Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
13
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£21.95

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 December 2012
The Puritans looked into the scriptures with both great academic and practical insights. We can do no better than consult them and listen to their teachings out of the Bible. With this volume Joel Beeke and Mark Jones have provided us with a very thorough, detailed and well written book. Topics covered include Puritan teaching on The Trinity, Communion with God, Providence, Angels, Demons, Sin, the Covenants, Christology, the Offices of Christ, the Holy Spirit, Justification, Christian Sabbath and much more- (60 chapters in all!)
This book is extremely easy to read but very thought provoking. The Puritans, who understood the Scriptures so well and applied them to their lives so thoroughly, are brought to us in a clear and practical manner. The chapters are well researched with relevant sources quoted and extra notes at the end of each chapter. Since I purchased it i can't put it down! A must for anyone who loves the Puritans and wants to have a comprehensive overview of their teachings or as a great introduction to the teachings of the Puritans. Now one of my top 7 Christian books!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
This is a marvellous introduction to Puritan theology. To acheive this is no mean feat of history as well as theology.surveying 150 years of outstanding teaching. The authors demonstrate a remarkable grasp of their subject and write with a clarity which stimulates the reader and carries him along with enthusiasm. Not only does it provide answers to many questions, it sets the reader off to research some the great giants of Puritan theology for himself.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
Written by some of the greatest men gathered together in one place. It is eminenltly readable and filled with gems of love. Here we see God in power from creation to the new creation. We see the glories of the universe applied to our own lives. It is well worth the cost.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
A great, great book. Well worth buying. If you love the Puritans you will love this. These people know God. If you are hungry for a true connection to God you will love this. Get away from the modern gospel preached in most of the churches today. Run for your lives and read a book like this. Your eyes will be opened. Your spirits will sing. This book teaches you the truth. The authors have done a wonderful job. There are over a thousand pages, comprising 8 major sections, 60 chapters, a huge index and thorough works referenced list. I quote from one of the many learned, scholarly, professors recommending this book: "This massive volume ...provides the reader with a comprehensive introduction to Puritan thought. It is a notable work....This book will interest a wide audience....At the same time, it shows the modern reader that in Puritan theology rational activity is embedded in a scripturally deep spiritual receptivity that we rarely find in modern theology. Indeed, Puritan theology is doctrine for life!"
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2016
Absolutely marvellous! I am amazed to read the views of our spiritual, Puritan forbears, and the doctrinal perspectives, garnered, no doubt at considerable cost in time, concentrated effort and discussion. These men stood tall among the great, historical figures of the Reformed faith; they live and breath a refreshing breeze that might, by God's grace, dispel the cobwebs spun, alas, by that ever so godly soul, John Wesley. I am an old man(75), witnessed the first stirrings of the Banner of Truth, and can even recollect a group of Free Presbyterian worthies, fresh from the Lewis revival, sitting in a large, wooden hut in Saltcoats, faces all-aglow from being touched by the Holy Spirit, as they proclaimed the age-old truths to a gathering that included one skinny, bedraggled teenager in the rearmost row. How they stimulated me to read and re-read the works of the Puritans as they poured off the presses! My family is of Covenanting descent, and I can relate tales, from the killing Times, through which these, and their English counterparts lived as they exhaled the precious words of my redeemer. More, Mr. Beeke! Please provide us with more and yet more of the same, or similar ilk.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
A Puritan Theology : Doctrine for Life - a book to savour, to digest and to take a long time reading, life is worth finding out about
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
This is one of the best books I have read on this subject. It has a superb section on "Theology in Practice" including "The Puritans on Walking Godly in the Home", "Matthew Henry on a Practical Method of Daily Prayer", "The Puritan Practice of Meditation", "The Puritans on Conscience" and "Practical Lessons from Puritan Theology Today". This excellent volume written by Joel Beeke and Mark Jones must be their magnum opus. This is not a difficult read, but it is difficult to put it down. I would highly recommend Chapel Library's "Read A Puritan Theology:Doctrine For Life" in a Year. (Approx. 5 pages per day, 5 days per week). Most helpful.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
Awesome book with some great insights into Puritan theology. Highly recommend this book to those who are studying theology and the very keen lay person
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
A thorough and extremely comprehensive look at Puritan theology. Very well written ,with deep understanding of how vital Puritan doctrine is today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
Outstanding though not cheap.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)