Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
22
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.48
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 April 2007
[...]Garry was a hard-hitting pundit - but as an author he is many more things - witty - sexy and ENTERTAINING.
This novel is a classic of its kind.
I heard the author on LBC Bookclub with Jamie O`Keefe - Garry Jackson WITH Steve Allen - and it was an education as well as entertaining and thought-provoking,
The 4 of them are the New Wave of British crime writing and I suggest that film-makers like Guy Ritchie & Nick Love make them an offer.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2007
The former TV and now award-winning radio presenter has done it again - he has delivered the goods.

This is a brilliant insight into the London Underworld and ranks alongside Till Death Us Do Part by Garry Jackson and Father 4 Justice by Dean Ronson as one of the great crime novels of the decade...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2010
I bought this as the Face wasn't a bad read.This however is a book of 2 halves,not to mention a load of spelling mistakes. The first half dealing with gangsters isn't bad,but when he tries to write about Irish terrorism,his prejudices come thru.
He portrays a loyalist not as a sectarian gangster,but as a decent bloke who 'has to fight for his freedom on a daily basis',good grief.Republicans do deals with Al-queda and run paedophile rings,surprised he didn't give them horns n pointy tails. He may know about London gangsters but fails miserably on Irish politics and accents.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
The second book in the Harry Tyler series rolls along at the same pace as the first but just seemed to lack a little of the shine. Maybe it was the absence of johnny too or another get your teeth into villain character, the Nelson's were ok but the whole episode seemed to be started and over and done with really quickly and far too simply, plus I'm not sure I liked the ending. Overall though Harry Tyler stayed true to his character and as such was as believable as he was in the first book, and once again I've got to take my hat off to Gary Bushell for keeping me entertained. I'm now heading back to the kindle store for "Face Down" the third book in this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2007
Wow. This is a fantastic page turner spanning three decades of London crime. Two-Faced is a better novel than The Face (and I enjoyed that too). Sex-Drugs-Armed Robbery-Spies and sparkling banter are all to be found in spades in this great book. From the moment I started page one I knew this was going to be the business, and there is no dead wood. The central character Harry Tyler is big enough to carry any novel of this genre, or film for that matter. The minor characters all have their part to play, and are skilfully written. Although it must be said some of the violence is not for the faint hearted. Each chapter is utterly compelling, the characterisation is crisp and three-dimensional and the dialogue rings true. Garry Bushell has definitely done his homework. His name should be up there with Jake Arnott, Martina Cole and Mickey Spillane. I cannot recommend Two-Faced enough, it's the best piece of pulp fiction I've ever read. Buy it now - and pray the third part is out soon!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
Slow moving book, jumps around a lot didn't enjoy this book half as much as the first in the series. Now weather to read the next one
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2007
Garry Bushell is from South London. Garry Johnson is an Eastender and Jamie o` Keefe is an Essex Boy - but all three have one thing in common - they can write about crime.

The three are the best in the business when it comes to the gangster genre.

Two-Faced is on a par with `Till DEATH Us Do Part` and all the works of Mr O` Keefe.

My dream is that one day all three will get together and write a blockbuster screenplay...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2007
A book for chavs and fans of plastic gangsters. This is more Eastenders the soap opera than Lock Stock.

Garry Bushell was a good TV critic but is not an author.

He might know about drama, comedy and stand-up comics...but knows nothing about the underworld.

This book was a big let down.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2007
Garry Bushell has the midas touch - this is a modern day classic.

A gangster novel with more class that the Royal Family.

Mr Bushell is to crime writing what Wayne Rooney is to football.

I want this book to be a film...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2007
This is Jackie Collins for the Male Generation.

A book that has more laughs and sex scenes then a suburban swingers party.

Mr Bushell is more than just a pretty face and TV Columnist - he can also tell a good yarn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse