, the character of Ben (Sule Rimi) seems destined to be the hero of the piece with a knowledge and resolve that would appear to earmark him as a main player. Like the Ben featured in ‘Night of the Living Dead (1968)’, played by Duane Jones, he is also unexpectedly shot and killed when the others mistake him for a zombie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2017
I remember so little and that little is not positive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2017
not that great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2015
The worst zombie film I've ever seen and I've seen quite a lot. The acting is terrible and not believable, the plot is non existent and the special effects are errr 'special' in a bad way. Don't waste your time like myself and many others have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2013
This was another bad amateur effort which should never have used that legendary NOTL title.
This was so unwatchable it reminded me of a few more older bad zombie movies like oasis of the zombies, zombies vs santa claus and zombie 90 extreme pestilense which in my book is still the worst zombie movie ever made but this new NOTL is not far away either.

0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 July 2017
Words almost fail me. The director tries to film artistically with weird low angle shots and strange close ups but it all fails miserably. At one point near the beginning the camera goes completely upside down for no reason which did not make hopeful for the rest of the film. It starts following a guy called Ben as he very very very slowly tries to make his way to get someone. I ended up fast forwarding most of this part because it was so dull. When we finally reach the family the movie is about it just gets worse somehow. The acting is at best, average, the lighting is poor and the zombies themselves do not pose the looming threat that you get in the original zombie movies by Romero. For no reason there are a group of teenagers (very few of whom actually look like teenagers) who are on a violent spree and, although they make a show of it, at no point do you feel like they are a threat, even when they kill someone you can't help but think that in real life they would have had their butts kicked.
No tension. No drama. No excitement. Even for a cheap British movie, this is bad. If you just want a movie to pass the time, or maybe if you're the type who enjoys watching movies and yelling at the screen at all the awful things, this will please you no end. If you are looking for a decent zombie avoid this and go for any of Romeros original zombie movies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 July 2013
OMG, what awful film, I saw this advertised and the cover swayed me to buy it as looked good, the film was absolute disaster from start to finish, this is one film that is going into our Bric & Brac stall, maybe get money back for funds for our sports club...................one of the worst films I had ever seen......................
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2013
I would recommend this for all horror fans, definately not a feel good movie, suitably gory, some unexpected turn of events, and excellent acting for the cast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2014
I think this is the worst Zombie movie I've ever seen and I've seen some bad movies. Don't waste your money
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2013
****EARLY PLOT SPOILER**** (about 10 minutes into film)

The film opens like it is going to be a barn buster. It incorporates some Brit humor. Ben (Sule Rimi) is introduced. The film spends some time building his character. Indeed, he appears to know how to survive a zombie infestation. However, this film isn't about him, but rather a dysfunctional rural family with their own dirty little secrets. Grandpa is ill. On top of their problems, there are blue-eyed zombies and gangs of hoodlums that come late into the film.

I was bored for much of the film. The action was slow for too much of the film, and wasn't that great when it was happening. The actors were not convincing as they delivered poorly written lines.

They should have spent less time at the farm house and developed a decent subplot with the hoodlums, then bring them together. This would have been better than listening to Grandpa prate on about the end times.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, urination. No sex or nudity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)