Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 16 September 2014
Extremely happy with this product. I last had a Garmin about 10 years ago and it was awful but decided to try this after the mixed reviews of the Tom Toms. Box includes 12v to USB lead for the car and, unlike the replacement nuvi 52, a USB cable for connection to your computer.

Decided to plug it in, download the software and let it update. No problems whatsoever, nice and fast and the software was self-explanatory.

Installation of the windscreen sucker was very easy and stayed put unlike my really old Tom Tom. On bootup it was quick to identify the satellites and took a minute to lock on to where I was. This was within seconds on subsequent occasions. The widescreen is really nice particularly on motorways where it shows images for which lane to be in to the right while keeping the map to the left, something I find very useful. You have a number of options to how detailed you want the maps and the screen and, if you like customising, you can download extra voice packs.

Never had a problem with it's route guidance, sometimes it decides to take a different route from my old one but it gets there quicker which is great. The added use of the speed limit on most roads is also quite handy.

All-in-all, very impressed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
Useless, as gets me round the bends. The product is out dated with maps. I was not aware that one has to update with in first three months of buying. Otherwise you have to pay ridiculous amount to updates. Will Amazon arranged refund still in a box. Do not buy this as it not fit for purpose.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
Great big screen and very fast loading. Also very reliable and looks great. Highly recommend x
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2014
excellent value.easy start my old navman was a bit dated so I went for a change. excellent so far and still getting used to it. great for travel to Europe and malta. like all gps's I don't think you can follow them blindly all the time .touch screen too. would buy again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2016
Great value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
Been and used it twice up to now
Solid little thing
Works how it should
Would recommend to a friend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
Esay to use
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
large enough to see,.clear voice and quiet between directions..also warning sound when my speed exceeds limit! A real confidence booster.
11 Comment| 99 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
I moved to a new area and I wouldn't be without it. Would recommend to anyone and simple to use.
0Comment| 98 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There are some newer Garmin's out in the entry range, but the price on the Nuvi 50 is hard to beat right now.
It's not the most feature packed GPS you will ever buy, but it gets the job done for modest outlay. I bought this for a friend who just wanted an affordable GPS and didn't need the advanced bits the higher priced models have.

While the usual Garmin interface is the same across the range, there are some differences in the models. As with all Garmin Sat Nav's you get the window mount and car charger included, you don't get a home charger (Garmin do a travel kit that includes this) but you can charge the device with a wall charger that has a "mini" USB port (not micro) there are plug chargers (or even power banks) available that can do USB charging, all you need is a mini USB lead. I rarely home charge the device
Quick summary of the good and bad points.

Pros:
+ Decent 5" touchscreen, fairly clear and bright.
+ Bang per buck is good on the Nuvi 50 it's a pretty good deal
+ Simple and easy to use
+ It does have speed camera alerts
+ Has a micro SD slot so can be upgraded with larger map areas
+ Street name and postal code search, as well as GPS coordinates
+ Points of interest database (shops, hotels, fuel stations, local attractions etc)
+ Has the lane assist dual screen display (handy for motorway driving)

Cons:
- No traffic trends, this isn't a massive downer but some Garmins use historical data for traffic (time of day etc) , and will avoid heavy congestion roads. This model doesn't have that option
- There is no "eco route" option either this allowed you to pick the most fuel efficient route
- Not compatible with the FM traffic updates, even if you have the cable for it, the Nuvi 50 doesn't support it
- No bluetooth (useful for hands free phone calls)
- No journey trip planner (this can be useful for longer extended multi waypoint trips)

You get most of the core basic features you might need, minus the above limitations. No world clock or currency converter, but few would need these extras. But you can save a home location and mark locations in the favourites section.

Navigation works well most of the time, do take a look at the Garmin express software, this can update the firmware of the GPS and Garmin have been improving it over time.

Only real reservation on this unit is you don't get the lifetime maps updates (on the UK and ROI version), if you are a frequent traveller that could be an issue. It's possible to buy that from Garmin as an add on but usually works out cheaper to buy it on the GPS model at the time of purchase. Go for the Western Europe lifetime maps version if you feel you might want updated maps.

The 5" display is larger than some of the super budget Sat Navs, performance is good overall though none I've used are perfect (either tom tom or garmin!)

If you want a decent low cost Sat Nav and don't need any fancy extras this is one of the better ones out there.
44 Comments| 219 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 193 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)