Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
55
4.7 out of 5 stars
Platform: Xbox 360|Edition: Collectors Edition|Change
Price:£6.85 - £149.98


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 March 2013
So far, so good. The game is visually brilliant and gameplay has been keeping me on the edge of my seat. It's nice to see Lara looking like a real person.

The collectors edition items are ok. The figure isn't greatly made (one of the interchangeable hands doesn't fit) she doesn't stand unassisted and it just seems like a bit of a rushed job.
Art book is always a nice edition so this doesn't disappoint.

Overall a great game so far but wouldn't have been the end of the world if I hadn't bought the Collectors Edition.
33 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
they could have given us a bit more for the money (wouldn't it always?). It would have been nice to have had the 'Iron On Patches' (!?) and the Lithograph from the US collectors edition, and maybe the additional 'Tomb' map and perk DLC's that were available to 'other' in-store pre-orders. That said, I AM a greedy little games monkey, and the figure of Lara IS fantastic. Very accurate and larger than expected and the same can be said about the 'Survival Tin'...In the photo I thought it looked like the size and shape of one of those dust topped Whisky Bottle tins that you see behind the ciggie counter at the supermarket, but nooo, I hadn't factored in the fact that everything else was IN THE TIN!, the plastic entombed Lara figure, the double sided island map/Lara poster and the 'art book' (which is nice but hardly 'Coffee Table' leave outable.

The what..Oh, yeah, the game itself! This arrives in the above 'survival tin' in an oversized game box, which contains the game and manual, Live code for the Hitman Gun Pack 1 (multiplayer), and a code to download ten tracks from the games Official Sound Track. Probably the weirdest thing is the 4" x 6" waterproof 'Survival Pouch' I won't go into detail...it's a waterproof pouch on a lanyard. Strange.

Gameplay: Thus far the Single Player is bostin (Eloquent West Midlands/Black Country term meaning 'Absolutely Fantastic'!). Rather detached from the games of the original TR series, I found that instead of staring at Laras rather unfeasable Bosom and Bum, I developed an empathy with new somewhat naive Lara. A great game that I am so far enjoying and looking forward to giving some more gametime, both SP Story and getting to use Agent 47's Silverballers in the Multi Player.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
The Game: Great revival having been a TR fan since the first release in the 90’s, always preferred the PC versions over console, as always felt better control over movement & actions, but this version does it all and more. Happy with the xbox version controls slick and aligned with other 1st persons games.
Graphics excellent terrain and people well engineered, defiantly see why its rated 18 & lot more visual detail when you’ve messed up. Having played certain war games over the last years it’s nice to be given a challenge to work and use the environment I’m in, only complaint multiple chest shots at close range normally puts the bad guy down and single head shot stops them permanent.
The Package: Big tin, nice detail does not say game box on it, Map poster ok, Pouch ok, Art book excellent still captures from the intro videos and character profiles.
Lara figurine detail 100 %, movement pose able 100%, equipment 100% & spare hands to swap for different weapons, a great detailed figurine well worth the extra, having bought other games with collector figures that where static pose this one now takes pride of place safe from medaling hands.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
This new reboot of Tomb Radier may be disappointing any absolute Tomb Radier purists, but to me it is a welcome change from the stagnant rigidity that the series had become in recent years - The formula, and Lara herself, was showing its age.
This game should not, however, disappoint many other gamers at all.

The gameplay maybe somewhat similar to Uncharted, but I don't count this as an issue at all. There can be no doubting the influence Tomb Raider had on Uncharted in the first place, and in fact I remember asking myself while playing though Uncharted 2 "Why isn't Nathan Drake Lara Croft?" - Uncharted seemed to build on what Tomb Raider did and make it a much more prominent experience, while the Tomb Radier franchise itself was about ready to keel over.

So now, things have come full circle. Uncharted might have shown how a modern Tomb Radier could be done (albeit with a Nathan and not a Lara), but Crystal Dynamics have, I believe, vastly improved upon the Uncharted style and incorporated a fresh, new and much needed injection of life and ideas.
Lara herself is much more believable. She is a younger and more innocent character, that evolves into the survivalist who we know. Crystal Dynamics have shown this in some intelligent and subtle ways: She really feels her injuries, the look on the characters face is usually of wide open nervousness and fear, she doesn't stand proud - She feels the cold and wet and she even looks nieve holding a gun. Animation is fluid, reactive and believable. No more cartwheeling away from machine guns or handstands over cliffs. Instead, gritty scrambles and shaky feet showcase a character outside of her comfort zone, learning as she goes, as unsure about what's around the corner as the player.
These are small examples of the characterisation, but I wanted to explain some of the great subtle touches that form to create a much more involving, emotionally drawing and engaging character. Don't get me wrong, I am a fan of the Tomb Raider franchise as a whole, but I much prefer the approach. The Lara of yesteryear was a deliberately over-sexualised gaming icon. In this reboot, she is more refined. More intelligence has gone into her design and Crystal Dynamics have shown (Finally and thankfully) that for a player to engage with a character in games, you don't need big breasts and skimpy shorts. Basically put, this Lara is of much, much better ilk.

The game looks fabulous. Even breathtaking, at times. From gritty underground caverns, to wide open areas with waterfalls and trees - The island is a beautiful but dangerous place to be. The gameplay is strong and enjoyable, combat is far, far superior to 'light' feel of Uncharted, and the use of the word 'visceral' is justified for this game. The wealth of animation helps the silent takedowns or long range arrow shots to feel smooth and fluid - which mixed with the impact of the combat makes for a incredibly satisfying gaming experience.

