Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 9 March 2016
As always Amazon mixes reviews of different versions. I have a previous "deluxe" double version with some Nico tracks and some singles plus the mono and stereo mixes. The new 45 year anniversary double "deluxe" version which I just bought has the stereo version, some rehearsals, and some versions of an early acetate. Interesting to hear once maybe but the rehearsals are bootleg quality part formed songs and the acetate tracks are scratchy. So you'll not listen twice.

Stick to the earlier version, it even has a peelable banana and the new version's sleeve splits when you try get the booklet out.

The main album itself is, it goes without saying, fabulous on all versions.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2015
The original release is indeed one of the most important in rock, ever. We have heard about other vinyl records resulting in nearly everyone starting a band, and this here is the real deal in that department. And you know what - it does not sound outdated at all! In fact, the rock circus has gone full circle a few times in the department of how a rock album should be, and have always returned here, like it was a fountain of youth. And it's a good point: it's every bit as important as The Beatles' "Rubber Soul", say, or early releases by The Rolling Stones, Chuck Berry, Elvis Presley, The Everly Brothers, James Brown, Aretha Franklin, Led Zep, and a sea full of other great bands/artists. While very few bought this on its first release, it has been stated that everyone who got one wanted to start a band - and many did. Now, I for one am still looking for that first vinyl issue with a pristine peelable banana for a dime (the one I nearly bought had cost a mere $200), but here is something to hold on to and cherish while you are hunting. You get remastered stereo and mono versions, straight from the original source, and it sounds clearer to my ears than the previous releases on cd - which they should, of course. You get additional versions of the songs, from rehearsals and a live disc, and then you get - for free! - Nico's "Chelsea Girl", too! Now having had it for a while, like with a few other remastered items, I find that cd's aren't that fun really, and would have wanted the vinyl version of the collection. But there you go - you can't sell your car just to get the best rock album in the world - or can you?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 50 REVIEWERon 21 September 2013
Included in the National Recording Registry of the Library of Congress in 2006, voted number 13 in Rolling Stones Magazine's `Greatest albums of all time' and widely regarded as responsible for inspiring the `Punk' and `New Wave' movements of the 1970s and 1980s, the Velvet Underground's notorious 1967 album (mostly recorded in April 1966) was way ahead of its time. If you're new to this music in the 21st century, however, it doesn't usually impress on first listening and might take time for you to appreciate how good it really is.

Conceived musically by John Cale and thematically by Lou Reed, the album is a musical tour de force. The whole recording project reportedly cost only US$1,500 (financed by Andy Warhol) and it shows in the rough production values. John Cale threw away the rule book and utilised unconventional tunings - including tuning all the strings of his viola to the same note - to effect a discordant, repetitive and nihilistic feel. Sterling Morrison and Maureen Tucker back-up Cale's experimental melodies with a rock-solid rhythm section.

Lou Reed's song lyrics focus on the street life of then-contemporary New York City and showcase heroin addiction, BDSM, prostitution and the shallow preoccupations of the prevailing cultural milieu, a perfect match for the music. Both Reed and German chanteuse Nico have flat voices devoid of emotion, which also suits the musical style and gives the album its unique character.

These songs still retain their power, and despite yourself you may soon find the hypnotic and powerful `Waiting for the Man', `Heroin' and `Tomorrow's Parties' replay in your head (to name just three - all the songs with possibly a couple of exceptions are good).

Iconic, influential and important, this album never seems to age - unlike almost all other musical output from the same period. You can buy several re-issues including boxed sets and `deluxe editions' with extra tracks. Most important is that you make sure the original mono recording is part of the package: it's more visceral and raw than the post-production `stereo' versions.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2016
The debut and best Velvet Underground. Produced by Andy Warhol (who also designed the cover), the album features the full original band, Lou Reed, Mo Tucker, John Cale and Sterling Morrison, together with guest singer Nico. The songs on the album are very varied in terms of style. From the mellow Sunday Morning and I'll be your mirror, through to the full on I'm waiting for my man and Venus in furs, this album is an absolute classic and a must have for any music fan. I've listened to it many times over the last 30 years and never tire of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 June 2017
I hadn't listened to this since i was a lot younger than I am now. A total blast from the past and as influential as it ever was.
One of those few albums that I like every track on it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2015
Many years ago I bought a t-shirt with this album cover on - little realising it even was an album - I just liked the t-shirt. When I found out, I thought I might as well try the album. I got it on cassette, and loved it, and now I've replaced the cassette with a CD after not listening to it for perhaps 20 years. I actually think the album's a bit hit and miss, but the good stuff is superb.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2015
all music is down to ones taste but for any one who appreciates music for the progression as a art form this album is outstanding it belongs there with the the beatles sargent peppers album and pink floyds dark side of the moon. I first discovered the velvet underground in the mid seventies after being greatly influenced by david bowie iam now in my fifties (my god where did the years go) but this album will always stay close to my heart for the memories of my youth
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2014
For the most part stunningly essential and wildly diverse and innovative, virtually every track could warrant a review. "Heroin" is one of the best examples of wilful excess with an electric violin. The three Nico tracks are all commendable. "All Tomorrow's Parties" is wonderfully spooky and a precursor of the impressively dirgy nature of Nico's best solo material (albeit this is written by Lou Reed). Arguably, "European Son" is too excessive (like other Velvet Underground closing tracks) but this is a minor blemish on an otherwise essential record.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 May 2013
Well, if your reading this you almost certainly own a copy of this album in some form, if you don't where have you been?
This is the most important album ever and there have been hundreds of reviews, so wont add to them.
enough to say it influenced everyone from David Bowie to REM and thousands of others.
well what you get here is the ultimate collection, some rare tracks lots of live stuff and the factory rehearsals, some good some not
so good, but always interesting. If your a big fan just buy it, because some day you may not be able to find it (like i missed out on the "What goes on " box set)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2015
Almost 50 years old and still making a statement about Drug Abuse , Prostitution , and S & M , one of the classics from the 60s ,and with the Iconic simplicity of Andy Warhols Banana , Although Nico was not one of the favourites of the other band members , I think she adds a little something special and she was one of the most beautiful models of the 60s and a big favourite of Warhols who actually produced this magical album .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Velvet Underground
£8.99
Loaded (Remastered)
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)