Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 6 September 2015
Great movie, not watched it for sometime, pleased I did
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 July 2014
Bought it to replace my video tape not watched it yet
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 October 2015
Good quality and it is longer than the normal version
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2015
Perfect, both Extended cuts in HD, happy customer =)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2016
Great film! Even better with the extended features!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2014
All good if you like Lord of the Rings which i do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2002
Peter Jackson's adaptation of The Fellowship of the Ring is a very worthy attempt of transferring Tolkien's great epic into film. However, it was certainly going to be impossible for the film to satisfy everyone, especially die-hard Tolkien fans.
In general, I thought that the film captures the essence of Middle Earth in a truly effective way, the cast is exceptionally well picked (except for Viggo Mortensen as Aragorn), and the special effects are mind-blowing (the scene of the battle between the hoards of Mordor and the Last Alliance is awesome). Hats off too for Jackson's depiction of the Black Riders.
I have nonetheless a few complaints about the changes in the plot line. The absence of the Tom Bombadil scenes may be justified in the sense that Bombadil does not add too much to the plot, and it would certainly confuse non-Middle Earth connoisseurs. The swap between Arwen Evenstar and Glorfindel smells of a concession to the big studio producers, and even though it provides Arwen with a higher profile, it will later on make Aragorn's brief dilemma between Arwen and Eowyn simply irrelevant for lack of real contrast between the two.
But most disappointing of all was how Peter Jackson has transformed Aragorn's character from a rugged yet noble descendant of Numenor, who has been patiently waiting for the time for him to fulfil his destiny, into a guilt-ridden shrink-case (not even Elron seems to think much of him!).
I also had the impression that Frodo's quest was a frantic escape from evil; in this sense I missed the times of joy that the hobbits and the rest of the Fellowship enjoyed in Rivendel and Lothlorien, that provided the whole epic with a fuller and more balanced feel. Nevertheless, I understand their omission since they would have made the film far too long.
In any case, the film is a great visual spectacle, directed with just the right tempo and vigour, and consistently well acted - certainly one of the greatest films in the epic / fantasy adventure genre. Even being a critical Tolkien fan didn't stop me from seeing it twice in the cinema....
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2003
Having first read the book I thought I would be one of these sad people who would pick faults with the film for the sake of it. But then I realised that no film adaptation of a book has ever been or ever will be perfect and to criticise the film because it is a film that in some peoples opinions should never have been made would be pathetic. Bearing this in mind I bought the theatrical version of the fellowship when it was first released, my only criticism of which was that it seemed rushed and anyone who hadnt read the book would struggle to understand who everyone was and what their purpose in middle earth was.
Enter The extended version of FOTR and my prayers were answered, the additional 30 minutes expands on the shire, the character of bilbo, who is central to the entire story ( Hey who found the ring in gollums cave in the first place ), and the other subtley included but ingenious additional scenes and extensions to original scenes have made this film a work of complete cinematic perfection.
I could bang on about how beautifully it is filmed and produced and directed and how good the music and costumes and actors are and how genuinely fascinating the hours of additional material is etc etc but you will see all that for yourselves when you stop reading this review and BUY THIS FILM. Oh yeah the argonaths are not bad either and they are currently propping up my ever increasing collection of middle earth books.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2016
Excellent movie, extended version is much better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2014
A magnificent film made even more stunning in HD!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse