Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

  • Banks
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
15
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
4
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 June 2014
Paul Banks surpassed himself with this record. I am a big Interpol fan and this album sits highly along side their them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Very pleased,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
Compared to the Julian Plenti album, this one is much more mainstream and conventional, obviously aiming at a wider audience. To my ears, it is what "Interpol" would have sounded like if they had opted for mass appeal (which fortunately they didn't). Where "Julian Plenti is... skyscraper" was innovative and filled with bold approaches and complex arrangements, "Banks" is filled with predictably structured pop songs with the usual easily remembered choruses and the dramatic culminations of previous Interpol songs. What is lacking though is the spirit of breaking new ground or the fertile experimentation one expects from the solo album from the leading figure of what is already a very successful and important band.

Having said that, "Banks" is a very pleasant album that grows on you with some almost great moments like "no mistakes" (great layered synths) and "paid for that" and I kind of like "lisbon" which almost everyone seems to consider a weak point. It's just that most songs could easily fit in a (weak) Interpol album, so what's the point of a solo release? Maybe these were ideas rejected by the rest of the band or the first indication of an impending break-up following departure of Carlos D?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 October 2012
Fans of Interpol will find much to like here. Banks' familiar vocals are really the signature of the band and he is in great voice here. There are mid-tempo shuffles like "Over my shoulder" which explores sixties influences with a poppy beat and more melancholy tracks such as "Arise Awake" The predominant sound though is that of the big production numbers such as "I'll sue you" and "Paid for that" which as you can imagine from the titles are quite angry tracks. All in all then a very worthy album which may be it's slight achilles heel in that the album doesn't have a killer track that leaps out at you straight away. It is a stereotypical "grower" and once you have listened to it more than a couple of times its delights become apparent.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
Paul Banks shows his genius.

this album will just grow & grow on you. dont expect to listen to anthing interpol on this LP

Quirky, beautiful ,catchy, Stylish, and that makes for a very different cocktail indeed
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
This album really seemed to go under the radar. I had never heard anything from it on the alternative radio station here in Ireland. I think it's a good album with some great tracks. Definitely more Interpol-ish than Julian Plenti is...Skyscraper, but still something a bit different too. The Base is best song on the album, and then Summertime, I reckon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2012
After Paul's alter-ego album, Julian Plenti Is...Skyscraper, we don't have a radical change of musical direction from Paul, which is a good thing. His style and voice are what makes him unique and a true creative individual. Comments by another reviewer suggesting Carlos D was the reluctant bassist, most talented member and implied musical genius behind Interpol are glib and totally unnecessary. Interpol didn't break when Dengler left.

We are here to review 'Banks'.

These ten tracks have surpassed my expectations and will fill the void very nicely while Interpol are on their hiatus. Paul seems to be in a good place at the moment and I'm sure these energetic and uplifting songs reflect that state of mind. 'The Base' is an excellent upbeat opener and paves the way for more superb tracks. Standouts are 'I'll Sue You', the spooky 'Paid For That', 'No Mistakes' and the closing 'Summertime Is Coming'. Every track on 'Banks' has something special to offer the listener (if you want it) and shows the scope of Paul's musical creativity and influences.

Well done Paul, you've made a brilliant album that I'm sure I'll still be listening to and enjoying for years to come.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
If you like Interpol, this isn't too far away from that style, but with it's own personality. No real killer track, but overall a solid set & a quality addition to my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
I really enjoy this album, eventhough I bought it a little late, but it is ok, I like the songs and Banks could explore other ways with style as ever! Nice album!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
paul banks voice makes interpol for me and this has filled a space left over since "our love to admire"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)