Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
13
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Looking at the playing times below on this incredible haul through Ian Hunter’s stay at Chrysalis Records there’s a lot to get through - so here are the big-rimmed glasses…

UK released 22 October 2012 - "From The Knees Of My Heart: The Chrysalis Years 1978-1981" by IAN HUNTER on EMI/Chrysalis 5099923270121 (Barcode (5099923270121) is a 4CD set of remasters and breaks down as follows:

Disc 1 (77:06 minutes):
1. Just Another Night
2. Wild East
3. Cleveland Rocks
4. Ships
5. When The Daylight Comes
6. Life After Death
7. Standin' In My Light
8. Bastard
9. The Outsider
Tracks 1 to 9 are the album "You're Never Alone With A Schizophrenic" - released April 1979 in the UK and USA on Chrysalis CHR 1214. Produced by MICK RONSON and IAN HUNTER – it peaked at No. 49 in the UK and No. 35 in the USA on the LP charts.

BONUS TRACKS ("Schizophrenic" Outtakes):
10. Don't Let Go (Demo Version)
11. The Other Side Of Life (Outtake)
12. Ships (Early Version) - was a download only track
13. When The Daylight Comes (Early Version)
14. Just Another Night (Version No. 3)
15. The Outsider (Early Version)
16. Alibi
NOTES:
Tracks 10 and 11 first appeared on the 2009 on the '30th Anniversary Special Edition' 2CD reissue of "You're Never Alone..."
Track 12 is PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED on CD
Tracks 14, 15 and 16 are PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED

Disc 2 (79:37 minutes):
1. FBI
2. Once Bitten Twice Shy
3. Angeline
4. Laugh At Me
5. All The Way From Memphis
6. I Wish I Was Your Mother
7. Irene Wilde
8. Just Another Night
9. Cleveland Rocks
10. Standin’ In My Light
11. Bastard
12. Walkin' With A Mountain/Rock And Roll Queen
13. All The Young Dudes
14. Slaughter On 10th Avenue
Tracks 1 to 14 are the 2LP live set "Ian Hunter Live/Welcome To The Club" - released April 1980 in the UK on Chrysalis CJT 6 and in the USA on Chrysalis CHR2 1269. Produced by MICK RONSON and IAN HUNTER – it peaked at No. 61 in the UK and No. 69 in the USA LP charts.
NOTES: see also Tracks 11, 13 and 14 on Disc 4 with regards to the "Welcome To The Club" live double.

BONUS TRACKS:
15. One Of The Boys
16. The Golden Age Of Rock 'n' Roll
NOTES: Tracks 15 and 16 were BONUS TRACKS on the 1994 CD reissue

Disc 3 (77:09 minutes):
1. Central Park 'N' West
2. Lisa Likes Rock 'n' Roll
3. I Need Your Love
4. Old Records Never Die
5. Noises
6. Rain [Side 2]
7. Gun Control
8. Theatre Of The Absurd
9. Leave Me Alone
10. Keep On Burning
Tracks 1 to 10 are the album “Short Back N' Sides” - released August 1981 in the UK and USA on Chrysalis CHR 1326. Produced by MICK JONES (of The Clash) and IAN HUNTER – it peaked at No. 79 in the UK and No. 62 in the USA on the LP charts.

BONUS TRACKS:
11. Na Na Na
12. I Believe In You
13. Listen To The Eight Track
14. You Stepped Into My Dreams
15. Venus In The Bathtub
16. Detroit (Take 1)
17. China (Rough Mix with Ronson Vocal)
NOTES: Tracks 11 to 15 were BONUS TRACKS on the 1994 CD reissue
Tracks 16 and 17 are PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED

