Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Becky' works in a fast food outlet, her supervisor 'Sandra' receives
a phone call seemingly from a Police Officer who claims that he is
investigating a claim from a customer of the fast food outlet that
'Becky' had stolen money from her purse.
her nightmare begins....
this a true account of actual events.....
what beggars belief is that the 'weirdo' on the other end of the phone
was actually given the time of day at all...
as his demands become more extreme and bizarre ......the phone should
have been placed or slammed back on the reliever......it's also quite
unbelievable that the victim succumbed to the demands.
all I can say is there are truly some strange people around, someone
getting a kick out of persuading people to follow such instruction of
this nature, also one would have to question how a string of people
can be taken in ?
has to be seen to be believed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2016
A lazily executed look into the psyche of American junior management at it's most stupid. Frighteningly for conscientious teens with weekend jobs in burger joints, this tale is true and happened not just once but many many times...
Interesting to find out just how easily manipulated some people can be when they have a tiny bit of authority, but quite a boring film. I'd advise you just look up the story on Wikipedia and get the same information in a 20th of the time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2016
quick delivery good movie thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2017
Good servive
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2014
Really good
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
This is a chilling film laden with tension and full of memorable, if at times excruciatingly uncomfortable scenes that will linger long after the credits have ended.

The themes of subservience to authority, exploitation, misplaced loyalty, consumerist alienation and the fallibility of human nature that the film explores embodied in films such as The Secretary, In The Company Of Men, Phone Booth, Supersize Me and Fast Food Nation, are brilliantly directed and acted.

The premise of the film appears on the surface to be unbelievable, except the film is closely linked to a series of real life events that mirrored those of a deranged sociopath.

Compliance is an extremely powerful and insightful film that works on a number of levels. At it's heart, it is a very subtle and carefully balance portrait of how good people can be manipulated into doing utterly unspeakable things.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
The era of crank phone calls has sure taken a twist. When fast food restaurant manager (Ann Dowd) gets a phone call from someone identifying himself as policeman, she springs into action. Young Becky is accused of stealing from a customer. The assistance of the manager and others in this matter grows until it becomes inane. The film brings light to the problem of serial strip search crank calls...something I didn't know existed. This film is based on the Mount Washington, Kentucky incident which BTW was a McDonald's.

The film acting was okay. There is a high perv factor whenever you force a young girl to be stripped searched. Unfortunately this is pretty much the entire film as there is no real subplot to entertain us. This is one of those pervert films masquerading as something that makes a statement such as "Shame." Watch it. Enjoy it. Disturbing? Thought provoking? Oh Please. It's soft core porn.

Parental Guidance: F-bombs, nudity (Dreama Walker).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
worrying that this is a true story & that there were 70 similar incidents showing just how easily people believe what they are told & how gullible people are. why no one checked up or questioned the requests of the caller baffles me. The sequence of events would be laughable if this wasn't a true occurrence. Astounded at the behaviour of the supervisor who seemed more concerned with running the business than the welfare of her employee & that almost everyone complied with the requests of the caller. worth a watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
This film is definitely not pleasant to watch, but I have given it five stars because it portrays how easily people can be taken in. The fact that the film is based on, and close to, a true story is truly horrifying. I just takes an authoritative voice to dupe these innocent and naive fast food restaurant workers to carry out the most bizarre acts with no questions asked. I watched this film with incredulity, how could this possibly happen?
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
I am interested in why normally good and rational people can act in horrible, often irrational ways due to their desire to comply with an authority figure and/or group or peer pressure. This movie deals with the former and to some extent the latter and does so competently.

I would anticipate that many who watch this film will wonder how someone impersonating a police officer could pursuade so many people (including the victim herself) to follow his every instruction, however outrageous, invasive and obviously ridiculous it might seem. Personally, I frequently found myself often shaking my head in disbelief that people of even limited intelligence would allow themselves to be duped so badly, to the point of taking away another person's liberty and dignity (amongst other things).

But clearly the fact that it is all so unbelievable is the point of the movie. If in fact things like this have happened in real life, as the director claims in the extras accompanying the Blu-ray version and as news reports suggest, the fact that these things are so utterly unbelievable only goes to show what we as people are capable of. I am not sure how much of what the movie shows happened in the actual cases on which it is based and how much of it was embellished or made up for dramatic effect. However, I suppose if many of us will administer what we believe are lethal doses of electricity to test subjects because someone posing as a scientist tells us to, we will do pretty much anything.
22 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)