Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
20
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I recall being devastated when Manchester United was relegated in the 70's, a sign of an aging team that had lost their way and a far cry from the European Cup victory of 1968. But under the management of Tommy Docherty they bounced back and got to two FA Cup finals' losing one and winning the other. New players were brought in to deliver the flair demanded by the fans and I remember with joy what an exciting team they were to watch and there were some great players pulling on the red jersey at that time.

This is the story of one of them, Brian Greenhoff, a highly versatile and professional player, at his best when in central defence partnership with the excellent Martin Buchan where he brought the ball out to drive the play forward. His brother Jimmy was eventually also brought in as a striker, so this was (I think) the first instance of two brothers playing at United. More of that later.

So this is `Brian's tale' from joining United as a teenager and seeing through a number of managers before falling foul of the dubious management of Dave Sexton and then moving on. It also covers his England career. It is a known fact that after a falling out with his brother post United, they have not spoken for 20 years. It is said that this relates to their joint managership of Rochdale and while this did sow the seed, it was actually a wedding invite (or lack of) that was the final straw.

Brian comes over as a stand-up guy and a grafter with stacks of personal integrity and expectations of similar behaviour from those he deals with. It was lack of character from those he dealt with that had him falling out with Sexton and his brother.

So this is a tale of football in the 70's when it was not the big money game it is now and when you left the big clubs you had to find ways of earning the money to feed your family. In today's cash rich game, it is hard to imagine a footballer that spent 10 years at a big club not having sufficient banked to not have to work.

I remember the team with great fondness and it was good to find that one of the players turned out to be as nice a guy as you hoped he was.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
The Tommy Docherty team of the mid 70s was a throwback to an earlier, happier footballing age. Key to its success was a policy of all-out attack with one of the centre-half ready and willing to break forward given any excuse. The plan was tailor-made for Brian Greenhoff who carved out a niche as a footballing defender winning England caps and Wembley glory.
Yet as one of a famous pair of footballing brothers his relationship with sibling Jimmy has broken down since a disastrous spell when they co-managed Rochdale FC. They haven't spoken for over two decades and it may seem silly that the pair fell out but it's not that unusual.
An interesting antidote to the mundane biog, this is a must for anyone who can remember football as it should be.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
Brian Greenhoff was a fantastic player for Man Utd, and one half of a fine defensive partnership. "Greenhoff" tells his story, growing up in a footballing family to play for the club his hero played for, representing them with distinction too. There is a fascinating look at his close bond with Tommy Docherty, and the contrast to that with his poor relationship with Dave Sexton, as well as a part that talks about a trip to South Africa during Apartheid that I had no idea about. Brian's place in supporters hearts was clear when he won their player of the year award in his breakthrough year, and the affection he is held in in present day is also clear by the number of people who supplied kind words. I highly recommend this autobiography, a really great story of one of United's most loved players of the 1970s.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
I love reading about Manchester United of the past and how players experienced the day to day life of a footballer. It was different then, the players put up with must more than society would allow them to today. This is the perfect book for the Manchester United fan that wants to know more about the years that Sir Alex Ferguson did not guide the club. Brian Greenhoff is one of the most under-rated players to put on the famous red shirt. You need to buy this book and understand his journey in an out of the club. He was one of the last youth products brought through the club by Sir Matt Busby.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2013
Brian Greenhoff's book gives an interesting perception on his career at Manchester United. He tells it like it was, and how he has nothing but praise for his former manager, Tommy Docherty. He goes into great detail about life at United both during and after the Doc, and his eventual move to Leeds United. Though he might not be one of the more celebrated names of the Doc's United, his story is as good as any that's ever been told of that era. Highly Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
This book is a splendid journey into the life and and times of Brian Greenhoff, who played for England, Manchester United and Leeds. He was one of the last young players brought in during Sir Matt's time, and is widely regarded as one of MUFC's finest defenders.

Right from the days when young players cleaned the boots of of the first team players, when MUFC's fan support was the best by a country mile, and not even a relegation changed that, to winning the FA Cup in 1977, the fall-out with Dave Sexton, his times at Leeds, playing for his country, his relationship with his brother Jimmy Greenhoff and life after retirement - Brian has documented it all in a compelling read that is this book.

But this is not just the story of Brian's life. The way this book has been written, it is also a chronicle of Manchester United Football Club through the 70s. Being a young Manchester United fan who has a keen interest in our past, this was the best source of knowledge I could ever come across about the 70's - an era of the club which isn't documented as well as Sir Matt's or Sir Alex's era.

That makes a part of the reason why I'd recommend this book to every Manchester United fan - young or old. The other part - Brian was a legend who loved our club and loved playing for it. More people, specially the younger supporters, need to know about such players. One just had to read his twitter bio to tell what Manchester United meant to him. (It reads "Proud to have played for the best club in the world"). I'm very glad I read the book, and I loved it to bits. Was overwhelmed by the time I finished it. I'm just 19 and Brian passed away earlier this year. I really wish I could have seen him play. May your soul rest in peace, Brian.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
I was eager to buy this book as Tommy Docs team of the 70s are my favourite Manchester United side, they may not have won all the trophies of the present United squad but they played with such pace and style it was hard not to love them.I had many faves from that era but the Greenhoff's always stood out to me, so to hear Brian's account of his days at UTD it was always a must buy,the book draws you in from the start with forewords by Tommy Docherty and Sammy Mcilroy,Brian begins by telling us about his Barnsley roots and then becoming one of the last Busby babes before making his debut in 1973.He had many ups and downs at UTD relegation a cup final defeat to Southampton in 76 and a cup final victory in 77 against Liverpool, he speaks very highly of his time at UTD under the Doc, but after the Doc left Brian struggled with the new manager Dave Sexton and moved on to Leeds, which was a move he soon regretted.Brian also talks of his time at Rochdale and playing on a rebel tour to South Africa, all of which are very interesting.What really makes this book stand out is Brian's honesty, it certainly hasn't all been plain sailing since he stopped playing football, but he leaves no stone unturned telling for the first time his fall out with his brother Jimmy and the fact they haven't spoken for around twenty years,so if your interested in a players tale from the 70s and 80s this book is worth every penny.Well done Brian and for what its worth i hope Jimmy makes that call to you soon. LEE.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
One of the most honest and open autobiographies I have read.A real step back in time to a place where Manchester United were not the top dogs,were relegated but came back up playing some of the most exciting, attacking football of the time.Brian's story takes us from his childhood, being in Jimmy's shadow as his elder brother started his football career and played with the great Leeds team of the day and then joining him as a professional footballer before they both ended up in the same F A Cup winning side when they defeated treble chasing Liverpool in 1977.
Great behind the scenes stories from Old Trafford and the reason he and his brother fell out and no longer talk.If you remember the 70s when football was a man's game and players did not enjoy the celebrity lifestyle or wages of today then this is a riveting good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
I love reading about ex players from the 70's, although not a really successful era, the football was brilliant with some really exciting players. One I really like was Brian Greenhoff, a great player and a great guy. This is a such an honest story of his life from the early days when he lived in Barnsley, joining United as a youngster, his delight on winning an FA Cup medal in 1977, his struggles after leaving United and the fall out with his brother Jimmy. A fantastic read which proves what a down to earth guy he is. A must read for all United fans... So sad to hear of his passing away at 60 years old
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
Bought as a Christmas present for my Son, who is an ardent Manchester United Fan of long standing.

He is very pleased with the book. I was very pleased with the Price, availability, and the fact that it was despatched quickly, and received before Christmas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)