Disc 4 (78:13 minutes):
1. Once Bitten Twice Shy (Live)
2. Gun Control (Live)
3. Central Park 'N' West (Live)
4. Medley: All The Way From Memphis/Honky Tonk Women (Live)
5. I Need Your Love (Live)
6. Noises (Live)
7. Just Another Night (Live)
8. Cleveland Rocks (Live)
9. Irene Wilde (Live)
10. Medley: All The Young Dudes (includes excerpts from Honaloochie Boogie, Roll Away The Stone and Ships)
Tracks 1 to 10 are "Ian Hunter Rocks" recorded live at Dr. Pepper Festival, New York in September 1981. It was originally released on Video in 1983 and is presented here for the first time as PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED on CD

BONUS TRACKS:
11. Sons And Daughters (Live)
12. We Gotta Get Out Of Here (Alternate Version)
13. Silver Needles (Live)
14. Man O' War (Live)
NOTES: Tracks 11, 13 and 14 are from the original "Welcome To The Club" Live Set
Track 12 is a rare version from the 1980 2LP retrospective "Shades Of Ian Hunter" (included on the 1988 American CD reissue)

The 16-page booklet is info packed with liner notes by CAMPBELL DEVINE - track-by-track comments from Ian Hunter himself and recording details/musician credits for each set. There are some live photos, 7” picture sleeves from varying areas, small shots of the album covers. It’s hardly knicker-wetting – typical of these sets (what they could get away with). But as ever the big news is with the sound.

The remasters have been carried by long-time Abbey Road associate and engineer PETER MEW who has handled hundreds of these reissues – and his touch here is typically superb. The tracks rock with real power – but when they need to be subtle and sensitive (like the beautiful piano Demo of "Don't Let Go") – he allows them to breathe without over-trebling everything.

"Schizophrenic" has to be a fan-favourite for many – "Ships", "Just Another Night" and "Cleveland Rocks" were all lifted as singles – all of them with a joyful old-time Rock 'n' Roll. "Life After Death" has always weirded me out with its echoed eerie vocal and "Bastard" is a blindingly good bit of riffage that turns up in his live set even now. But my poison is the stunning yet ever so slightly bitter ballad "Standin' In My Light" - an epic synth driven piece that impresses bit time. The "You're Never Alone..." LP ends on the six-minute piano-ballad "The Outsider" - a confessional about life, music and all points in between - our Ian sounding world-weary and near breaking as he sings "...looking for water...there's sweat everywhere...I ain't tasted coffee for days..." And Mick Ronson tears up the guitar in the final minutes while Roy Bittan of Springsteen’s E-Street Band plinks away on the old Joanna...

The two live sets feature a fantastic mix of Mott and Solo stuff with the Mott Medley on the "Ian Hunter Rocks" video only set rocking like a monster. Fantastic stuff… Still rocking but relevant – Hunter joined forces with Mick Jones and Topper Headon of The Clash (roping in Ellen Foley and Todd Rundgren and Roger Powell of Utopia too) for the hugely enjoyable "Short Back N' Sides" LP. His lament for Lennon (an old hero blown away) on "Old Records Never Die" always moved me more than a hundred other tributes. "Noises" could be Bowie and was a brilliant departure for him. But away from the rockers the track that sent me the most was the Side 2 opener “Rain” which is magical. I bought the album off the shelves when I was visiting New York and I played it into the floor. Still gets me after over 30 years. "Gun Control" may as well be a Clash outtake (and in 2016 – 36 years after the event – is more bloodily relevant than ever) and the sheer pop of “Leave Me Alone” is kind of cool and shocking at one and the same time. But it ends on a typically huge Hunter ballad that lingers and won’t leave – "Keep On Burning".

I’m kind of shocked at how good the Bonus Tracks are – especially the new stuff. MICK RONSON and MAX WEINBERG fans won’t believe their luck with 'Version 3' of "Just Another Night" rocking like proper Hunter with Ronson adding that magic guitar touch and Max whacking those drums like only he can. Although it’s easy to see why the all-over-the-place "Alibi" was left off everything. “Detroit” on Disc 3 is a bit of a mess too - but "China" with Ronson on Lead Vocals is lovely and will thrill fans.

