Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
46
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
45
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£17.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 September 2017
Awesome antics of my favourite Celebrity, raconteur, after dinner speaker and winner of numerous awards (1968 / 1969)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
the more you listen to it the better it gets - just fab and so much funnier than the tv show
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
Once again the Count is back and up to his tricks. Steve Delaney's creation is up there with the greatest character comedy creations such as Albert Steptoe and Basil Fawlty. Naturally he is an egotistical monster, as the greatest comedy characters often are. Malapropisms aside, he tests the patience of his well meaning circle: cafe owner Gerry, church hall curator Geoffrey, budding thespian and the Count's muse Malcolm, butcher extraordinaire Wilf and many others. Series Six continues the fine playing and razor sharp scripts of previous series and the Count's attempts at organising his own money making tours of Doncaster are among the highlights on these discs. His reaction to seeing what he thinks is a living statue street performer is laugh out loud funny, as are most of the gags that come thick and fast. Similarly the Count's attempt to organise a nude charity calendar, a fishing trip to Spiggy Lakes and trying to bamboozle a time share salesman to get a free gift all make up three hours of hysterical listening. If the forthcoming BBC 2 television series replicates the quality of the radio series, the Count is about to go stellar. These radio episodes can be listened to again and again, and get funnier with each listen. Comedy gold is the only way to describe the Count Arthur Strong experience. In his own words "You couldn't make it up!"
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
At last the 6th series of the Counts radio show. All shows are good especially " a ship in a bottle" the sixth episode. All the usual characters appear. Intrigued to know what his tv showisgoing to be like. If it,s anything like his radio shows then it will be a future classic.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
Steve Delaney is one phenomenally talented comedy actor. Radio 4 is already known for the high quality of its comedy output, but this material is their "Crème de la Crème". Count Arthur Strong (Delaney) is the middle-aged, fumbling, penny-pinching master of the malapropism. The convincing Yorkshire accent and skilfully affected speech impediment are superb - as is Delaney's small pool of supporting actors. This particular style of humour is not everyone's cup of tea, but I find it side-splittingly funny.

There are 6 episodes in a series, each episode being 28 minutes long as the crow flies. It's all recorded before a live audience. Each malapropism is hilarious enough in its own right, and there are literally scores in each episode. But almost as funny again is the Count's desperate flustering to the recall the CORRECT word each time. The delivery and timing of the gags are what make this a true masterpiece of radio comedy. So if you're a fan of malapropisms and verbal screw-ups in general, order your copy without further adieu!

COMMENTS SPECIFIC TO SERIES SIX:
Arthur is as long as the day is round and once sought illegal advice on a delicate mattress. He prefers maps to snot-navs, understands cockney chiming slang and happily assumes the mantelpiece of Gridlock Holmes in crime decontructions. The noble count also enjoys landscraping gardens, believes E = MC Hammer and walks alot because walking is good for the cardigan-vascular system.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
COUNT ARTHUR STRONG SPLITS PEOPLE INTO TWO CAMPS. YOU WILL LOVE HIM OR LOATHE HIM THERE IS NO MIDDLE GROUND.
I KNOW WHICH CAMP I AM IN. YET ANOTHER BRILLIANT SERIES FROM THE FUNNIEST MAN ON RADIO. BUY IT TODAY.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
found everything the count has released to be very funny.think this is his best yet,perfected a winning formula!bring on the tv series!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2017
In 2009, Count Arthur Strong's Radio Show! won the Gold Sony Radio Academy Award in comedy. So with this in mind it is nice to see the RADIO Show Series 6 available. Series 7 was the last on radio, well until the 2014 special. This Series 6 is funny. Better than the TV Series but I still like watching the TV Series 1 and 2. It's a shame the TV Series was not in the same setting as the Radio Series.

I am now awaiting the 2014 and 2015 Christmas specials on CD. Also Series 8 The Scam and Randolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer episodes. Hope to see these as one set with the outtakes and any future episodes. Through It All I've Always Laughed - The Radio Show Pilot was only available via Komedia Entertainment I believe and is a must to hear. Come on and release these as soon as you can to save our achieves for our future generations. The more people who purchase these, the more chance of saving our broadcasting heritage. Also you can listen to them as many times as you like. This is radio comedy at it's best when we can but listen more than once.

And now listen to the mispronunciation of words as Aurthur tries to communicate to people around him. Often even he can't remember correctly the facts and waffles to a conclusion or two to get to the end of the conversation. Baffled listeners of his conversations he leaves behind, often leaving them annoyed or confused and sometimes both. Now sit back and relax to the 7th Radio Series you might or might not have purchased just now.
Here are the immortal words you'll never forget, "And Now on Radio 4..."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 January 2013
Count Arthur Strong is a comic masterpiece by Steve Delaney and his bumbling perceptions and bungled attempts at what should be ordinary situations had me laughing out loud throughout this set of 3 CD's, just as I did with every one of the box sets of Series 1 to 5. The running gags and strong support characters add to the overall good, clean and daft humour of the six complete programmes in this set are an absolute joy. These are by far the funniest comedy albums I have bought since his Series 5,4,3,2 and 1 box sets.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
Another masterpiece. We put it on before bed and he haunts our dreams. We both know it by heart.
Very clever use of language .... and anger.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)