Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
233
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 December 2012
Each episode was enough to keep me watching, and was mildly amusing, but it didn't find it nearly as funny as when Karl was on his own, as he was in the first two series. The addition of Warwick and the subsequent slight change to format is something which will either make the show better or worse for you. For me, I preferred the show when Karl was on his own. Still a funny show though.
33 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
Pleased with the first two series but this now seems to be struggling. Similar format as before, but Warwick and karl don't seem to gel somehow. Also running time is much shorter than previous two series and so felt a bit cheated. I think this series is hoping to cash in on the popularity of series one and two.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2012
Really enjoyed it - it was different to the others in some ways; it was useful having someone else to measure their experiences against. The Chinese food scene really shows Karl has come a long way from pickled onion monster munch.

Warwick Davies is a fantastic guy - very down to earth and a great performer - some of the stuff he puts up with in pretty extraordinary. Life's Too Short will hopefully mean we see more of him.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
This series was on par if not better than the first two. I originally had concerns about Warwick joining Karl but the arguments between the two are some of the best bits of all three series. The series is shorter than the other two but so much happens in each episode that it makes up for it. If you liked the other two series than you are guaranteed to love this one.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
First two series were quite simply an amusing rambling tale of an underdog with various degrees of conflict when presented with the world at large, depending how much his Highness Gervais poked him with a stick.

In this series however, the petty, cowardly, adolescent bullying tactic & personality flaws are bubbling very near Pilkington's surface. He is faced with a 'stranger' in the form of Warwick. More often than not in these 'events' of series 3, he isn't so much humourous, as mildly offensive & almost perpetually morose. His observations from the past now thinly veil his sarcastic unpleasant streak & his mild-mannered oafishness is giving way to someone with a distinct disregard for others. He seems to lack empathy. Totally. For anything.

As the short series progressed some moments of funny behaviour did occur, mercifully. It would perhaps seem that the sequences have been edited down considerably, as i suspect Pilkington was even less palatable during other shots we don't see. Watching an angry, deluded idiot mock & demean Warwick suggests he forgot to cover his short temper & extremely limited world-view whilst filming this series.

However, the sequences with them dressed as pandas was strangely compelling and amusing.
I will be seeking out more of Warwick, who is a more rounded, interesting human. I will no longer be interested in the Pilkington 'character'. As clearly, he has none.
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
same as everyone else, a lot of mixed feelings. love some of the adventures they do but it just feels to me like they've made it just for extra money, noticed Stephen Merchant isn't running the show with Ricky so I don't know if that has to do with it. Anyway, Karl is funny as per usual and Warwick Davis seems like a nice guy with some agreeable views (and some not) but in the wrong program.
It's not all bad, it is enjoyable and there are some brilliant moments in it.
I didn't think they pushed the whole Marco Polo theme too well, there was only a few moments that described his journey.
Overall, it sadly didn't feel like karl Pilkington does an idiot abroad, more like two people see a few sites.
Just My Opinion though, you might enjoy it more than me
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
With the addition of Warwick Davies to the show, I felt that it might turn Idiot Abroad into a more contrived show than its more organic roots. Apart from a couple of contrived moments the show managed to evolve into something new and fresh without breaking too far away from how it started in the first two series.

Karl seems more comfortable in front of camera. He knows what he wants to do, or not to. He does seem more aware of his whit than usual. Davies seems a pretty genuine character as well. There's some genuinely funny moments too that will have you laughing out loud.

Also, on blue-ray this show looks amazing. The idiot abroad series is by far the best travel show out there right now. Nothing is hidden or covered to making something look good or bad. It is what it is. Thoroughly recommend it!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
The addition of Warwick Davis injected a humour that was different, Karl does manage the trips much better on his own, however Warwick Davis is a joy to watch with Karl, very enjoyable, but shorter in content parden the pun! No Stephen Merchant, limited extras, one disc, it appears to be a rushed edition Ricky you had the winning formula why try a change, I really loved this disc but I still say the previous r3elerases were much better, maybe we are getting use to Karl, keep the trips rolling Ricky, most of these reviews state the lack of the first two, however its a good buy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
I am a huge fan of the previous two series and find Karl pilkington hilarious. I was however really quite disappointed with this series, it just seemed a step too far and had lost it's spark. I wish I had just watched the first two series now and avoided this one completely.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2016
Favourite TV series, very funny & interesting if you don't know who Karl Pilkington is, then you will need to watch this, at first you just think he is a bit of an idiot, then you start to grow sympathy for him & realise how much of a genuine guy he is, sure he is not the smartest, but he is who he is & he doesn't care what other people think. Only reason why I didn't give this 5 stars was because this series only contained 3 episodes, so it is basically a mini series, but still funny nonetheless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)