Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 14 November 2017
I bought this as part of a budget pc re-build where I still need a decent amount of cpu power, and as the old fried motherboard already had 8gb ddr3 installed and a decent Xigmatek AM3 air cooler which i didn't want to waste, I decided to go with this fx6300 cpu to upgrade the old phenom II X4 955 that had served my family so well for over 6 years.

At first I was worried that it may not be a worthy upgrade due to all the hate online for AMD's FX chips, however I have been blown away by the difference, especially in video encoding, where as with my old Phenom it would take me around 1x play speed of a blu-ray film to mp4 encode, the fx6300 literally halves the time!! and amazingly I am still able to work online and perform all daily tasks while this is happening without incurring any performance hit!! Hmm I can see why you would hate a £69 processor that has all that power........? a second hand beet up old i5 costs twice what this does new Plus the best upgrade is the running temp, where as the good old Phenom 955 at 3.2Ghz stock would hit over 50c while encoding full mp4's this FX 6300 at it's 3.5Ghz with 4.1Ghz turbo barley exceeds 35c!! on the exact same 6yr old air cooler...why do the haters say that it runs hot? I suppose if they overclock it within an inch of it's life for an extra 2fps haha.

So in short if you need a dependable workhorse pc, but don't have too much cash to spare, this even in 2017 is a solid choice, ok if you want 240fps in gta 5 and haven't desovered ps4/xbox one then it's probably not for you :) just remeber to sell your car to buy that nice new i7.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2017
When you've got a specific budget set aside for a home-build PC, a CPU is usually secondary to a good GPU, enough RAM, and a fast HDD. The CPU is usually the thing you spring for last, and only if you can afford it. I was looking for a capable CPU that wouldn't cost the Earth, and the FX6300 fit the bill nicely.

I bought this 7 months ago, and the price is holding steady - just around the £70 mark. For that ballpark, this is a great all-round CPU. If you've got even a half-decent graphics card, you'll be able to run the majority of games, business apps and regular desktop home use without this CPU breaking a sweat. It's trivial to cool, and motherboard support is pretty decent. A great addition to a budget setup.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2017
Used this cpu for my brothers PC build. He wanted a new desktop for photo editing (Lightroom and Photoshop) and light gaming. The CPU is budget friendly and does the job if you don't do anything too demanding. Overall a good cpu that won't burn a hole in your wallet and you will have a decent computer for your everyday needs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
good budget CPU that runs pretty cool, its not as good as AMD Phenom was when it came out, but still pretty good for an office/casual gaming rig
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2016
Fast delivery and a good quality CPU for a really good price! One complaint would be the packaging, it was just wrapped on one side with a piece of cardboard, not even in a box. The CPU itself was in it's AMD box as shown in the pictures, that packaging was fine and had all the things you'd expect in it (CPU!, the book and an AMD sticker).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
I definitely recommend this! The speeds are absolutely amazing for the price! Heatsink is great but the CPU is the best for that price. Make sure to wipe of the heatsink's thermal paste and reapply to the CPU with Arctic MX-4 Thermal Compound Paste as this is better!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2017
EXCELLENT CPU for the price. The best part about this CPU is how cheap it is vs the power you get out of it. Great for anyone looking to create a budget build gaming rig.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2017
arrived next day very happy all worked gd packaging :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
not mine for a friend but happy with item
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
Its budget processor, but have a good kick. Im surprised by low temperatures, im running prime 95 for 5 hours and 30C maximum reached.
Just throw away the stock cooler provided, that sounds like jet engine ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)