Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2015
I liked the case in this one, I got quite caught up in it; the book just seemed so long at times. It was nice to rediscover the budding romance between Room and Heat and I'm sure I'll be back with book four at some point soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2017
Good fun even without the TV series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2016
A very good read - equally as good as the first Nikki Heat novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 October 2011
Patterson , writing under the name of Richard Castle is without doubt his usual master of mystery, humour intruigue and this the third castle novel (not counting the graphic version) is so good. The constant to/fro between Nikki and Rook( as he is known in the books) is great, Personal lives cross over into the world of criminal detection in all "cast" members, This one sees Nikk disgraced and cast out with no-one to help other than Rook - we all know it will work out all right in the end - - er, won't it? But this is the best Castle BOOK yet. I thoroughly enjoy the TV series, but it is a great read too. Do buy this one, its really better to read than watch (my personal opinion). Heat Rises (Nikki Heat 3)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2011
If you love the show, these books are a must read. They're almost exactly what you'd imagine Richard Castel writing, and quite well written to boot (unsurprising, as they're written by a famous crime writer - we're just not told who). They're not as thick as I would have imagined, but still great storylines and interesting plots.

This one is my favourite so far; the plot is more complex, and there's more action, too.

Warning: theses books are definitely not PG!
44 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
Book 3, in the Nikki Heat series

This series is as entertaining as the TV show "Castle", one of my weaknesses is that I am a huge fan of both. All three books have been a wonderful read, whoever the real author may be (Richard Castle is a character), he is one that has a knack with words. With his graceful prose he knows how to produce a page-turner that has endless boundaries.

"Heat Wave" is a fun romp through the world of imagination. It pairs the tough and sexy NYPD Homicide Detective Nikki Heat with hotshot reporter Jameson Rook in the most dangerous case so far. It opens with the bizarre murder of a parish priest in a New York bondage club. Through the investigation the book takes us deep into the world of sex and bondage and everything related.

As usual Nikki's case becomes even larger than first expected. The writing creatively sends your mind on one red herring after another adding plenty of intrigue and flavor to the story. At one point, clues direct the investigation back to home base were Nikki finds herself caught in the middle creating shock waves for all. Nikki really shows her skills while doing all the legwork from facing down the brass at headquarters to saving her own skin.

The plot is quick paced and entertaining there is enough going on to keep boredom at bay and your mind spinning while trying to speculate what is going to happened next. This is not a complicated mystery but is fun to read perhaps the best one yet.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The third book in the Nikki Heat series finds the NYPD detective called to the scene of a murder at a bondage club. The victim is naked with no ID, but Nikki and her team soon learn the victim was a parish priest. Was he hiding a secret life?

While that's a logical leap to make, Nikki soon suspects that something much larger and darker is at play in this case. A second murder makes this case very personal. As the stakes for Nikki keep mounting, can she uncover the truth?

I've read and enjoyed all these books that tie into the TV show Castle, but this is my favorite to date. Lots of things are pulled in from the show, from twists to little throw away bits. Heck, they even make a reference to Rook looking like Nathan Fillion's character in Firefly. The humor seems stronger for much of the book. And the plot was non-stop action. As always, the author tells us a bit too much instead of showing us, but overall it is a very fun book.

So if you enjoy the TV show, be sure to check out this book. You'll find yourself hooked on these clever tie ins in no time at all.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
Loved this book, my only critism is that the author repeatedly referred to the main character as Nikki Heat when "Nikki" or "detective Heat" would have been surfice.

Like I said, Nikki Heat is a detective who is on a case to find the murderer of a murdered priest. The priest is found bound by handcuffs at a sex joint which leads the detective into a interesting case with lots of "twists".

Nikki is up for promotion and she begins to have a turbulent relationship with her boss whose recently become secretative and acting out of sorts. He is found dead, alledged suicide but Nikki believes he was murdered and when she kicks up about her boss having a state funeral, somebody leaks her outburst to the local press and Nikki is suspended. She is in a relationship with Rook who is journalist investigator and the leaked article is sent from his laptop to the press.

Whilst suspended, Nikki and Rook continue the investigation whereby Nikki is attacked by military trained assisins in which she kills one and discovers that the gang are drug barons, finds a load of money in the priests home and not to spoil the reading for others, Nikki ends up solving the murder which is very nail biting and interesting. Such a good book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
This has more twists that spagetti!! It is not until the very end you discover who the guilty are and boy was that a shock and a half!!

There is a lot going on in this book so it helps if you read it with as few breaks as possible or you may forget important bits. It, along with the follow-up ""Frozen" Heat" are the best 2 books in the series so far, as they flow superbly and keep you turning the pages, following Nikki's adventures. The interaction between Nikki and Jameson is more nautral than in the first book and that helps to keep you reading but their's is not an easy relationship and has a lot of ups and down but these dont seem contrived to suit the plot more as natural events in any relationship.

What happens in this book is not what happens in the series so you can safely read the books without following the series but saying that, I cant help connecting book characters to the tv characters and finding similarities.
I dont normally read thrillers, but romantica, so these books are fresh ground for me but still a great read that will have you desparate to get to the end to find the guilty.

Enjoy!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
The books can be read separately to the show but if you know the show you will recognise where some of the story comes from. I have enjoyed reading the books and watching the show and can see the characters of Kate Beckett and Richard Castle within the characters of Nikki Heat and Jamieson Rook and this just adds to the enjoyment of the book, and also the show when they mention something about the books in the show.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here