Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
238
4.1 out of 5 stars
The Jazz Age
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 1 April 2017
Another artist willing to experiment with his music. This one works. As said by other reviewers. At times hard to guess the song at first. That is part of the fun. On the whole nearly all of the tracks work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2017
Excellent - just love the music. Would recommend to anyone who enjoys jazz
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2017
Superb! It really captures the flavour and sound of 1920s jazz.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
I found myself moving my feet rythmically and involuntarily whilst I sat enjoying this brave move from Bryan Ferry which is always a good indicator of listening to great music. I saw Bryan on tv saying that the microphones used in recording "The Jazz Age" came from the 1920's, which was a very smart move because modern mics would have defeated the authenticity of recording a period piece. Lesser people would have missed that point and would have gone for an over-produced modern technical sounding recording. Speaking of which, expect bandwagon singers such as Rod Stewart and others to follow in Bryan's shadow, and copy him as they have done before from a more commercial gaining mentality. Rant over...

The clarity and expert musicianship on this CD is a joy to listen too, and it is a shame that this is not a double CD as I could listen to more like this unique recording.

Bryan introduced me to Dylan, great songs from the 30's, and now 20's style jazz. As if the innovative Roxy and solo recordings weren't enough. Carry on surprising us please.

* Readers may be interested to know that Bryan will be on Radio 2 on Boxing Day at 6pm on the "Johnnie Walker Meets Bryan Ferry" show.*
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 29 August 2017
'The Jazz Age' is a pretty unusual 'novelty' as far as albums go and for that reason, while it may well appeal to Roxy/Ferry devotees of long standing who know all of the songs here like the back of their hand, to more casual fans I fear it may prove a 'play once and file' project.

To give credit where credit is due all of the instrumentals here really do sound as if they were recorded in the 1920's (bar the lack of a few hisses, cracks and pops) and it is quite fun listening to the interpretations of songs like 'Love Is The Drug' that are familiar classics. Lesser known Ferry songs like 'I Thought', 'Just Like You' etc though might as well be from the 1920's as far as the casual listener is concerned as, unless you are familiar with the originals, its impossible to recognise the changes...

Overall, 'The Jazz Age' is an incredibly well-done pastiche of the 'Roaring 20's' and the version of 'Virginia Plain' is a delightful hoot but unless you love Jazz or cannot live without anything Roxy/Ferry produce its an album unlikely to get repeated plays.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
Bryan Ferry's pop songs are here turned into traditional style instrumental jazz so skilfully that if you do not know to listen for the tunes of his pop songs you would miss them. Fun even if you are not normally a jazz fan.

Bryan does not personally perform on this album and much credit to those who do, but it is still in some sense very much Bryan Ferry's.

By the way, if you find familiar pop songs performed in a different way can revivify them, while it has nothing to do with jazz, let me recommend the unfairly little known 1970s album All This & World War II (if only Amazon revert to offering it for a reasonable price!) in which Bryan Ferry and about 20 other famous singers including Tina Turner, the Bee Gees, Leo Sayer, Helen Reddy and many others perform Beatles songs with an orchestral backing (Bryan performs `Elena Rigby')
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
A bit of a disappointment to say the least. I was expecting Bryan's vocals but no it is an instrumental. Difficult to distinguish the tracks and they are short, very short in some cases. I'm not sure if I would recomend this record. It is different but not to my taste. If you are expecting a Roxy Music/Bryan Ferry CD this is not it.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
Although this may not be what one would expect from Bryan Ferry, I really enjoyed this new album. He hasn't necessarily gone for the tracks you would expect, and there's more solo tracks than Roxy ones, but this just adds more interest. The tunes aren't always recognisable at the beginning of the track, and he's drawn out some interesting sub-themes to bring to the fore, but all the tunes become obvious after a while. This album should be of interest to anyone who likes jazz, and also Roxy fans who don't mind the tunes being tinkered around with, especially if by Bryan himself. i'm not a great fan of Dixieland jazz, but I loved this interpretation.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
Who else but Bryan Ferry would have hit on the idea of re-arranging a selection of his own songs in the style of the 1920s? And who else but Bryan Ferry would have done it with such panache and such a wealth of different styles and musical textures? Ferry is renowned for his perfectionism and obsessive attention to detail, so it's no surprise that he has put this project in the capable hands of Colin Good as arranger and a selection of hand-picked jazz musicians who really know their stuff. And yet you don't have to be a jazz freak to appreciate this album, all you need is an ear for truly original and exciting music. I was so captivated that I didn't even miss Bryan's voice, which is saying something. His aim, as he has said in interviews, was to breathe new life into his music, and in this he has been spectacularly successful. If you hunger for something different, buy this record! You won't regret it.
11 Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
One might think that taking a handful of Roxy Music classics and recrafting them for a jazz band to play in the style of Duke Ellington and others was a bonkers concept. Then if you also imagine that the sound quality will be slightly aged to provide a more traditional feel to the music then we really are thinking about fetching the straight waistcoat. But my curiosity got the better of me. I like Roxy Music and Bryan Ferry. I also like jazz. Would I like this combination? Ferry lends his name to the orchestra but does not appear. Surprisingly, this remake/remodel works. I found it better to try to forget the Roxy versions and just listen to this as a jazz album. The music is good - I particularly liked the syncopated tea dance arrangement of 'Just Like You', as well as the trumpet and clarinet-driven arrangement of 'Avalon'. 'Slave To Love' is superb and I found myself wanting to play it again and again. There is lots to enjoy on this album, particularly if you are fond of jazz. This is old-fashioned glam, but it has melody, musicianship and style - a bit like Mr Ferry. Not to everyone's taste, but I found this album entertaining and fun. Recommended.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)