Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2013
I have looked for a dash cam camera for some time and have been confused by the claims and wide variation in prices. In the end I liked the look of this one and took the plunge. What a good decision!! I wanted a camera that gave me a good usable picture, wide angle view and easy to use. This does all of this. It takes up to a 32gb sd card which allows oodles of recording time, is easy to view images and move images. It also has audio which could be a boon in any resulting arguements after an accident. The controls are easy after you have practiced a little. The audio like the video automatically switches on when you start your car, which is good, but if you wish it is simple to turn off for that journey.
For the money I think you would be hard pressed to come up with anything better and I am really pleased.
11 Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
So, like everybody looking into buying one of these, i wanted a reliable camera that had quality good enough to show should i be involved in an accident, witness one, or generally just see something where you would think, "I wish i had that on video".

The major factors i was looking for were;

Cycled recording - Not having to keep formating the card each time it was filled.
Good video quality - i'm not needing 1080P here, but so long as you can see what's going on with relatively good detail.
Reliability - work as intended with very little upkeep.

Basically, i was looking for the easiest/laziest method of keeping track of my journeys.

After owning this for a week, i have the following points;

It's quite cheaply made; but for £16, what do you expect? That said, there's no squeeks or rattles when driving, it's purely the buttons/clips that seem a bit cheap.

Video - The quality is good. Not good enough to see car number plates (unless sat behind in traffic). It would certainly be good enough to prove who was at fault.
Night mode - not great at all. It's barely visible unless you're in a well lit area.

Audio - Terrible. Mine has a constant high pitched digital 'warble' throughout. It also seems to be extremely sensitive as any noises are distorted and rough when listening back. This doesn't faze me much as i'm not bothered about the audio aspect of it.

Ease of use / Menu - Not great, but not terrible. I was able to work out how most of it works, but there are a few things i've not managed to change (the date for example, the menu states the up/down buttons change this, but i haven't had any success with that..

Generally, i'm impressed. there's a few areas that could be better, but for £16 - i'm very happy with my purchase. It was simple to set up; the mount is great ( i don't fear it falling at all). The 12v cable is approximately 3m so i was able to feed it up above the windscreen, down the side of the door frame and under the dash.
Unfortunately, my 12v charger is powered meaning even if the ignition is off, the battery powers the camera (i'm in a VW Golf). After looking into it, you can hard wire this into your cars fuse box, but i've opted to just unplugging/plugging each time i'm in the car.

To summarise:

Good quality camera. Fairly easy to use and seems reliable. Sound is poor as is the night mode. Well worth purchasing if you're looking for a cheap way to record your journeys.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
Great piece of entry level dash cam camera, although it stopped working after 3 days after I lent it to a friend - Not sure what he did with it to break it though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
Bought this to record journey to south of france .... spot on. Starts recording when u switch on ignition ... stops when u turn ignition off. Picture quality pretty good although sound a bit poor. Great device for the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
Quality of the picture is very good. Instruction manual is basic but adequate to set up the device. There is no website mentioned for any additional support. The screen mount adheres to the windscreen very well but does not have a quick release so you have to leave it on the windscreen or unscrew it from the mount to remove. I selected the audio off in the menu so that it just records video without audio but found that whenever the device re starts its reverts to audio on again which I'm sure was not the original intention and a bit frustrating. Also have mine mounted top of the windscreen behind the rear view mirror on a BMW 320, and the radio antenna must be buried in the mirror mount or nearby and so suffers some interference on the radio reception when the device is on. However all in all I would recommend the device... Works very well for the price and has 10 hrs of recording time on a 16GB SD card.
22 Comments| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
This fun dash-cam isn't going to record your next Spielberg movie, but it is fun and works remarkably well. The screen allows easy set up, and the up/down keys let you zoom in and out if you want. I feel the non-zoomed screen is best, but could still be slightly less zoomed. Screen is clear to setup, and can be tucked away for driving. The camera starts recording as soon as it is switched on. It is battery powered and comes with a cigar lighter charger and incredibly long charging cable. The unit has a USB connector that can be used to charge the cam on a PC. Transfer of the movies to a PC can be done using a USB cable - but the transfer rate is very poor. Even viewing the movies on a PC directly from the device is painful. But slipping out the SD Card, and placing in a half decent reader resolves these issues.

My cam came with no instructions, which added to the sense of fun when exploring how to use. Without a manual it took all of 5 minute to set it up, set the clock, choose different options and attach it to the windscreen. The windscreen sticky thing is particularly impressive - as it stays stuck to the windscreen, unlike the one I got with the TomTom One. But then this cam is so light it hardly puts any strain on the holder. The windscreen sucker thing has a little rubbery tab on it that makes it simple to detach from the windscreen.

Without the manual there are a few features I don't quite understand. One is night-mode - which always seems to be on, and seems to make no difference, another is the movie size - HD seems to make massive movies of the same quality at the SVGA movies. The QVGA (small) are surprising good.. And the other is using the screen to view movies. But I'll get there, and not too bopthered if I don't.

Quality is good enough to read the number plates of vehicles, and actually the picture quality, viewing the movies using VLC player, is very impressive. And not just from a device this cheap. Some people would happily spend 10-20 times this price and get a similar quality picture (and an instruction manual probably).

Great fun. Switch on. Forget.

Recommended.
22 Comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
The video quality is not good enough to read number plates and the user guide is really bad. However, what do you want for £25? It does the job but if you want this for your truck, forget it, you need a sloping windscreen to attach this to. The device is fairly easy to use once you get used to the idea that the user guide will not help much. The sound recording on this device is utterly a waste of time. It is really low quality and completely un- usable. Have a nice time using the device though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
does what it says on the box and that's all I wanted it to do , don't want to do remake of Ben Hur so ideal for purpose
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
Cannot resist tech products. This was exactly as described and workeg straight out of the box. I have been fed up with the mayhem on our roads and was determined to try and capture some of the incidents I see and to protect my interests.
Delivery was excellent as was packaging.

Would use this supplier again
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
Great piece of kit. Easy to set up, basically just plug and go. Focus a little out and can,t make out number plates but just shout out number and it is recorded. All in all, a great little piece of kit.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)