Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 10 April 2017
Well written comprehensive retelling of the Battle of Britain, giving a day by day account with commentary derived from thoughtful refection only really able to be done over the passage of time. This is not a revisionist perspective but an honest retelling using data and interviews collated over a long period of time, to give a better idea of what it was like back then.

Of particular interest to me is the human aspect that is brought forward. The mental pain suffered by all that took part is chillingly retold in a nonjudgmental consequence of the weeks and months of combat both for those in the air and on the ground.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 April 2017
Item exactly as described. Many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2014
Having previously bought the hardback version of this book, when it was first released, in anticipation of the seventieth anniversary of the Battle of Britain, I have now purchased the Kindle version as a reference book for use on my Kindle Fire HD.

Apart from the front cover photograph and those showing the different aircraft that participated in the Battle of Britain, the photographic content of the printed edition has been omitted from the Kindle edition.

This is particularly important, as the inside cover of the printed version describes the book as a "stunningly illustrated account of a defining episode in modern British history."

Consequently as the pictorial content represented a considerable strength in the overall presentation and interest factor of the printed version, I would recommend that those who wish to gain maximum appreciation of this excellent book consider purchasing the printed version.

However those who are satisfied with immersing themselves in the enthralling detail that this book conveys in its texts, without a requirement for pictorial elaboration, will find that the Kindle version will serve their purpose well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 May 2014
A detailed account of the daily - and nightly - battles faced by both pilots and ground crews defending these shores in 1940. While it cannot have been for those involved directly, the opening chapters were a little tedious listing each squadron sent up to defend against various fighters and bombers. But sticking with it you're drawn in to the conflict, and soon marvel at how initially the outnumbered Hurricanes and Spitfires go up against 100's of enemy bombers and their fighter escorts day after day with little rest. While today we look forward to sunshine and fine weather , the crews of fighter command knew fine weather would mean more enemy attacks.
Accounts of pilots being shot down and their terrible injuries illustrate just how the few held back the attacks and threat of invasion.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2010
Fantastic! Absolutely love this book! One of the best books i've ever read! Apart from a very easy to read history of the Battle of Britain that takes you from the build up to the conclusion in a 'Day by Day' history in a very informative and entertaining way, it's also full of photo's, Logbook entries, Pilots personal combat stories, maps, wartime posters, Fighter Aces Like Douglas Bader and Ginger Lacey. ETC. It has separate boxes that tell you about things like how Radar was used, Who the WAAF'S were, Air craft training and production and a whole lot more. I've always wanted a book like this, and it's better than i could have imagined. I've been living and breathing 'The Battle Of Britain' the last couple of weeks and cant talk about anything else. I'ts unputdownable! Just bought 'Fighter Boys', and 'Bomber Boys' from the same author now and cant wait to read them. Thank you Patrick Bishop. But more than that, A great thank you to all those who fought and served in 'The Battle Of Britain' and saved us from the Nazis. I salute you!
22 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2010
On the occasion of the 70th Anniversary of the start of the 'Blitz' - I sat down and read the relevant page in this book by Patrick Bishop. Living not far from Biggin Hill on that day in 1940 and as an 11 year old boy, I can say that the entry is excellent and brings back vivid memories good and bad. I will never forget the sight of hundreds of German aircraft seeming to cover a large section of the sky that afternoon and then when darkness fell, the sky over London was alight from the hundreds of fires burning in the East End - yet clearly visible from 20 miles away. This whole book, in my opinion, faithfully records the events of the Battle for Britain from 10 July until 30 October 1940 and I unreservedly recommend this book to anyone who would like to know 'how it was'.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2014
Statistics can be boring, but these give the daily account of how the safety of this country fluctuated on the knife edge of catastrophe
or survival and show how our leaders and the pilots who followed their plans at whatever cost to managed to rescue the situation
for ultimate victory. Interest is sustained by the insertion of personal accounts of actual air fighting to give reality.This book should be on the library shelves of every secondary school. The appendix which gives the history and the technical details of the aircraft involved
is a useful addition.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2015
Enjoyable and informative read of Battle of Britain, which was one of most important battles in British and World History. The use of chronology: following the battle day to day from July to October, is an excellent way of telling the story. Even so Patrick Bishop's book still leaves plenty of room for analysis of conflict of. The individual biographies of the key personages on both the British and German sids are interesting and helpful. The appendices at the end are very good.

This is first book I've read from this author and will definitely read the other books his written on WW 2.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2011
A superb book at a stupendous price.
Originally, I bought the softback version for a similar price to the present hardback version. I really enjoyed the book very much and gave it to a friend. Then I saw this hardback version advertised and thought I'd like my own copy to keep.
This hardback version has far superior illustrations and diagrams than the softback, is printed on much superior paper and is beautifully bound and I don't know how Amazon can sell at this price!
Snap one up while they have some left!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2015
An excellent account of those fraught days in the early part of the last war. The detail is extraordinary and brings to life for the modern day reader the whole climate leading up to and throughout the Battle of Britain - the emotions, bravery, extreme tiredness and the increasingly fragile supporting infrastructure in Fighter Command which almost broke under the onslaught of the Luftwaffe. A must read for all interested in that episode of British history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)