Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2016
INTRODUCTION:

Emeli Sandé was born Adele Emeli Sandé Gouraguine on 10 March 1987 in Sunderland, Scotland, to a Zambian father and English mother. She was raised in Alford, Aberdeenshire, Scotland with her parents. It is interesting to learn that she decided against using the name Adele Sandé, due to Adele's growing success, so she used her middle name instead. She revealed: "I changed it as soon as Adele came out.” 2011 was Adele’s year, but 2012 belonged to Emeli Sandé. This CD “Our Version of Events” is the Number 1 selling CD in UK for the year 2012. Just like Adele’s 21, this CD also hit #1 numerous times and also stayed near the top for the entire year. She has also won numerous awards, including 2013 Brit Award for Best Female and Best Album. Amazing feat.

Besides a great soulful singer, Emeli is also a songwriter, writing songs for artists, like Susan Boyle (“This Will Be The Year”), Leona Lewis (“Trouble”), Cheryl Lloyd (“Lifetime”), etc. She first became known to the public eye after she featured on the track "Diamond Rings" by the rapper Chipmunk (UK 6/2009). She also hit #1 in UK Pop Chart as Featured Artists (Professor Green’s “Read All About It” (UK 1/2011) and Labrinth’s “Beneath Your Beautiful” (UK 1/2012), featured as bonus track in this CD.

On 27 July 2012, she sang "Abide with Me" at the opening ceremony of the 2012 Summer Olympics, and her song "Heaven" was used to accompany the section with Sir Tim Berners-Lee. NBC also used her song "Wonder" during the credits roll at the end of the tape-delayed ceremony broadcast in the United States. On 12 August 2012, she sang "Read All About It (Part III)" at the closing ceremony, while a video montage of emotional scenes from the games was shown. She also covered a version of John Lennon's "Imagine" exclusively for the BBC, who used it for their end credits montage at the conclusion of their Olympics coverage (this song featured as bonus track). If you were lucky to attend Coldplay concert in Toronto in 2012, you will no doubt be impressed with her performance.

CONTENT:

The entire CD is dynamite, pure pleasure from beginning to end. Her voice is soulful, clear, with lots of feelings. I must also complement the producer who has done an excellent job in remastering the background music, vibrant, clean, crisp, well-defined and tight bass. Great sound supplementing a great voice. (5/5)

The song listing (with position and year) is as follows:
01 Heaven (UK 2/2011)(used in Summer Olympics, 2012)
02 My Kind Of Love (UK 17/2012)
03 Where I Sleep
04 Mountains
05 Clown (UK 4/2012)
06 Daddy (featuring Naughty Boy)(UK 21/2011)
07 Maybe
08 Suitcase
09 Breaking the Law
10 Next To Me (UK 2/2012)
11 River
12 Lifetime
13 Hope
14 Read All About It (Part III)(UK 3/2012)(sang in the closing ceremony, Summer Olympics 2012)
Bonus tracks:
15 Wonder (Naughty Boy, featuring Emeli Sandé)(UK 10/2012)(used at End Credits, Summer Olympics, US)
16 Breaking The Law (alternate version)
17 Easier In Bed
18 Beneath Your Beautiful (Labrinth, featuring Emeli Sandé)(UK 1/2012)
19 Imagine (used at End Credits, Summer Olympics 2012, UK)

FINAL THOUGHTS:

“Our Version of Events” is my favourite CD for 2012. Just like Adele’s “21”, you can listen to it repeatedly and continuously (as I am typing this review), and enjoy it thoroughly every time. I personally recommend that you buy the Special Edition (Deluxe Edition) with 5 great bonus tracks. This set is naturally very highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2017
Only missed the five star because [as many have noticed], I "Have a thing about spelling"! The track, "Beneath Your Beautiful" should be, 'Beneath You're Beautiful'.

Your: Something that belongs to you; You're: Something that 'you are'.
*

Rendition of John Lennon's, "Imagine" IS Beautiful. Lovely last track to a great album; totally out of character to others I have; I bought it specifically for the track, "Next To Me" and unlike some recordings I have bought, it isn't entirely-different from the rest of the album (usually because it is the 'single', from it).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Really good chilled out album to listen to in the car or at home and has all the songs we have come to know and love. Really recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2017
Love, Love, love this. Cannot stop singing ALL the tracks. What a talent. Can't wait for the next album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2017
Emeli has a great voice and this is a fantastic album. I find the songs are a bit samey though. If you know what I mean
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2016
I hadn't realised I'd heard this girl sing before, but as I'd decided to buy her new album I bought this one as well. Then you hear a track that rings a bell; then another, etc. A "good" album...
BUT HER LATEST!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2017
great service very happy with product and cost
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
Wonderful singer giving us a wonderful album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Absolutely excellent CD, love her voice!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2017
Great Cd. Good price, quick service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)