I’ve reviewed 2 of the Robin Trower sets, Ten Years After and Barclay James Harvest in these superb EMI anthologies.

This is right up there with the best of them. King of the Moondoggers!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
Great CD with all the hits and more what a talent this man is
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 October 2012
Having seen the now 73 year old Ian Hunter rock the socks off the Shepherds Bush audience last week it seems as pertinent a time as any to investigate this great value collection. With 4CDs comprising 62 tracks, we have complete albums "You're Never Alone with a Schizophrenic", "Short Back `n' Sides" and "Welcome to the Club" - a live album which is a favourite of mine featuring as it does coruscating performances by Mick Ronson. There is also a previously unissued CD (it says here) - "Ian Hunter Rocks" which is another live album, this time not featuring Mick Ronson but with a decent enough band. My one concern with the package is that to my ears this album is a bit "weedy", the guitars are way down in the mix and it definitely suffers in comparison with "Welcome to the club". There are various rare songs, studio outtakes and previously unreleased demos dotted about the piece and not being au fait with the situation vis a vis Ian Hunter bootlegs etc, these may or not already be available. Suffice to say that I didn't have them in my collection but as is the case with many such outtakes, they are not left on the cutting floor for nothing, so whilst they add something to the overall package they are hardly essential.
Nevertheless at this price this is a great opportunity to catch a glimpse of someone who is still rocking 30 years after these albums first came out. The man's a marvel!
22 Comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2012
This is a must buy for any Ian/Mott fan capturing his Chrysalis years after Columbia, he plays with sound and music styles in these few records but no matter the change his lyrics are still heartfelt or tongue lashing which makes him a great songwriter. The value for the buck makes this a great buy, you cant get a better collection, for me I own all the previous on record and cd but the live show at Dr. Pepper Festival enticed me to buy this because I had that show only on cassette so this completes my collection, dont let this great deal pass you by get it now before its gone.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2012
Got it today. The good news is it's in a jewelcase, not cardboard!

First, here's what's missing on this from the previously released UK 2 cd sets:

Welcome To The Club:

When The Daylight Comes (Live)
Medley: Once Bitten Twice Shy/Bastard/Cleveland Rocks
Original mix of We've Got To Get Out Of Here

You're Never Alone with a Schizophrenic:

Just Another Night (Early Version) (aka The Other Side Of Life)
Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On

And all of the live disc 2:
1. F.B.I. (Live In Cleveland 18/6/79)
2. Once Bitten Twice Shy (Live In Cleveland 18/6/79)
3. Life After Death (Live In Cleveland 18/6/79)
4. Sons And Daughters (Live At The Hammersmith Odeon 22/11/79)
5. Laugh At Me (Live At The Hammersmith Odeon 22/11/79)
6. Just Another Night (Live At The Hammersmith Odeon 22/11/79)
7. One Of The Boys (Live At The Hammersmith Odeon 22/11/79)
8. Letter To Brittania From Union Jack (Live In Berkeley 7/7/79)
9. Bastard (Live In Berkeley 7/7/79)
10. All The Way From Memphis (Live In Cleveland 18/6/79)
11. Cleveland Rocks (Live In Cleveland 18/6/79)
12. All The Young Dudes (Live At The Hammersmith Odeon 22/11/79)
13. When The Daylight Comes (Live In Cleveland 18/6/79)
14. Sweet Angeline (Live In Cleveland 18/6/79)

However, 2 tracks are ADDED that are not on the 2 cd set:

The Outsider (Early Version)
Alibi

Short Back `n' Sides:
Detroit (Rough Mix-instrumental)
I Need Your Love (Rough Mix)
Rain (Alternative Mix)
Theatre Of The Absurd
Na Na Na ( Extended Mix)
Old Records Never Die (Version 1)

Also, apparently Short Back is oop except on this set which I wasn't aware of & sells for a fortune (or at least USED to!)

