Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 March 2017
There's something oddly compelling about watching the first series of The Following, even though at times it's truly disgusting (lots of sound effects of knives squelching into bodies, lots of foul things done to those bodies before or after death) there's always a sense that our heroes are going to be fine - that you know there are more episodes to come so they must make it out again to fight another day.

I've seen reviews suggesting that it's all just a way to make Kevin Bacon run around in the dark shooting people and I have to admit that they make a solid point. But squelching and bleeding aside, the concept is compelling - the idea that a man locked up as a serial killer could set up a 'following' of acolytes ready to kill (others or themselves) at a moment's notice, is chilling and even though it seems ridiculous written down like that, I'm willing to suspend disbelief in the name of entertainment.

Kevin Bacon is oddly excellent. Never a particularly good looking guy in his youth, he seems to have grown into his face as he's aged and is the more interesting for not being too pretty.

The FBI investigations are a mix of the "Oh wow, I had no idea they could do that" and the "How dumb do you have to be to not spot that" but that's also more interesting. I'm sure Joe Carroll could have been killed off a dozen times but then there's be no excuse for series 2 or 3.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2017
Series 2 review: I like kevin bacon so keep watching in the hope the writing will get better, but episode one he finds an important bloke's flat, breaks in, amateurishly interrogates him, lets him escape and then doesnt tell anyone. If the fbi had sat on the flat they'd have caught him, and the weird girl from series 1 at least. Same as series 1 it seems the main character is as much to blame for the continuance of the killing as the ham fisted sloppy killers are who are only out matched in their sloppiness by kevin b's character, mis-ably helped by an fbi so incapable of protecting obvious targets and investigating obvious suspects they should be locked up themselves. Shame it could be so much better and has a few class actors in it but the writing is crap. Watch Bosch for a decent crime drama, this is something to have on for a few episodes whilst doing something else and then skip to the final episode to see the probably ridiculously predictable boss fight at the end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 May 2017
I am a horror addict and will watch pretty much any horror even one which is very poor. However, this TV series is excellent. Acting is brilliant and the action is thrilling. Its gruesome, violent and anxiety provoking. Joe Carroll is suitably nasty and plays a good psychopath against Ryan, the hero. I would totally recommend this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2016
Get ready for a psychological ride of thrills,twists turns and a mistrust of everyone. I was hooked after episode 4 and watched the full 3 series in 2 weeks.Kevin Bacon was terrific as the taunted FBI agent ut the real gem in this series is James Purefoy. He plays the role of John Carroll with a chilling accuracy.
Ignore the jibes about how it portrays the FBI as idiots,yes there are very far fetched scenarios at times but that aside this is an excellent series and I think there will be a season 4.. Put your mind into "fiction mode" and enjoy this for what it is.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2017
James purefoy was the best of the best , cool ,nice but total gentleman in a nasty way , reminds me of his performance as Mark Anthony in ROME
sense of dark humour with a twist.
Would watch every month if had the time ,pick up something diff each time watched.
A classic or it will be
Not for the faint of heart!
Must say bacons part was also out of his normal sphere also fantastic.
Season 2 is even better!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2017
I CANNOT believe that this brilliant, gripping series has been cancelled. Especially when so many low class shows with poor acting, dreadful plots and zero production values have been kept. Come on Amazon! I cancelled Netflix because they didn't pick it up. You saved so many excellent dramas - Ripper Street being a 'prime' example if you excuse the pun, SAVE THE FOLLOWING. PLEASE!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2017
Ridiculous but weirdly addictive. The serious is full of scrap, but my husband and I carried on watching it while hitting our heads to the walls.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2016
Whats not to like, great cast, great story, suspense throughout.
Kevin bacon is amazing james purefoy is outstanding. But then you always need a british baddy to really make a series/film great.
This series is pretty fautless from start to finish.
Twists and turns you do not see coming and to see how easily people can be manipulated and become liars, which happens every day in this world is a true refreshing fact.
if you want a really good gritty thriller/crime series to watch this is the one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 July 2014
Derivative, ineptly written with a hammy central performance from Purefoy (good actor, slumming it) and yet despite all that - Eminently watchable. The central concept of a cabal of serial killers in thrall to a charismatic leader is actually intriguing and even slightly original (although Thomas Harris mined this furrow to an extent in Red Dragon/Manhunter and Silence of the Lambs) on the scale shown in the series but little is done with this here and after a while the "they could be anyone, anywhere" becomes farcical. They use it so often that you half expect Kevin Bacon to start slicing people up purely for shock value. The whole thing is total schlock but done well enough if you`re in the mood to turn your critical faculties off for 40 minutes and wallow up to your neck in cliches you`ve seen all too often before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2016
Having seen the first two series on TV, I was annoyed not to be able to follow up with 3 rd series. However, not realising the term binge watch that was precisely what I did on a long haul flight, only to be cut off in my prime with 2 episodes to go....Worth buying. This series is well worth the wait. Is Ryan now the new recruit? Room fro a fourth!?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse