Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Price:£16.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2013
These Real Gone box sets manage to kill two birds with one stone - in that they present the "Jazz Record/CD Collector" with the opportunity of filling gaps which have been left in their collections ; and they provide the "Newcomer" with a perfect introduction to just about every Jazzman under the sun -and all at a very modest outlay.
With this collection of Milt Jackson LP's you get real value for money - eight "classic" albums on four CD's. Bags is absolutely in his element - swinging like the clappers - and so far removed from the MJQ-type repertoir as to be light years away! He is presented in all kinds of settings - from a quartet comprising all his MJQ sidekicks but with Horace Silver in the piano chair (who is about as far removed from John Lewis as it's possible to get!), to line-ups with variously assorted saxmen (to include : Cannonball Adderley, Lucky Thompson, Billy Mitchell,Coleman Hawkins,Benny Golson, and not least John Coltrane - to name but a few!). There is likewise a great selection of pianists accompanying Milt and his men (to include the aforementioned Silver,Hank Jones,Tommy Flanagan, and - believe it or not- a very "jazzy" Ray Charles).This is 1950's jazz fare at it very best and is a fascinating presentation of the more unusual side of Milt Jackson's artistry and is warmly recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This 4 CD set by Milt Jackson contains the
"Eight Classic Albums" of the titles.
It has 46 tracks which have been digitally remastered.

The `Classic albums include
"Milt Jackson Quartet (1955)",
"Plenty, Plenty Soul (1957)",
"Jackson'sville (1956)",
"Soul Brothers (with Ray Charles)(1958)",
"Bean Bag's (with Coleman Hawkins)(1959)",
"Bag's Opus (1959)",
"Bags And Trane (1960)" and
"Soul Meeting (with Ray Charles)(1961)"
The Real Gone Jazz label has garnered some really good reviews for sound quality.
The digitally enhanced sound is a good indicator but for a proper review I really suggest you read other, more knowledgeable people's reviews.
The collection is on 4 CDs encased in a double wide jewel case.

But Amazon, at the time of review have not given a list of the classic albums or the track listings.

So this may be of interest and use?
As always if you see any typos add a note and I will correct and credit you with the correction- just add a comment......

Track List:
[Disc 1]
Milt Jackson Quartet
1. Wonder Why
2. My Funny Valentine
3. Moonray
4. The Nearness Of You
5. Stone-Wall
6. I Should Care
Plenty, Plenty Soul
7. Plenty, Plenty Soul
8. Boogity Boogity
9. Heartstrings
10. Sermonette
11. The Spirit-Feel
12. Ignunt Oil
13. Blues At Twilight

[Disc 2]
1. Now's The Time
2. In A Sentimental Mood/Mood Indigo/Azure
3. Minor Conception
4. Soul In 3/4
Soul Brothers
(with Ray Charles)
5. Soul Brothers
6. How Long Blues
7. Cosmic Ray
8. Blue Funk
9. Bag's Guitar Blues
10. Deed I Do

[Disc 3]
Bean Bag's
(with Coleman Hawkins)
1. Close Your Eyes
2. Stuffy
3. Don't Take Your Love From Me
4. Get Happy
5. Sandra's Blues
6. Indian Blues
Bag's Opus
7. Whisper Not
8. I Remember Clifford
9. Thinking Of You
10. Blues For Diahann
11. Afternoon In Paris
12. Ill Wind

[Disc 4]
Bags & Trane
1. Bags & Trane
2. Three Little Words
3. The Night We Called It A Day
4. Be-Bop
5. The Late Late Blues
Soul Meeting
(with Ray Charles)
6. Hallelujah, I Love Her So
7. Blue Genius
8. X-Ray Blues
9. Soul Meeting
10. Love On My Mind
11. Bags Of Blues
12. South Cave Man Blues in the Glen.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
this is well worth the money ,just what a Jazz collector needs in his library would look at more of his works
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
great package 8discs on 4 cds brilliant artiste very relaxing music excellent buy try it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
Good value and very good music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
This is a really choice selection of vintage J.J.Johnson and it is a bargain at the price. I missed these.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)