It was "mastered by Peter Mew at Abbey Road". No other sonic information is provided. From a quick comparison of 3 Welcome To the club tracks (the album i was most concerned about sonically), the new version is both louder (more compressed, but also has much more detail (likely better more modern a/d convertors). Comparing the dynamic range on the first 11 tracks of WTTC on Foobar (the only valid comparison due to splitting both versions over 2 cd's & the 2 missing & 1 alternate track), the original UK cd scored DR 12 (acceptable for a 44/16 cd), the new version scores a DR9 (not so good). I'm surprised I enjoyed the sound as much as I did. One thing I did find interesting; on the new version there is a large audible drop in volume between FBI & Once Bitten; that drop doesn't occur on the original 2 cd edition.

I think the alternate version of We Got To Get Out Of Here is simply a remix, though there is so much more detail it's hard to tell for certain. Oddly, both versions run exactly 3:14, but the new version starts with a drum stick count off & the original does not.

Also briefly checked the Pepsi Fest on disc 4. It is definitely the same tour as the King Biscuit & Westwood One shows that were released on US promo LP's from Westwood One & King Biscuit, but definitely not the same show. While I was kind of hoping to have those LP's on official cd, I'm still very glad to have it though! Long as I'm mentioning DR ratings, Disc 4 scored DR10 (again considered unacceptable; the audiophile community's conventional wisdom seems to be that acceptable for 44/16 cd is anything DR12 & above.).

I haven't yet spent any time with Schizophrenic or Short as I already own the 2 cd versions, & they were of the least interest to me here because of that.

To sum up, if you don't already own these albums, this is an absolute steal, especially as Short was oop world wide & still sells for a fortune.

If like me you already own all 3 of the 2 cd editions, at this price I still consider it worthwhile for the Pepsi fest on disc 4 (which apparently was previously released in the UK on VHS!), & there are some benefits to the new mastering; though I do wish it was less compressed. Though not nearly as loud sounding as many cd's the loudness wars do strike again; without the compression this would sound stunning.

Edit: Having played more of this, it really is brighter/louder than I like. The issue is more apparent on a cheap computer system than on my high end system; but even on my main stereo a few of the songs are REALLY BRIGHT (Silver Needles is the worst offender).
77 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
As a huge Ian Hunter fan, what drew me to this set was the unreleased live disk included in this set. To me that was worth the price of the entire set! The bonus tracks on this are well worth it also. If you are new to listening to the Ian Hunter/Mick Ronson era, this is a good starting place!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
four cd's in a boxset at a great price but disc 3 isn't a patch on the other cd's. There's a few decent songs on disc 3 which is the 'Short back and sides' album but most of it is poor in my opinion and won't be getting half as much play as the others. Disc 1 is 'You're never alone with a Schizophrenic' album and is first class with some interesting versions in the bonus tracks. Disc 2 is the 'Welcome to the club' live album (with Mick Ronson) and it's stunning. It also has 2 bonus tracks 'One of the Boys' and 'The Golden age of Rock n' Roll. Disc 4 is another live cd which is good but can't match 'Welcome to the Club' Even though I think disc 3 to be pretty dull stuff the other discs certainly make up for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
This contains "your'e never alone with a schizophrenic" his finest solo album with no weak tracks plus extras and unreleased stuff along with with the album "Short Back and Sides" , the live double album "Welcome to the Club" plus one other live concert from 79. As it has all the extras from previous special releases which are now deleted, as well as other unreleased tracks, it is an essential purchase for fans plus incredible value for those coming to it the first time.

Buy with confidence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
You don't need to buy the seperate Chrysalis albums, Schizophrenic and the others collected here in the same pristine remasters. But at budget price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2017
great compilation album. Featuring studio and live work. Lots of mick ronson too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£6.19

Need customer service? Click here