Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
105
4.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 12 January 2013
Written by Michael Bright with a foreward by David Attenborough this is a beautifully designed and organised book to accompany the superb TV series. The images are astonishingly stunning and cover the world's greatest wilderness with its incredible array of wildlife. The sharpness of the animal life is captured from close-up, almost touchable, photographs, to aerial shots including the astounding scenery. I bought this book to complement the BBC series as I have become so engrossed by the magnificent pictorial content and lulled by the narrator's voice that I felt the need to find out more of the five regions that will be covered (Kalahari, Savannah, Congo, Cape and Sahara). This is where the text by Michael Bright is so forthright and explanatory in elaborating the characteristics of each installment. His descriptions are rich in factual information.

Ideal for reading before or after each of the televised episodes but also a book that can stand alone as a guide to the mysteries of this great continent. Also included are chapters on the future, behind the scenes technical difficulties and how shots were achieved and a discover Africa addition. Highly recommended to anyone interested in the 'Africa' series or, indeed, Africa itself.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
We all have an image of what we expect from another book about African wildlife - sweeping savannahs, aerial shots of trains of wildebeest running into trouble with lions and crocodiles and tales of cute lion cubs. But while the broad sweep is certainly covered in a nicely-paced narrative, this book also offers an intimate and unexpected perspective that reveals how much of this vast continent we have never taken the trouble to get to know.

The text is supported by some truly beautiful photography throughout, capturing some incredible detail, which makes this weighty tome very hard to put down.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
I love the series to date & decided to buy the book for more details. I expected stunning photos & wasn't disappointed in any way. The text is just about right without it becoming "heavy". So, as a book, it is well worth buying, especially at half the RRP. But the real surprise was the ability to use a free downloaded App called QuercusEye. This allows you to hold your iphone, ipod or android device above a selection of photos in the book & hey presto, your device will launch a short video of the animal(s) in the photo.
It's worth buying this as a fabulous, colouful & informative book alone, but add in the inter- activity from the App & you have a delightful product that you'll return to time & again.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 11 September 2013
Years ago I was quite green when it came to the world outside my own country almost to the point of ignorance. I used to think Africa was just some big hot place with lots of sand, no water, lions, zebras, giraffes and elephants. Over the years my knowledge has expanded and so to has my thirst for knowledge of these far away countries, that I am unlikely to ever visit and it is books such as these that help in that hunger to learn more.

BBC Africa is a wonderful companion book to the TV series of the same name and it can act as a great source of reference to this great continent. My knowledge of Africa has expanded over the years, but there was still a lot that this book had to offer me. You are taken on a tour of the desserts, plains, lush rain forests, snow covered mountains and even the surrounding seas. The book is filled with high quality full page images with side notes. A narrative that is both informative and captivating will have you marveling at how some of the African species survive.

There is a foreword by Sir David Attenborough and each chapter has a small map to show you the region being covered. Additionally there is a chapter that takes you behind the scenes. The final chapter shows you sections of a map of Africa with help on where to go and what to see, should you be fortunate enough to visit.

As I usually advise on these kind of books; don't overlook the market place. Books like these tend to be only read once and some real bargains can be picked up for good quality second hand books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 July 2013
This a large, beautiful book, filled with stunning photography of animals and landscapes across Africa . The photography team did a really wonderful, patient job to obtain these images, and there is a facinating chapter towards the end of the book which decribes how they went about their work.

If you enjoyed the TV series, you will find this a great accompaniment. If you missed the series you will find much to amaze you, especially as images in the book turn into video when you hover your phone over them.

A beautiful book indeed, produced on high quality paper, and lovely to have to read, to keep on the coffee table and dip in and out of, or even to watch using your phone.

Fabulous
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
Africa : eye to eye with the unknown- has been written to accompany the BBC series of the same name narrated by David Attenborough. I read it alongside watching the series and found both truly fascinating and awe inspiring. Interspersed with wonderful and unique photos the book gives great hope for the future of African flora and fauna and it is very exciting to read about the extra-ordinary lengths that people are going to to preserve, re-population and support animals in their natural environments. To read about the destruction of the Gorungola area due to 20 years civil war in Mozambique was shocking and many, too many people would have thrown up their hands in despair. Instead a team of dedicated conservationists have worked tirelessly with local people to restore and repopulate the huge area which is rapidly re-emerging as the jewel in the crown of Mozambique.

There are so many wonderful stories in this book. The greening of the edges of the Sahara, the restoration of rainforest from ranching, the creation of green pathways enabling wildlife to travel safely from one area to another without risking being caught by poachers close to roads are just three reasons for hope for the future. In today's climate of huge anxiety about the future of our planet this book and series does much to restore hope.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
A superb book that accompanies the TV series. The photographs are majestic, ranging from intimate close ups to sweeping panoramic landscapes.
The reader is taken on a safari through this great continent and the text in each chapter is a delight to read. The book follows closely the TV series, but there is extra information that enhances the reading experience.
It covers subjects that are well known from previous documentaries and also breaks new ground. It will appeal to armchair naturalists, intrepid travellers and anyone with a thirst for exquisite photography.
It is good enough to grace ant coffee table or personal library. Treat yourself and buy this outstandingly good book - you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
I love David Attenbrough books and DVD's. I ordered this for my fiancé for Christmas, it arrived in good time and it is a very beautiful book. The photo's are fantastic. I have ordered the DVD about Africa which goes with the book and should be receiving it soon can't wait.I watched the series on the TV but if you are into nature dvd's you will always watch them more than once.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed the TV series and the book lives up to expectations. Brilliant photography and well presented as always
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
I bought this book as a gift for my elderly parents after they (and I) had enjoyed the superb Africa series on the television. Their delight when they received the book was limitless. The size, content and quality of this book exceeded all expectations. A great permanent reminder of a series that they enjoyed so much. Being of a generation where they prefer to have a print copy to a DVD it was a super surprise for them. Added to this was the superb value which Amazon offered as its opening price making it a definite winner. I highly recommend it to anyone who loves wildlife or appreciates high quality photographic productions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse