Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

  • Now
  • Customer reviews



on 15 June 2017
superb!
A nice spin on old classics Dionne's voice seems better than ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2017
I bought it for my uncle. He's very happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2017
If you really want to hear Dionne at her best- go listen to the original recordings. This album of recordings only exposes the ravages of time on Dionne's voice as she struggles to reach the notes. It truly is a sad painful listen. Whoever thought this project was a good idea was a fool. I have been a massive fan for over 50 years and have seen Dionne in concert many times. I now refuse to pay to see her live as her voice it totally shot. It really is sad when artists continue to record and perform when they are clearly struggling. Paul McCartney, Rod Stewart, Aretha, Diana Ross, Chaka Khan, Smokey Robinson and Tony Bennett all fall into the that category. They should retire gracefully. Tom Jones and Shirley Bassey are the only two who still sound great in their 70s. Avoid this album completely
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2012
Elegant and stylish. It is true, no one needs another re-recording. But this is really an exception. The recordings are perfect. And the selection of songs is not the usual. There are two rare pearls "Be aware" & "J just have to breathe" (wonderful new recordings). And I love the new songs. Especially "99 Miles from LA" & "Love is still the answer". I hope that next new album will be in this style... - with new songs!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2015
This is a a very good album. The reworkings of some of her old stuff on here are a bit off the mark and could have been better. It feels like she got a bit complacent. However it's classy and the few new tracks are great especially the much promoted 'Is There Anybody Out There'. Well worth it if you like laid back smokey pop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 October 2014
Bought this because I've always enjoyed Dionne's voice and her interpretations of Bacharach & Davids songs are some of the best. That said I could have done without another remake of I Say A Little Prayer!!! Here comes the CD player programming function again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2012
Bought this CD as I loved Dionne Warwick in her hayday, I remembered all the songs on the CD but they were sung in diffrent arrangments, so not what I expected.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2012
A new Dionne Warwick album is always something to celebrate but how many more re-recordings of the old Bacharach/David hits does a fan need? It would have been a much more interesting prospect to have some of today's hot young writers create some new material for Ms. Warwick to celebrate her 50th year as a recording artist.

Production values are high but the voice has dropped and her relaxed style could now be described as "throwaway".

It's an OK addition to my vast collection of DW recordings but, to be honest, I don't think I'll be playing this CD very much in the future ... unlike the old Arista albums, where her voice was majestic and she was truly at her peak.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2013
Always been a big fan of Dionne since the 60s. Although the voice is not the same these are great new recordings of some classic Bacarach and David songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2012
A fabulous CD produced by Phil Ramone of some of Dionne's great Burt Bachahrach and Hal David songs (beautifully updated) and some new ones. The CD to celebrate Dionne's 50th year in the music business. There is something about her voice which is unique and whatever song she records is instantly appealing. I give it 5 stars!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Best Of
£8.99
The Collection
£4.99
Heartbreaker
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)