The locations almost verge on an open world experience. Locations are of varying sizes, some incredibly vast. Mainly locations are signified by a campfire, but all the areas you have just come through are available to run back to seamlessly, with no loading involved. This is essential, as there are several challenges, treasures, equipment or salvage (used to upgrade your weapons) in every area. And one big point note here is that it won't be long before after all the running around, looking for items you'll sit back and think "it really is feeling like Tomb Raider game, just a better one"

So, for newcomers or old fans, I really see no logical reason why this should disappoint. In fact, it should revitalise. I have yet to complete it, but I've seen more than enough to know that this an incredibly enjoyable and immersive game, in fact I haven't enjoyed a game quite this much since Dishonored.

A stellar effort from Cystal Dynamics, and in my opinion it trumps Uncharted on its gameplay values - An impressive task.

The awe of the setting, the emotion of the character, the flow of the combat = This is Tomb Raider, done better.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
You know what? I don't regret the Collector's Edition in the slightest and I even paid £70 for it!

In a nutshell it'd be easy for me to say if you like Uncharted you'll like this and I'd even go as far to say that the origin of Lara Croft is the Uncharted of the Xbox world. The game features cinematic style set-pieces you've come to love from games as the line between games and films becomes somewhat blurred. The story is dark and interesting whilst not complicating itself aside from the obvious character develop that shows Lara become the survivor we all know and love her for. Pacing throughout the game is spot on, never are you left feeling as though you'd like more arena shootouts or more set-pieces or less exploring.

As for multiplayer I've not played around too much on it however it's nothing particularly ground-breaking. I've enjoyed what I have played of it but it's the general modes you've come to expect: "Deathmatch", "Team Deathmatch", especially if you're familiar with the Online modes Uncharted offers.

The contents bundled with the collectors edition are great. They're well made and interesting (for example the included book featuring art work). I'll admit that I expected the figure to be more of a statue but I think that's down to my stupidity. Instead you're getting a figure with moveable arms and legs that comes with interchangeable parts.

One "bad thing" (for want of a better phrase) would have to be the optional tombs.... there should be more! Seriously though, I think these tombs are the areas in the game that split people's views as some gamers will disagree that the actual "tombs" in Tomb Raider are optional and should in fact be compulsory.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
This game is definitely a contender for Game of the Year, or at least it would be if titles such as GTA 5 and Arkham Origins weren't slated for later in the year. The combat is fluid and fun, although the weapon selection is fairly limited. Gone are the days of Lara dual wielding pistols (until the final moments of the final battle, perhaps hinting at their return in a sequel?) but the addition of a bow and arrow as the first weapon you get is a great choice. In fact, as you upgrade it, the bow will become almost the only weapon you need.

The story line is pretty good, with the supernatural aspects being kept to a minimum throughout the actual gameplay - no dinosaurs or giant animals etcs Just a great survival story.

The overall package is pretty good - the posable figure of Lara is well detailed, with the assorted weapons available to aid posing. However, there's nothing much to do with it, except pose it once and then display it.

As a collector of collector's editions, I went with this after considering the compromise between the reasonable price, and the actual haul from the collectors edition. Things like the Dead Island: Riptide Zombie Bait edition have a more WOW factor with the statue of a dismembered torso, but then it was £90. Hence why I say there was a tradeoff for this Tomb Raider edition. The price is good, the added features acceptable.

Unless you're a collector, I wouldn't bother forking out the extra cash for the collectors edition. I am, so I did. The game itself though, is a must buy. Get it, and you won't regret it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
the game is good but short Lara falls alot in the game gets very annoying the figure of Lara is poor i moved her arm and it broke off i spoke to the makers and they just ignored me so i got this and a broke figure
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
At full price, I might not have been so generous with the score but at the sale price amazon were selling this at it was very much worth the money. The game itself is easily a 5/5. Genuinely a solid, fun and engaging experience. Very high production values and very well paced, which is an issue a lot of modern games struggle with.
The Contents of the Collector's Edition are excellent at the reduced price but probably wouldn't have been worth the price at full price. The figurine is gorgeous. Very nice sculpt, highly detailed and comes with a nice array of items. As others have mentioned, it does prove difficult to get it to free-stand but that's a minor issue. The presentation of the box itself is very nice. The tin is of good quality and larger than expected. The art book is fairly standard fair the rest of the contents feel like promotional tat. Not a bad thing but it doesn't set the world of fire in the same way something like the Bioshock 2 CE did.

Overall a pretty good set at the reduced price. The game itself is quite excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
I found this re-boot of Tomb Raider to be reminiscent of playing the very first Tomb Raider game. I wasn't quite sure of what was going to happen next. Unlike similar games of this type, there wasn't the immediate start to shoot down a number of enemies. Starting the game, I felt very much like I was trying to survive 'Bear Gyrlls-stlye', as I was lighting torches up making sure the fire wasn't put out with water, finding a place to camp and hunting deer with a bow and arrow.

The multiplayer side of the game is okay. It isn't great but it's there, and if you can find a game then it provides a modicum of replay value.

I have uploaded images of the Collectors Edition of this game, which in itself is a decent offering including a highly moveable figurine of the main character, Lara Croft.

Recommended.
review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
This has to be one of the best games I've played in a long time. The storyline is deep and engrossing and the gameplay is tight. In previous Tomb Raider games, the player was frequently presented with puzzles which were quite tedious and required a lot of pushing and pulling of blocks in order to solve. Now, all of that is gone. The game has mainly action and small puzzles which are actually quite enjoyable. If you're a fan of the Uncharted series of games ,then this is the game for you! It feels like a step up from Uncharted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)