Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
57
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 May 2017
The wonderful Al Jolson.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2007
Well, this is a wonderful release. Most importantly, the sound is digitized from the original Vitaphone disc (not from inferior recordings from the 30's). The picture is nicely preserved and it is fun to watch Jolson sing again during the synchronized scenes.

The Vitaphone shorts included in the discset are examples of early sound but are musical performances from mostly nondescript perfomers and are more oddities than entertaining. Two important exceptions: 1.) the short, "Lambchops," with a young George Burns and Gracie Allen in fine form; and 2.) Jolson in "Plantation Act" singing some of his standards.

A truly welcome release. Hopefully other Jolson films, like "Singing Fool," will be released.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2007
I bought this DVD a few weeks ago and I am delighted with my purchase. OK, the main feature is probably not the best film I have ever seen, but it is a milestone in movie history. The "Jazz Singer" is not a full talkie, but the first ever movie to feature some dialogues and songs. - Anyway, this DVD edition is a delight for any serious movie collector or film buff. It contains a carefully restored print of the "Jazz Singer" (including the German-dubbed version)and is crammed with great special features. Those features include a fantastic feature-length documentary about the advent of sound, a 1936 Technicolor cartoon which pokes a fun at the the Jazz Singer, a 1937 Technicolor short with Hollywood stars at the horse races (featuring Al Jolson and Ruby Keeler). Furthermore, there are several vintage shorts about the advent of talkies and trailers of several other Al Jolson movies. - I really wish for more DVD Edition like this one! How about a similar packaged special DVD-Edition about the first colour movie "Becky Sharp" (1935)
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2011
This is a superb film for any serious student of cinema to add to their collection. It is proclaimed as the first talking picture, Well, Yes! and No! The film was issued in that preliminary stage of giving the usual silent film treatment with sub titles etc. and also with the added bonus patches giving sound ! If you are not already familar with this film then a warning the sound parts are Jolson delivering his famous routines. I like them. However, it is not everyones cup of tea. Especially the scenes where he 'blacks up'. In todays society this will not go down well.I happen to agree with that. However, we have to view this film as a sign of its time, so therefore, I forgive it. It is a well produced film from the Warner Brother Stable. There are many extras to this edition which have been mentiond by other reviewers that make this edition the one to own for any serious movie buff.
Also, from an historical perspective the scenes involving the cantorial singing are both moving and worth buying the film alone IMHO.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2008
It is apparent that in the UK Warners have only issued a 2 disc set.So can i just say that you are best advised to buy the 3 disc set from Amazon in America.In my view it is one of the best DVD sets i have ever purchased.You get the film,associated shorts,and nearly 4 hours of Vitaphone shorts.The Vitaphone shorts are themselves worthy of the price alone.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
I have bought this for my Dad as he is a huge Al Jolson fan, found it quiet difficult to get, so glad when I found it on Amazon, arrived promptly, thank you
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2015
Beautiful movie with a mix of silent movie and talking picture. Beautiful storyline and characters and a heart warming story. A must see.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2009
This movie was a giant leap for the movie world, a great musical triumph for al jolson pathing the way for 80 years of musicals. I loved this movie because of the combination of the silent era and the exciting new sound technical marvel.It shows just how this was achieved in the documentury. This is a must for all movie buffs. You wont be dissapointed.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
Hesitating between silent movie and claiming to be the first spoken movie. Anyway, a pristine hd-restoration of this first (?) talkie. Yet one star less for the uv copy, not accessible at the continent.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
Good film ., not as expected because some parts they are not talking ., however great for a film buffs collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)